We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American guests”

The Bay Fish & Chips
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“American guests”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had two young American students visiting Scotland for the first time in December.. We drove from Edinburgh Airport directly to the Bay Fish and chip shop for their first taste of Scottish food. They ate it straight out of the box and loved it!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 886Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    120
    50
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good, but busy sometimes”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Normally very good, great service, well looked after.

Can be very busy at times, although last few times not as bad (wonder if people are going elsewhere assuming large queues at the bay).

Only downside is sometimes the chips could do with being cooked longer / crisper...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best in Scotland”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting regularly since our son started a uni in Aberdeen. Its now the reason for doing the 2 hour trip....the bonus is we catch up with our boy.Chips are fantastic,fish amazing especially getting a choice with the specials so juicy and succulent,batter perfect.Staff are always polite and helpfull,its so good to see young people being given opportunities and that they are prepared to work long hours,the owner spent a lot of time explaining what he was offering to a couple from Uraguay who had no English,it was brilliant to see them and granny tucking in later. We are very happy to wait and let our fish and chips be cooked fresh....this of course takes time.We have a list of 4 excellant fish and chip shops in Scotland but the Bay is at the top ....equal 2nd,3rd and 4th are Anstruther,Real Food cafe in Tyndrum and Mhor Fish in Callendar.Thank you to all the staff for providing such a treat our whole family look forward to.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwigael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely, the best chipper in the land.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for a couple of years. Always have snr fish supper, and hubby has the baked version. Service is always spot on. Everything very clean. Can get very busy on weekends and some evenings, but worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartiefoodbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

After an exceptionally frosty reception at Molly's (Next Door), we decided to brave the freezing weather with fish and chips in the car.
The service, and meals we got here were absolutely superb, and we'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank TIrving2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Bay Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing