We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Immaculate rooms, nicely fitted out - nothing overly fancy or twee - just modern, crisp and spacious. Stayed in lovely twin room - room 4 - fantastically comfortable with lovely big bright shower room. Hosts are charming and genuinely warm. Breakfast is a fantastic mix of croissants, fresh fruit, meat/cheese, home made bread and full cooked option. Sets the standards for all other Scottish b&b

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just stayed one night at the Chapel of Barras Farmhouse B&B. A great nights sleep and the breakfast was excellent, including haggis with a drop of whisky in it. You can even walk off your breakfast when ready and explore the nearby lanes and countryside or drive ten minutes to the sea.

JSH

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSHbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Best B&B on our road trip across Scotland.
Michelle and David are fantastic hosts. They took a lot of time to explain us the region and the route to take (including an introduction to the cattle and the farm)
Michelle's breakfast stunned us: you will get everything freshly made and home made. Bread, Cereals, Milk, warm dishes.... perfect!
the rooms and facilities are on very high standard, and definitly the best value you can get.
B&B is a bit outside of Stonehaven, but travelling by car you can reach the town within approx. 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and colleague stayed here last week and enjoyed a very comfortable room, and the most superb breakfast, especially the home baked bread!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is an outstanding super B&B. Michelle and David are magnificent hosts. We arrived late in the afternoon on a cold and rainy day. The first thing Michelle did was gave us a pot of tea and a big plate of homemade baked goods. She has an eye on detail, from home made, fresh baked goods to the centre pieces on the breakfast tables. She even gave us fresh milk in a thermos for coffee in the morning and a dish of baked goods for the night snack. David is a great conversationalist, knowledgeable about everything involving the farm, animals and – yikes – politics.

The facility has spacious en suite bedrooms, modern and tasteful furnishings with a large bathroom area and a shower that is full spray, delivering hot water. The breakfast spread was huge, with lots of home baking, jams, sliced meats, cereal and delightful breakfast area. The full Scottish breakfast was filling and delicious. She even had a large dollop of haggis on the plate!!
We used this facility as an anchor point, traveling outwards from here each day and returning at night. The B&B is located close to the town of Stonehaven, Dunottar Castle and great bird cliffs/sanctuaries close by. Stonehaven’s Tollhouse museum is a wonderful small, local and free museum. Certainly something you should take in. Michelle and David directed us to Gourdon to have supper at the Hornblower Fish and chips. I have not had better fish and chips in my memory.

This B&B is located on a working beef cattle farm. It is easily located a couple of minutes' drive from the village of Kinneff, which is only 10 minutes south of Stonehaven.

Chapel of Barras Farm represented excellent value. Michelle and David looked after us like we were family.

We would definitely highly recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Superb b&b, large en suite rooms, tastefully furnished, amazing spread for breakfast with lots of home baking, friendly hosts and lovely, quiet location. Perfect for a short trip to the Creel Inn at Catterline for a superb dinner. Close to the nice wee town of Stonehaven, Dunottar Castle and Fowlsheugh bird cliffs.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms of similar size and all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whinaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have read other folks reviews on Chapel of Barras farmhouse B&B and all the comments are spot on.
The warm welcome and extra little touches in the rooms, attention to detail, comfort of beds, cleanliness, fantastic power-shower, LCD TV's.......... I could be here a week writing comments full of praise.
David and Michelle are worthy recipients of their 4 star Scottish Tourist Board rating.
I am writing this review whilst enjoying my last night in the farmhouse and have enjoyed marvellous hospitality over the past couple of days. Nothing is too much trouble for the couple who obviously work tirelessly to achieve the highest standards possible.
The food quality can only be described as excellent. From the marvellous cooked breakfast with home-made jam and granola, to the wee home-made cake or shortbread left in the guest room, you will not find any better.
A perfect place to visit for any reason, short break, business trip, quiet getaway root explore the area.
Only 20-30 minutes into Aberdeen. So, so much better than a city centre hotel at 4 times the price.
Fantastic.

Room Tip: Five en-suite rooms available. None will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
5.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
500 reviews
5.5 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
199 reviews
5.5 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
159 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stonehaven
90 reviews
5.2 mi away
Twentyfourshorehead
Twentyfourshorehead
#7 of 27 in Stonehaven
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Chapel of Barras Farm, Stonehaven AB39 2UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range: $98 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing