We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wholesome food”

The Stack Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Stack Restaurant and Bar,where you'll find locally sourced, seasonal food which has been attentively prepared and served in a relaxed and welcoming environment, alongside a well -stocked Bar. Situated in the coastal village of Muchalls, just off the A90, and 10 minutes from Aberdeen, the restaurant derives its name from the sea stacks located on the beautiful surrounding coastline.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Muchalls bistro continues to serve up a range of mouthwatering delights. Very nice food together with a selection of refreshments. A number of theme nights add to the popularity of this rastaurant.

The good range of choices both in the menu and the specials board should cater for most tastes.

I'd go for the Ramsay Blackpudding with apple, or the Baked Camambert as a starter. The ribeye steaks are consistently good. The trio of desserts gives three tasty puddings on one plate!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aberl00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    56
    17
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from this wonderful restaurant, on entering was made to feel welcome by staff and Lynn. Menu so much to choose from could not make up our mind, had special starter of scallops cooked to perfection, I had wood pigeon main course WOW it was just great all four of us were just blown away with flavours and presentation. As for sweet well then my husband and friend had hard job on choosing which one to have again they were fantastic, service was great so much so we have booked to go back in August. Well done team !!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Food at reasonable prices!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have eaten here on numerous occasions and each time the food is consistently wonderful. Last night was a themed evening with a seafood menu and reasonably priced at £18.95 for 2 courses. The grilled mussels that I chose to start with were to die for and the main course was dressed crab, ratatouille and spring onion mash which was heavenly. The service was with a smile and the atmosphere was very pleasant - well done to Lynn, Hermann and staff! I would urge that you visit this restaurant and sample the gorgeous food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went for a midweek family meal. Only one other table in use, which is a dissappointment as the food here is superb and it deserves to be much busier. Have been here several times before as we live locally and I thought it was time for a review! Starter of Crab bisque was very tasty. Mains : Wood Pigeon with black pudding, served with a red wine jus was just excellent, beautifully cooked and served with the finest roast potatoes, crispy on the outside and fluffy in the middle and full of flavour (must be the dripping!). Rib-eye steak with wild mushroom sauce was cooked medium to perfection, served with lovely home made chips. Monkfish pot, which was monkfish, salmon and large prawns with a lovely sauce with a hint of chilli was excellent. It was served with home made bread, which to be honest, at £18.95 was a bit on the pricey side and may have been better served with linguine etc. Desserts were of the usual standard - superb! Muchalls Indulgence is just that and is a real treat, the Classic Creme Brulee was excellent as was the Hot Raspberries served with ice-cream. The Muchalls Bistro is a wonderful dining experience and is easily one of the top restaurants in the north-east. I can't recommend it highly enough and as I mentioned earlier that I live locally, we will definately be back more often!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeefyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the head waitress !”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have eaten many times since it has been opened . Food is always excellent but even after frequent visits the reception from the head waitress is appalling . Hardly ever a smile or a hello , & she does recognise us . This is so disappointing as her husband is a wonderful chef & her skills should be used in other areas of the business ( kitchen ) . I would like to add the rest of the staff are very hospitable . But from a business point of view this needs to be addressed immediately

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Millburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hediAberdeen, Owner at The Stack Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
In the 5 years since opening, we have built up a base of regular customers who are a vital part of our business. Recognising faces, chatting with the customers is an essential and enjoyable part of that. We are therefor surprised by your comments, being unwelcoming is not in our best interest. If you have been made to feel unwelcome, then apologies. We do however find your heading and comments a little rude and uncalled for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stack Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Catterline, Stonehaven
 

Been to The Stack Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing