We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Jungle Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amazon River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tariri Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Jungle Lodge”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for a full week. It was clean, safe, and the staff were excellent. The food was truly world class, the knowledge of the guide was exceptional, and the land, critters and waterways are beautiful. It was easy to make the reservation from the U.S. and from our pick up on, everything went perfect. Some of the best overall customer service we've experienced.

Room Tip: I would ask to be in the far end of the row of cabins for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 959croach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
126
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After reading most of the reviews of travellers who visited Tarriri, and before going there myself I kept thinking that this can not be, its too good to be true! But yet it is indeed to good! It is expectionall!!! We visited Tariri as part of our 17 days tour to Brazil with my huspand for our honeymoon.

From where shall I begine. From the fact that our flight was delayed for 12 hours and instead of arriving at 12 noon we arrived at 12 midnight in Manaus therefore we could not visit the lodge that day. Plus we did not have anywhere to stay in Manaus and since Manaus is not considered to be one of the safest place to be, we were feeling very unconftable. However, our excellent driver (who is basically the driver of Tariri in Manaus city) was waiting for us at the airport and he drove us to a hotel. He picked us up very early in the morning the next day and he drove us to Tarriri. He is an amazing guy, very friendly and a true professional!!!

As for Tariri itself, everything was superb! Germano's tours are very well organized and he really knows what he is doing. Being a native indian himself, he knows the jungle very well and you feel very safe being around him. Every excursion was planned to perfection. He speaks very good english and he was willing to please all our needs.

As for Fabiola, there are no words to describe her friendliness, kindness and attention to detail. The food was upsolutely and ulterly AMAZING, the best food we have had in Brazil (and probably the best we have ever tasted!!!). Everyday she would come up with different recipies and different ways to impress us (on our last day we were offered shampain and a wedding cake that she prepared!) The girl who is also a cook in the kitchen is amazing as well, a very nice lady who lives in a nearby community. The fact that Fabiola looks after her guests like being their own children, makes you feel like you are at home.

The environment was great, the cabins were spotless clean (quite unbelivable since you are in the middle of the jungle!). The place was very relaxing and I would totally recomend it to anyone who wants to experience the hospitality and the kindness of local people living in the Amazon. It is amazing what Germano, Fabiola and the rest of the family have build within few years. If you are looking for a family run place to stay in the middle of the jungle then thats the place to be! A thank you is not enough guys, honestly! Our only hope: one day to return back to this little paradise that you have created together with the help of nature!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you want to experience the amazon, this is the place to book. Tariri lodge is like visiting family, Germano and Fabiola take great care of their guests. Fabiola cooks great meals for all the guests, and Germano is there for tours and to answer all questions. We enjoyed all the tours and excurstions. We payed extra to go swimming with the dolphins; it was amazing and left us with some of the best pictures and memories. :) Although there is a lot to do, if you want to just sit and enjoy the natural beauty of the amazon, relax and read, or have a caipirinha you are welcomed to do so.

Room Tip: All cottage are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wat2do101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was definitely the best part of my trip to Brazil. Since day 1, Tariri Amazon Lodge had kept in touch with us efficiently and provided us with information on specific activities as well as what to bring. Once we arrived in Manuas, we had a driver come pick up and transfer us via car and canoe. After arriving at the lodge, we had a very warm welcome by the family. The food is absolutely delicious (all 3 meals!) and the excursions were simply amazing. We went piranha fishing, crocodile-spotting (even held the cayman and jumped in the lake just as an adventure!), jungle trekking (climbed an Amazon tree!). Germano and Fabiola made us feel like VIPs. Every request were met, from jumping in the lake after spotting a cayman, or climbing a tree. We also wanted to check out the local party scene and they made a special trip for us to the local community during one of their local parties. If there's one thing I could change, it would be nothing! Absolutely nothing. =) Thanks Germano and family for making our trip unforgettable!

Love from your Malaysian girls,
Amy & Rain

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amythesoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been travelling to the Amazon with 3 families and stayed for 3 nights in the Tariri Logde. It was an amazing experience, staying there. Germano and Fabiola are wonderful hosts, you soon get friends with them and all the rest of the brazilian-peruan family. The food of Fabiola was the best we had in our whole journey through Brazil, and the excursions with Germano were very interesting and always with a little touch of adventure. There has been written so much over this lodge, and it's all true. It's an absolutly perfect choice, if you want to visit the Amazon. The only bad thing of our stay was, that we only stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfgang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you want the real Amazon experience, stay at this lodge. A wonderful place. The lodge arranged a two hour car ride then an hour and a half canoe trip from Manaus, deep into the Amazon. My hut was roomy and the bed comfortable, plus I relaxed in the hammock on the porch. Germano, the owner and host, who is of the indigenous people, was super friendly and great at taking the guests for trips of interest around the area. His English was good. Among the canoe excursions I went on were night crocodile (caimon) viewing when Germano's brother jumped into the water and captured a young male for us to hold, and piranha fishing in the dark swamp. There also were pink and gray dolphins, though I decided not to take that trip, and a vast variety of birds like green parrots and kingfishers. The most incredible butterflies, such as huge ones with blue opalescent wings, suddenly flew in front of the canoe. Germano showed us how manioc and tapioca are traditionally made. Back at the camp, Germano's wife Fabiola, also with good English, was also super friendly and a wonderful cook. The meals were delicious. I especially enjoyed coming back from crocodile viewing and finding a platter of bread shaped liked a crocodile. Lala the blue parrot (I think) is there for you to feed fruit slices. No electricty except a few hours a day from a generator, and as a result cold showers, but that was part of the deep Amazon experience. I would recommend a stay at Tariri (means 'family' in Germano's native language--his father and brother work there also) Amazon Lodge at any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidFlynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had read the reviews like everyone else and we (us and 2 young children) could just anticipate that it would be a pleasant stay in the Amazonas but when we arrived we knew straight away that it was a very special place indeed!!! We have traveled the world and met and saw all kind of places and accommodations and people but this one has to be one of the truly best! The kindness of the owners and the rest of the family and members of staff, the attention to your needs that they provide, the quality of the accomodation and cooking that they offer everyday in the middle of nowhere shows how dedicated they are. It also shows that they want to bring you the best that they can do and on that sense we felt privileged to be with them and share a bit of the journey of life together. The excursions were very enchanting and delivered the magic of the Amazonas with the flooded forest, the canoe drives to the villages, the swim with the pink dolphins and the night canoe safari to find alligators. On the last day of our trip we had organised to see the meeting of the waters and it was also a very interesting and fascinating experience.
The bungalows were perfect, well equipped, clean, they have nets around the windows but in any case they have no mosquitoes in that part of the Amazonas and it was very pleasant.
The kindness and the professionalism of Germano and his wife Fabiola were very touching and Yes it was a unique and unforgettable experience that we highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trustme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
Amazon Tupana Lodge
#3 of 223 in Amazon River
250 reviews
Amazon Jungle Palace
#3 of 186 in Manaus
181 reviews
Cirandeira Bela
#1 of 35 in Manacapuru
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tauari Inn Lodge
#7 of 223 in Amazon River
59 reviews
Amazonia Jungle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Iranduba
58 reviews
City Center
Hotel Cuca Legal
Hotel Cuca Legal
#3 of 7 in Presidente Figueiredo
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tariri Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tariri Amazon Lodge

Property: Tariri Amazon Lodge
Address: Lago de Acajatuba | Iranduba, State of Amazonas 69450-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tariri Amazon Lodge, is an ecological hotel of unique architecture, a singular mix of typical regional buildings. The structure is composed by 8 independent huts - up to 20 people in total - with double and triple rooms, offering comfort, privacy and, above all, comfort.Our cuisine offers a varied range of diverse Amazon flavors. Our food is cultivated and grow by ourselves, like the fruits used on juices, vegetables, fish and birds, ensuring the quality and authenticity of our cuisine.Your stay will take place in family environment, where we can share, with exclusivity, the wealth of the place and the perfect knowledge of the region. We will grant your trip an international level of service, welfare and quality that is the motto of our family.The big goal and determination of our project is strongly linked to education, learning and discovery. Unique and intense experiences, considering your short stay in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tariri Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing