We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and awesome people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amazon Tupana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place and awesome people”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went to Amazon Tupana 3 months ago and everything was absolutely amazing, special people, food, excursion with professional and kind guides, there you can find piece, the hotel is really located in the heart of the Amazon Rainforest, looks like a paradise. We had a great time at the village with people who live there. The service was very good, the hotel is clean, and the staffs were very polite and nice. I recommend Amazon Tupana and one day I would like to go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLondon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    64
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
90
96
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I read nothing but good reviews about Tupana Lodge and I must say, our guide Fabio, the family who runs the lodge and the chef and the food were all wonderful. That said, for the amount of money you spend- our room had cockroaches, the shower water is from the river so its impossible to shower and feel clean, we never received any new, clean towels, and the generator for electricity seldom worked. A disappointment for the amount of money per night. The location is secluded (a 4-5 hour trip from Manaus) and boat trip is great- which probably eats up a lot of the cost. But I wish they would put more thought into the comfort of a guests stay since you travel from all corners of the world to get there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollywood_616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband, father and friend went to the lodge in November... We absolutely loved the entire experience from the boat ride to the small village, the drive, and the next boat trip to the lodge. The service at the lodge was outstanding, the food was good, and we loved the activities including dolphins, caimans, hiking, visiting a local family, and hanging out at the lodge on the hammocks. We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for simple accommodations, this is your place!

Room Tip: Recommend staying in a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLyn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We choose this lodge as a mid-range establishment. It was very good and we were pleased with our five night stay. It is a boat ride across the white and black rivers from Manaus and then a couple of hours by car along mostly paved roads. A final short boat trip gets you to the lodge itself. We have a superior room that overlooks the slope down to the Tupana River, but rooms at the back facing the jungle did not have a good view. There is a large expanse of cleared area before you get to the jungle that gives these rooms a bleaker view. They also do not have there own patios although there are places to rest elsewhere in the lodge. There was one villa operating while we were there, the other one seemed to have been damaged by fire. The villa was surrounded by trees and has pleasant jungle views.

It is not an area rich in wild life so don’t expect animals every where. However, we did see dolphins swimming and jumping, caught and handled caimans, caught and ate piranha and saw many species of birds. On the afternoon of a whole day trip for just the two of us, we caught peacock bass and something else, both of which appeared cooked the following day!

Food was very good. In one 24 hour period with seven guests we were given:

Breakfast: Manioc pancakes, boiled yam root, frankfurters in a vegetable sauce, scrambled egg, cake, sweet cakes, cheese balls, sliced meats and cheese, juice, two types of fruit and coffee.
Lunch: Beef stew, bean stew, fried chicken, cheesy potatoes, salad, fruit and a green coloured dessert (not sure what it was but it was nice).
Dinner: Fried fish, chicken and cheese fricassee, cheese and manioc dish, soup, salads, water melon and coconut tart

The selection went down when the other five guests left but we never felt we did not have a good choice of dishes at each meal (two nights there as a couple only). The food is not high class dining; it is cooked by staff who live in the Amazon and work for the lodge, but it was wholesome, tasty and well presented.

It is tremendous fun to go through the Amazon with the Tupana flooding the jungle floor. We were there in September and the water level was still high but falling so there were plenty of short-cuts from across the bends in the river and flooded lakes. A variety of canoes were used depending on the trip. The lodge has kayaks that you can use and you can also swim safely in the river.

Night out in the jungle was fun. It is a short trek from the lodge, a night walk through the jungle and a BBQ dinner. Hammocks are slung on frames under a canvas roof. While we were there it collapsed which sounds awful but was actually great fun and we ended up slinging the hammocks between trees.

All the various activities were as described. The guide was not a natural historian and although he knew the animal and plant species and their habits, was no expert. However, he was very keen on fishing and the peacock bass afternoon was very enjoyable.

The only problem was the car trip back to the Amazon. Going to the lodge we travelled in a newish air conditioned pick-up driven carefully. Coming back was a trip from hell. The car was old and clearly not well maintained; a loud clunking noise came from the rear axle which had the driver out inspecting it and us, the passengers, rearranged to keep the most weight off one side. He drove like a maniac in the centre of the road to avoid the potholes at the side, but never gave way to oncoming traffic, forcing them to pull right over to their side to avoid us. He got into a race with another car that overtook us, driving too fast and dangerously. If we had been in a town and if I could speak Portuguese, we would have left him and found an alternative.

So, the lodge itself is very good Amazon experience but if you are thinking of booking it make sure that the owner Maria, who you will deal with, provides better transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tupana for 5 days and 4 nights. We were impressed by the lodge which was clean and comfortable, the activities and most of all the friendly service and people. Our guide Kennedy spoke great english and made sure we had an amazing time and saw everything the amazon had to offer. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uden, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

the Amazon Tupana Lodge was an amazing please to be, very friendly and kind personal. The rooms where pretty good for jungle standards as was the food (breakfast, lunch and diner). We had an amazing guide (Kennedy) who told us all about the jungle and the animals living there. We've been there for 4 days/3nights and saw a lot of the jungle, the river and of course the caymans and piranhas as well as a lot of birds (Macaws, Toucans etc.).

Room Tip: The rooms with view on the river are a bit nicer than those who has not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlosSchellekens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My BoyFriend and I had recentently return from the Amazon and we can not take out of our memories the lovely days we stay at the Amazon Tupana Lodge. The place is fantastic!! All the meals were delicious - better than we had in Manaus! The animals all arround make the place a paradise; monkeys are so friendly and the macacaw Menina so pretty and jeallous of the her best friend the dog Rex. Congratulations to the owner Maria and all her staff!!

Room Tip: Choose the superor rooms - the viwe is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
Tauari Inn Lodge
#7 of 223 in Amazon River
59 reviews
City Center
Hotel Cuca Legal
Hotel Cuca Legal
#3 of 7 in Presidente Figueiredo
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Juma Amazon Lodge
#1 of 10 in Autazes
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Tupana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Tupana Lodge

Property: Amazon Tupana Lodge
Address: Km 178, BR 319 Margem esquerda | Careiro Castanho, Rio Tupana, State of Amazonas 69047-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amazon Tupana Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amazon Tupana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Tupana Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Tupana Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing