We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food”

The Waterfront Cafe Bar
Ranked #24 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The big plus here is that it's baby friendly with a collection of toys that the children can entertain themselves with.
The coffee and cake is okay but the food is not really. It's very basic has a "budget" taste to it. Not to mention that the whole place smells of deep fat fryer. My partner who ate a meat burger was especially unhappy as the menu description did not at all fit the food he received. As I had a vegetarian burger which was not at all exciting, but to be honest I didn't really expect it to be either. But it was edible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CILLANochISLAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    24
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A friend & I popped in here for a quick lunch on Sunday. The place was fairly quiet, and there is plenty of seating both outdoor and indoor- as other reviewers have noted, the outside area could do with a bit of TLC.
The menu was varied and simple, and the price reflected the quality and style. Coffee & Hot Chocolate were very enjoyable. I had the breaded haddock served with decent thick chips and beans. Only complaint was that the breadcrumbs around the haddock were very hard, stuck to a kind of glue like substance! Maybe better to chose batter? My friend's burger was good too.
Service could have been better- the young girls didn't seem to have had any training in customer service- a simple smile would have made a difference!
Wouldn't hesitate to reccommend- it is what it is. Simple and good value, nothing special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A lunch for two”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my wife frequent this establisment at least once a month to sample their various meals from either a breakfast, tea and cakes or a two or three course lunch. a very spacious venue with access from either Allardyce Street or from the promenade and if the weather is favourable you can have your meal out in garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Didn't stay”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited here on Saturday, waitress told us just to take a seat, from then on we were totally ignored.
People who came in after us were being served so we walked out, never to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Poor show”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Whilst it is obviously the choice of the owners, I found it very disappointing that it stopped serving meals at 4pm on the Sunday afternoon on the weekend when the town was busy (Folk Festival) and the sun shining.
In these times when businesses are vying for trade I consider this to be an opportunity missed and not 'visitor friendly'.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Cafe Bar also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Waterfront Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing