We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality”
Review of the villa

the villa
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Cafe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent quality”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Enjoyed lunch today at this excellent coffee shop, situated on the road to the harbour in Stonehaven.
We were quickly seated at a table for two in a very clean & well appointed room & were given menus, asked if we wanted lunch or coffee & cake, advised of the choice of soups for the day and had the specials menu pointed out to us in a very friendly & efficient manner.
Beverages were quickly delivered and we didn't have long to wait for our soup & sandwiches. There was a pretty standard range of sandwich fillings and we chose tuna on brown bread and ham & cheese on brown bread to accompany the piping hot and very tasty sweet potato & chorizo soup - the alternative choice of soup was carrot & courgette.
There could perhaps have been more ham & less cheese in the generously filled sandwiches, which were served with some Pringles, but the overall quality of the meal was excellent.
There was a large covered cake stand, featuring delicious looking cakes & tray bakes which we had to pass on, a definite incentive for a return visit.
Very impressed not only with the food, but with the overall ambience & the friendliness of the staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    39
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Having just moved to the area we decided to investigate Stonehaven and went into the villa for a coffee.
What a great decision, the staff made us welcome and swiftly brought a high chair for my daughter and the cake trolley.
We enjoyed a fantastic coffee and piece of cake in friendly surroundings.
We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious ”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Went to the villa for a high tea on Sunday evening with my family. Can't complain about anything at all. Faaaaaantastic service, portions, atmosphere and most of all the cakes!! Would definitely recommend to everyone and I shall be back, thank you to Jean and team.

Helpful?
2 Thank NJreports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

very nice atmosphere, dishes are good, but i'm not sure they're so freshly prepared (my jacked potato wasn't hot enough to melt the cheese)... my friends said their soups were good
the ice cream is good

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giulia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The soup and desert were amazing. Very tasty !! The main dish was ok. If the weather is good you can stay outside. This restaurant serves meals after 2pm which is very good because most of the kitchens close at 2pm for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Filipa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the villa also viewed

 

Been to the villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing