We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and Comfortable - Lovely Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake View Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mbarara
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I highly recommend this hotel in Mbarara Uganda. I have stayed there twice now - for a week in September 2007 and for another week in July 2008. I found it a safe and comfortable hotel with good service and good food for a North American. The grounds are lovely. The hotel has an older wing which is reasonably price and a new wing which is a really beautiful find in SW Uganda. I would definitely stay there again when/if I return to Mbarara.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj-photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Lake View Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August 2009 while travelling on business and paid about $125. The most notable thing about this hotel were the enormous rooms. I'm sure that our room was the largest I've ever been in, anywhere -- including the $500 a night suite in Singapore or the Dorchester in London. The bathroom was also huge with a large soaking bathtub separate from the glass enlcosed showers. I spent a good hour enjoying the various bathing facilities (you'd understand if you'd just spent 5 hours broiling along a dusty red dirt road in a beat-up Toyota with no A/C!)

The room also had a comfortable bed, good aircon, a safe, satellite TV (nothing special--CNN, BBC, AlJezeera and local soap operas). Make sure you get one of these newly constructed deluxe rooms; the old ones are smaller and have no a/c but are $20 less per night.

We had dinner, drinks and breakfast in the attached restaurarant which was fine. Dinner was a standard buffet ranging from matooke to chicken curry and macaron au fromage (aka mac n'cheese). The homemade tomato soup was the best I've ever had. Breakfast was also a buffet with eggs/omlettes cooked to order. Most of the guests were NGO and business-type people (UNHCR and Shell Uganda were having meetings on-site.)

Service throughout the hotel was polite and friendly but kind of sleepy. The lobby gift shop was still not open by about 10am because the lady in charge never turned up (inexplicably). Similarly the business center was also closed in the morning because the IT person was AWOL. However, it was open until 9 or 10 the night before and seemed serviceable enough judging by the line of guests waiting for the internet.

Overall, if you have to be in Mbarara, this is a good place to stay and/or have a few drinks at the bar. It is safe, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daktarilinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

The room was new and clean but the bathroom was a bit old (I'm not sure how this happened). I was shocked to discover that the bathmat on the floor and the towels are exactly the same. We had one lunch and one dinner at the hotel and had to wait over 45 minutes each time when ordering food from the a la carte menu. But the food, when arrived, was quite tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeonyThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Upon arriving we were greeted by bellboys as they came to the car to open the doors for us and they took "all" of our luggage to the front desk for us. Once registered they took our luggage to our rooms. Everyone on staff was very friendly and seemed to really care that we enjoied our stay there. The lobby was large with beautiful dark wood walls. It is an older hotel, but by "African standards" is a 5 star hotel. Our room was large, no air conditioner but it had a fan (and that's all we needed).
The bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was a big
all you can eat breakfast "included in the room price".
The food was very good especially the "fresh" squeezed fruit juices!The service was excellent by the wait staff during each of our meals. Dinners were very good...and for you coffee drinkers...get ready for the BEST COFFEE you will ever drink.
The hotel staff saw to our every need, brought us fresh bananas each morning, and greeted us each evening as we returned from our speaking engagement. They made us feel at home, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Uganda.
If I ever return to Mbarara, "Which I hope I do", I will stay there again It was well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GeorgeVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

The Lake View was one of the first "modern" resort hotels outside of Kampala. It was built ambitiously, but the service still lags far behind its pretentions.
Rooms are spacious and the grounds are nicely kept, including a pool, exercise room and spa/sauna.
The room I had was large and relatively airy, but there was notairconditioning and I had no fan, although the friend I was travelling with reported she did have one in her room down the hall. Television reception was terrible.
I was very dissatisfied with dinner service. I had invited guests, and we waited over forty-minutes before the buffet was actually ready for service. Even then, it was close to an hour past the official opening time of the dining room before all items for the buffet had been brought out. Food quality was adequate, but not great.
I understand that the Lake View has recently changed hands and is trying to upgrade. I hope so, because it does not fulfill expectations at present.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MSCOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mbarara hotels
1.8 mi away
Pelikan Hotel
Pelikan Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mbarara
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Hotel Mbarara
Embassy Hotel Mbarara
#3 of 29 in Mbarara
28 reviews
14.2 mi away
Nyore Hillside Retreat
Nyore Hillside Retreat
#1 of 29 in Mbarara
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Igongo Country Hotel
Igongo Country Hotel
#2 of 29 in Mbarara
38 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kosiya Services Apartments & Hotel
4.6 mi away
Tobiz Guest House
Tobiz Guest House
#2 of 6 in Mbarara
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Resort Hotel

Address: Plot 159 Fortportal - Kasese Road, Mbarara, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Mbarara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mbarara
Price Range: $87 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lake View Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing