We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful castle and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunnottar Castle

Dunnottar Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.12*
and up
Full-Day Two Castles Tour from Aberdeen
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Majestic 14th-century castle located on a rugged cliff overlooking the coast.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful castle and location”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Superb ruined castle. If you have mobility problems you would not be able to visit inside as there are loads of steps to climb.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank reoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,505
    296
    37
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very busy place great views with 4 seals swimming in the bay.
We had good weather which gave us an opportunity for some photo's the weather made the visit even more spectacular.
After your visit carry along the road to Stonehaven and stop just before the road drops to the harbour for great views and a another photo op.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“stunning beauty”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stopped by to look at the war memorial and ended up at dunnotar castle so had quite a walk to reach it. there is probably a closer carpark. a safe cliff walk for a young family. absolutely stunning scenary and lovely beach and cave to play in.
unfortunately we never got inside the castle as id left my purse in the car and the castle gates were literally closing as we climbed the final steps. next time we will check the opening times and entrance fees, we will be back as there is so much history connected with the castle we just have to go back, a nice walk for a dog.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ms K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoenenberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Scenery is great”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this castle amazing. After having seen many castles in Scotland, this is my favourite. The view from the coast is beautiful and can't be compared to other castles. There is no need to pay the extra fee to get into the castle as you'll have the better views from the outside anyway. We combined the visit to this castle with a day-trip to Aberdeen which is close by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Local's Perpsective”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The ruins and the setting of the castle is truly magnificent and not to be missed. Take some time to also do some walking along the cliffs / shore - bring binoculars to get a better view of the sea-birds, seals, etc. There are very limited facilities at the castle (e.g. no café) although plenty of good eating options in Stonehaven itself (which I recommend). There are boat trips available (MV Lady Gail) at the harbour and provide a completely different perspective on the castle - highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyCustodian, Manager at Dunnottar Castle, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello. Thanks very much for your review and it's nice to hear one from a local persons perspective. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and wanted to point out that you perhaps missed our wee picnic van, which is situated beside the main car park? It's open from June to the middle of September each year selling coffee, cold drinks, cakes and other snacks. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunnottar Castle also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Banchory, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Dunnottar Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing