We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is a hidden gem in seaside Stonehaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachgate Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2010

After a disappointing stay in central Inverness, we chose to stop outside of Aberdeen as part of our UK driving tour. We chose Stonehaven from a map, knowing nothing about the town, and found Beachgate House on the net. On both counts, talk about a lucky find! Beachgate is right on the beach, with lovely views of the North Sea, and Stonehaven is a picturesque seaside town, complete with stone harbour, fishing boats and castle ruins. Host Alan, and his Mum, were very friendly and accommodating. The whole house is beautifully appointed and tastefully furnished, and includes a stunning view from the dining room. Our room was very comfortable, with a generous sized ensuite bathroom. There was lots of choice for the cooked breakfast and the dishes were all delicious. As we wrote in the Guest book, Beachgate and Stonehaven are one of Scotland's best kept secrets.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todds38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

An warm welcome awaits at the Beachgate Guest House. Lovely clean rooms, an excellent breakfast and great views of the beach. My only gripe would be that my room was small without ensuite, but the bathroom was about 1m away across a corridor and (I'm almost certain) was not shared.
Will almost certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readingmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We have been to Scotland 4 times now always staying in B&B's and have to say that this is one of the best places. The B&B is right on the beach with beautiful views. The bedrooms are large with comfortable beds and large bathrooms. We ended up eating at the harbour at a wonderful pub and walking on the beach after made the night special. Breakfast was delicious. Our Host was friendly and we felt very much at home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Have stayed many times and always have had a warm welcome. If you want to visit the best Band B in Scotland this is the one for you. Bedrooms are spotless and comfortable with lovely views
The breakfast is made while you wait in the lovely dining room and it is superb, very fresh and tasty it is worth a few visits to sample the different breakfasts.
Hope it is not to long before we visit again. Thank you so much Alan and his Mum

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian-Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

The shore of Stonehaven is breathtaking.
Alan and his mother were very friendly en helpfull.
Despite the weather it was an unforgetable stay.

PS thanks for taking care for my kitten!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kattenkribbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed three nights and enjoyed every minute. Food and hospitality were over the top. You can forget about your car and walk to everything. Our host provided us with restaurant ideas and even made reservations for us. Great place to just relax.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalFlaglerBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Beautiful view of the beach outside our window. Unfortunely it was cool and rainy when we visited but if the weather had been nicer I know it would have been great strolling on the beach. Great location, great room and Allan was very helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmarmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
0.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stonehaven
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachgate Guest House

Address: Beachgate House Beachgate, Stonehaven AB39 2BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range: $119 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachgate Guest House Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing