We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My Scottish sanctuary!!”
other travelers have booked this property
West Gallaton Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Gallaton Farmhouse
Sitting room with wood-burning stove Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
West Gallaton Farmhouse
Sitting room with wood-burning stove
Kitchen
Dining Area
Double Bedroom with Kingsize bed
Twin Bedroom
Single Bedroom
The terrace
The View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
943darren...
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Scottish sanctuary!! ”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I’m reluctant to tell you all how great this place is as I’m now a regular visitor having stayed approximately five times now.

Sheila is a great host and the farmhouse is the perfect retreat for me when I stay for anything longer than two days whilst visiting my young children who live in Banchory.

The cottage/farmhouse is beautifully appointed with three bedrooms, a large kitchen/diner and a perfect lounge complete with log burner.

It’s ideally situated to visit Aberdeen or the surrounding areas and is located down a long country road away from any traffic - perfect if you like country walks. Dunnottar Castle is just around the corner and Stonehaven has the award winning Bay Fish & Chip shop, plus Aunty Betty’s ice cream shop which my kids love.

If your looking for a base near Aberdeen, with great views, a peaceful setting and a comfortable homely environment then this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2018
Thanks for your kind review Darren. Your family are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dee1506
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location and pretty house”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house and location is gorgeous being set within farmland. Can see the sea from some windows on a clear day. Unfortunately we didn't meet Sheila because she was away and this may be why the basic provisions were not there when we arrived - except for milk. We had already been to the supermarket so were a little disappointed we had to head out at 8.30pm to collect toilet paper, teabags, salt/pepper and clothes detergent. Sheila is aware of my disappointment and hopefully understands that when traveling from OS it's a little off putting to have to carry these things. All other properties we have stayed at have supplied all cleaning and basic provisions so in this case I found it a little uncaring. The house is perfectly lovely and the location to Stonehaven is good.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and apologise again for the lack of the usual starter pack. As you say, we were away so didn't carry out the usual checks. Usually, we always leave a starter supply of basics like teabags, coffee, milk, toilet paper, dishwasher tablets etc and now we also leave some toiletries for guests. Let me assure you that this was simply an oversight and we care very much about our cottage and our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJ2727
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a few days at this gorgeous farmhouse...
It was lovely and clean, warm and cosy....
The farmhouse was very well equipped and the views are stunning ....
Very peaceful but also within close distance to some lovely places...
We have recommended this lovely place to friends who are very interested in booking ...we will also be returning ...

Thank you ...
Dee & Ade ..Gloucester..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Hi Dee. So pleased you enjoyed your stay - despite the storm! Thank you for your kind comments and welcome back any time. Sheila.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Cottage, great location - very helpful owners”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for a week in September and had a great time. The owners were extremely helpful and really care to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as possible.
I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone considering staying in the area. They even took the trouble of contacting us to return an item that was left, which was very much appreciated.
Thank you very much for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and log fire!
Liked least: There wasn't really any bad points
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, even though you had to work. Come back and stay for a holiday next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
837karen1...
Castletown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage within easy reach of Stonehaven”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Recently spent 10 days at this cottage with our party of 2 adults and 2 kids. The directions that Sheila gave us made finding the property easy. Appearances are deceptive as when we first arrived the cottage looked quite small but it isn't at all.
We didn't meet Sheila as she was away on holiday but the cottage was clean and warm and there was wine, shortbread and fresh farm eggs left as a welcome gift which was a lovely touch.
My son whose 9 was delighted with the wee bedroom he chose which he's been telling everyone "was in the kitchen". The cottage has everything you need to make it a home from home. The weather wasn't too kind to us but we did manage to have a bbq one evening and sitting out on the patio the views are amazing.
Stonehaven is only a 2 minute drive away and has plenty shops and restaurants. The open air pool was a hit with the kids. Aberdeen is only 20 minutes away on the train and they run regularly.
All in all we were delighted with the cottage and would definitely recommend it. Hopefully we will be back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Maybe a full length mirror in the double bedroom but that really is me just being picky.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2015
Thank you Karen for your kind review. Sorry I didn't get to meet you and sorry for the weather!! Glad you enjoyed both the house and all that the local area has to offer. Welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauna64
Laclede, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hostess and Incredibly nice accommodation!”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

West Gallaton Farmhouse far exceeded our expectations! We would stay here again - hands down. It just felt like home but with a gorgeous view of the countryside, yet on a sealed road, and only a mile or two from Dunnottar Castle. Kitchen was nicely fitted, bathroom is spacious, two of the bedrooms (upstairs) are huge and comfortable with stunning second floor outside views. The smaller bedroom near the kitchen was cozy and convenient for snacking ;-) Real fireplace, television service, comfy lounge area. No complaints anywhere here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, clean, well located, and wonderful hosts!
Liked least: Hmmm.. i didn't find a whole coffee bean grinder. There - i came up with something.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so pleased that you and your boys enjoyed your brief stay and really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Come and see us again if you ever venture across the Atlantic again. Sheila.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing