We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to the nature.”

Lake Mburo National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$348.00*
and up
Lake Mburo National Park Guided Day Tour from Kampala
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Mbarara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mbarara, Uganda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A visit to the nature.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A real experience of the nature and wild life. Visiting offers a complete experience of being close to the wild life with a nice scenery, hills, birds, some of the beautiful wild animals like the zebra and large numbers of antelopes.

Being near Kampala and at the gateway to the other national parks in western Uganda, L. Mburo N.P is an ideal place to visit for game drives and relaxation in the wilderness and close the nature.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Y-eddie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    78
    22
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kampala
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect excursion trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tired of the hustles and bustles of kampala town?? Well this park is just good news for you.
Located in Mbarara, the park has spectacular views from wildlife to scenery. Though be ready to get an excellent African Massage coz of the bumpy road.
Lake Mburo National Park is a very special place; every part of it is alive with variety, interest and colour. Uganda is full of surprises... U wouldnt want to miss this beautiful part of the country...Just have an EXCURSION and in the evenning, you are back to Kampala...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank haddy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is said to be the smaller park, which you do on the way back from QE or the Gorilla's to Kampala. That's a bit unfair...we loved the park. It is packed with zebra's and many other wildlife (no elephants nor giraffe's though). The scenery is beautiful - more variety than in QENP - and they offer these morning walks through the park, which is a nice experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Park”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This park is a nice one with a variety of animals an bird species. I enjoyed seeing the water bucks, the impalas, Zebras, Wasn't able to have the boat ride but the lake was just spectacular with the hippos and other bird species. However the road through the park is so dusty. though in a good location just by the road side.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Twes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice park, terrible treatment of guides”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The park is a great little spot for a number of reasons, but our experience with the staff at this park was absolutely unacceptable. We decided to spend a night here, excited to stay in park tents. There were two of us and our guide, who is a close friend. After booking months in advance for two tents, we arrived, were shown the tents and were excited to settle in. We put all of our things in one tent as we were very hungry, and drove down to the restaurant, assuming we would sort our things later when we returned. Around 9:00PM we left the restaurant by the lake and began walking to the van. In the short walk, another guide approached our guide to tell him that the tent he had booked was sold off to his clients and that he wasn't sure where he was supposed to go.

This is after we paid for the two tents. The argument from park staff was that it was "just a guide staying in that tent" and "there were no belongings in the tent already." For many reasons this was not going to work for us. We had booked two tents, paid for them, and now - at 9:00PM our guide had no where to stay. They offered to move him to one of the park bandas - a drive away from the tents. We did not accept this - for many personal reasons I will not go into, we needed to have close proximity to our guide who we would not be able to be in contact with if he was a driving distance away. At this time in the evening... we argued with staff, and eventually had to move all of our belongings into a banda which was sweltering hot and not what we had paid for. Ultimately we demanded a refund for the accommodations, but the experience left a bad taste in our mouth about the way Uganda Wildlife Authority staff treats tour guides. It was a shame because ultimately we look back on our trip and this park is tainted with this poor experience.

Your guide is the most essential person you have on safari and parks need to understand this important relationship. It was truly awful the way we witnessed the treatment of our good friend and guide. If you travel here, make sure your guide is well taken care of.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaLuna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Mburo National Park also viewed

 
Murchison Falls National Park, Western Region
 

Been to Lake Mburo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing