We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tariri Amazon Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tariri Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2012

It would be difficult to disagree with any of the reviews for Tariri. There is a charm here that can only be created by the efforts of proprietors who are only concerned for the experience of their guests. Tariri is amazing. Created and built entirely by Germano and his family you find yourself instantly at home. Fabiola creates amazing meals 3x a day, so your experiences in the jungle and on the river are always bookended by great food. Although you are guests, you are also made to feel part of the family for your entire stay. Worth the trip and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 322 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you're looking for a real amazon experience, you've found the right place. Tariri is both secluded and offers comfort/luxury, with excellent hosts/owners Germano and Fabiola!
Fabiola serves fantastic food and juices and does everything to make your time as enjoyable as possible. Germano organizes great activities and provides a lot of knowledge to give you a real amazon experience!
Both we and our 2y old son had a fantastic time and would surely like to come back.
Upon coming back in Manaus and having a chat with fellow travelers, I was even more convinced we found a little gem.
Added benefit, Tariri is located on the Rio Negro and therefore a mosquito/malaria free zone

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jburgerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

One of the pearls of Brazil in Amazonia. High quality holidays without unnecessary luxuries. Through their love for nature and warm dedication, Tariri's owners have created a new tourism model of high quality which should be protected and encouraged by Rio Negro authorities. Thanks to them, we learnt a lot about Amazonian biodiversity and have developed an enormous respect for nature. Other details are simply not necessary, they would just spoil the magic of this place.
Thank you Germano&Fabiola for your hospitality. We'll come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HipHopHip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Amazon, then this is that place! We stayed in the Tairiri lodge for 3 nights over Christmas and could not have asked for more. We wanted some adventure but also comfort and Germano and Fabiola and their lovely family made sure of this.

The location was exceptional, the lodges were comfortable and the food was AMAZING!

Germano does his utmost to make sure your enoy your trips in a very relaxed way and Fabiola's cooking and presentation is beautiful and consistent.

We did the village trip, piranha fishing, alligator hunting and swimming with pink dolphins and all of them were all we had hoped for and we felt safe! :)

Thankyou to Germano and Fabiola for a lovely experience and one we will never forget!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dippydan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this little gem for 3 days (2 nights) and really loved it.

The lodge is located far away from any city. From Manaus you need 1 hour by car plus another hour by boat. So, you can really enjoy the tranquility of the Amazon jungle and you are as close to nature as you could possible expect.

The 6 cabins are beautifully decorated. In any part of the lodge you can see that the owners Fabiola and German really care for the details. The food is fantastic, especially if you care for fish. Fabiola also serves all kinds of freshly made juices from local fruits. You can easily see with how much passion the dishes are prepared and decorated. Every single meal was a sight.

If you are looking for a five-star hotel in the middle of the jungle, this is not the place for you but if you want to experience nature at first hand, you cannot find a better place than this one. There is no cell phone coverage and no Internet, electricity you only have from 6 pm to 10 pm (there is a generator). So this is really the place to completely disconnect from all day life and to fully relax.

Fabiola and German are a perfect couple of hosts. Fabiola is responsible of taking care of the guests at the lodge, particularly, she does the cooking. German is a knowledgeable and fully committed guide who is able to explain pretty much anything you find in the area.
Both speak English and Portuguese. German also speaks Spanish, Fabiola speaks German.

For us, it will always remain a very special place, as we got engaged in the hamock on the deck in front of our cabin during a beautiful night while listening to the sounds of the animals in the nearby jungle.

Thanks so much for the wonderful time we had!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gromit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic one week at Tariri Amazon Lodge and superlatives fail me when describing the lodge and the people who make it all possible.

Although I was born in Brazil, I had never had a truly Amazonian experience and after much prodding from my wife and the in-laws, I agreed to travel with them to the Amazon, and after much trawling the internet I came across the Tariri website. To me, it looked the part and the fact that Germano is a true Amazon rainforest native sold it to us.

Germano has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the forest, its peoples, fauna and flora, and he never tires of explaining and showing things to his guests. Our group's particular interest was birds and Germano took us on several very early morning excursions to find some of the elusive birds that inhabit the Amazon rainforest. He always knew where to find the birds and had extensive knowledge of their habits.

We made several cultural trips to local communities and the unmissable cassava flour house. The highlights of our stay were diving with the pink river dolphins, sunset bird spotting after the rain and seeing the toucans and kingfishers, finding jaguars' footprints on the lake shore near the lodge, and the amazing food prepared by Fabíola.

Germano, Fabíola and their family made our stay very special and we were able to share many great moments in their company, including spending New Year's Eve with them and the other guests.

No request is ever too hard for them to meet; and always with a smile. In short, Tariri Lodge is a MUST for anyone wanting the real Amazonian experience. We look forward to returning in the near future.

I cannot recommend Tariri Amazon Lodge highly enough. It is an Amazonian gem waiting to welcome you.

PS. On a personal note from Lisa (George's wife): Fabiola, thank you so much for the delicious treat of peanut brittle that you snuck into my bag when I left. You are such a kind and thoughtful person, and it is this quality that makes your lodge the amazing holiday destination that it is. The amazing experience of meeting you and your family was one that will remain in my thoughts for many years to come. I hope that we meet again...Lisa x

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeBalbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent 3 days at Tariri and took in a lot over that short period of time. Germano and Fabiola, the owners of Tariri, built the lodge by hand with their family over many years and are passionate about the people and environment around Tariri. This passion is part of the reason Tariri doesn't feel like a hotel. As Germano said to us, 'even if there are no guests, this is our home.'

Germano is an experienced guide and, having grown up about 700 kilometers away in the Amazon, will give you a unique view of life in the forest and in neighboring communities. Fabiola is a lovely host and a great cook. I'm a vegetarian and didn't eat better anywhere in Brazil. Alan, who picked us up and dropped us off in Manaus was, like our hosts, passionate and knowledgeable about the history, the architecture of the region, and the area around Manaus.

I would highly recommend this lodge to those travelers who aren't looking for an air conditioned retreat in the Amazon but are rather hoping for an experience that is focused on the outdoors and offers a flavour for life in the environment. I imagine Tariri would be great fun for families with children. However, it's worth noting that the entire lodge is raised because of the extreme change of water levels in the rainy and dry season and this means that for toddlers and other very little ones the structures aren't ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
74.4 mi away
Amazon Tupana Lodge
Amazon Tupana Lodge
#3 of 230 in Amazon River
259 reviews
22.0 mi away
Amazon Jungle Palace
Amazon Jungle Palace
#3 of 191 in Manaus
182 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arawak Jungle Hostel
Arawak Jungle Hostel
#5 of 19 in Iranduba
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#14 of 230 in Amazon River
67 reviews
9.6 mi away
Amazonia Jungle Hotel
Amazonia Jungle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Iranduba
58 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cirandeira Bela
Cirandeira Bela
#1 of 35 in Manacapuru
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tariri Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tariri Amazon Lodge

Address: Lago de Acajatuba | Iranduba, State of Amazonas 69450-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range: $410 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tariri Amazon Lodge, is an ecological hotel of unique architecture, a singular mix of typical regional buildings. The structure is composed by 8 independent huts - up to 20 people in total - with double and triple rooms, offering comfort, privacy and, above all, comfort.Our cuisine offers a varied range of diverse Amazon flavors. Our food is cultivated and grow by ourselves, like the fruits used on juices, vegetables, fish and birds, ensuring the quality and authenticity of our cuisine.Your stay will take place in family environment, where we can share, with exclusivity, the wealth of the place and the perfect knowledge of the region. We will grant your trip an international level of service, welfare and quality that is the motto of our family.The big goal and determination of our project is strongly linked to education, learning and discovery. Unique and intense experiences, considering your short stay in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tariri Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tariri Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing