We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House
Ranked #9 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Aileen Paton greets you like a long time friend and makes you feel so welcome the minute you walk through the door. The guest house is so relaxing, welcoming and you do feel like you're at home. She welcomed us and our 2 dogs and nothing was too much trouble for her. Breakfast was fantastic with such a great choice and she caters for special diets. I would certainly stay here again next time I'm back in the area and i will be recommending the guest house to everyone I know

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borderlass58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

The owner, Mrs Aileen Paton, is the most friendly host you'll find in Scotland. She offers a nice, calm and relaxed place just outside of Stonehaven (1,5 miles) and I think her guesthouse reflects her way to welcome her guests. It's well kept and the friendly hosts, (Aileen and her husband Doug), will give you a lot of hints of what's interesting to see or enjoy in the area. One morning, my wife just went along on the morning walk with the dogs and got the grand tour in the close forest area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joakim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I chose this B&B based on reviews from tripadvisor, and I couldn't have been happier. The setting is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are large and comfortable. We got going a bit late for breakfast and Aileen wouldn't let us leave until we ate. She is an amazing person and gave us wonderful advice about where to visit while we were there. I would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaRayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Aileen is such a nice and friendly person who makes you feel at home. The b&b is immaculate through out and have absolutely no complaints. The breakfast was lovely and had a good choice of cereals to fry-ups. If or when I am back up in the area I wood stay here before anywhere else. I don't normaly make comments about places but a felt this is a little gem that should be experianced. James Burns

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tw15t3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I live in a coastal village close to Stonehaven and stayed with Aileen & Doug during building works at my home. From arrival to departure, my experience at Woodside of Glasslaw was thoroughly enjoyable. The accommodation is accurately reflected on the website but the atmosphere and customer care has to be experienced to complete the picture. My mobility issues were minimised as the B & B was very accessible and Aileen, Doug and the staff provided every assistance. I will recommend Woodside of Glasslaw to any traveller. I will vist again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryandpaddywak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Woodside of Glasslaw in May of this year. We enjoyed the very welcoming hospitality of Aileen for 2 nights. This is a lovely property, and the rooms are very comfortable, bright and clean. Breakfasts were "made to order," good and fulfilling getting you ready for the day. While Woodside of Glasslaw is in the countryside, it is close to the highway and therefore a quick drive to Aberdeen to the north or a little longer to Dundee and Perth to the south. Stonehaven is a lovely town, lots of shopping and eateries here too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andiejpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our priorities were to be within easy distance of Stonehaven where we have family and to find somewhere that accepted dogs - and what a good find Woodside of Glasslaw was. In an extended bungalow type property, everything is on one level, with the parking close to the door. The views of the beautiful countryside are wonderful and there is the added attraction of a lovely wood in which to walk dogs right on the doorstep. The bedrooms are large, comfortable and clean and boast an ensuite bathroom as well as tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast room and conservatory are spacious and comfortable. Aileen is an excellent hostess and offers a huge choice of cold and hot food at breakfast which really sets you up for the day.
An excellent find, we would highly recommend this B&B.
Thank you Aileen for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaymaker250000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
1.4 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
487 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
11.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
153 reviews
1.4 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
190 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House

Address: Toucks, Stonehaven AB39 3XQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range: $98 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside of Glasslaw Guesthouse is a family run bed and breakfast. We are situated 2 miles from Stonehaven and the famous Dunnottar Castle. We welcome business and leisure guests. Aberdeen is a 20 minute car ride away and we are also ideally situated to explore Royal Deeside and Angus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside Of Glasslaw Guest House Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing