We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but fairly standard fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of the villa

the villa
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newmachar
Level Contributor
305 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good but fairly standard fare”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We popped in here for a sandwich and coffee. Service was not particularly slick even tho the place was not busy. The menu was what you can see in most places and it was good enough but nothing special to differentiate it from other local places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    36
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have had several meals here or sometimes just dropped in for coffee - we have never been disappointed. Food is excellent with a good choice on the menu and the homebakes are all delicious. The staff are always friendly and service is good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I stopped here on a bike ride to Aberdeen. Great lasagne and garlic bread, delicious coffee, and a charming little location. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMacPhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Charming Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food was delicious and it was the perfect portion of food after completing the hike to the castle and monument. The service was fantastic, the staff was lovely, the food was delicious and the perfect temperature. Also, the food the was well priced. I would definitely recommend it for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madi_h93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Staff at this small cafe are excellent. Went for their Xmas lunch and boy was the food good.
It's a pity they were flooded out the week after our visit. It would be a shame if it did not restart.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derekm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the villa also viewed

 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to the villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing