We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy kiddies and relaxed parents”

Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Huge, Olympic-size open air swimming pool and lido with clean sea water heated to 29°C (85°F). Open daily 27 May - 3 Sept 2017. Quiet swims for adults, inflatables sessions for kids, toddlers' paddling pool, midnight swims in peak season (1 July - 21 Aug inc 2017). Chute (swimmers only) open daily. Sheltered sun terraces, on-site cafe, ample free parking. Day tickets valid all day! 2017 prices: Adult £5.40, child/senior/student with ID/spectator £3.30, family £14.65. Midnight swims £7.10/£4.85/£18.40. Family 2+2 or 1+3. 12-session & season tickets also available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“happy kiddies and relaxed parents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

A memorable experience - an open air, heated, salt water swimming pool, not too expensive for a family swim and a quick but pleasant snack in the cafe afterwards. All the staff were very friendly. If the weather is cool, it can get a bit chilly (also an interesting experience!) for just fooling about with the kids, rather than doing laps. We also had the benefit on both occasions of not having a crowed pool.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    42
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nostalgic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Enjoyed swimming in heated open air pool. Not crowded and plenty of lifeguards on duty, hot chocolate in cafe after swim was lovely.
Reminded me of outdoor pools from 50's films!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for a break from travel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was stunned to find this wonderful outdoor pool in Stonehaven. I enjoyed a sunny late morning/early afternoon swim in the salt water. It was a bit crowded for those wanting to swim laps. But, I carved out my spot and people were accommodating by moving out of the way. The staff are very friendly! I wish I was there for the popular midnight swim on Wednesday nights!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MDTravProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

a very unusual pool being heated salt water. you have a unique boyancy in the water and the pool is a remarkably preserved facility,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller inverness
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very friendly staff :a great experience in this one off swimming pool.Brought back childhood memories only better

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 29hector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing