We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BayView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and given information about the area and where to visit and the best places to eat , and where to avoid! during our stay we asked a question about some of the food served locally and the next day some was delivered to our door.
The Hotel was really comfortable and immaculately clean, the WiFi was a problem as it didn't work unless you balanced on the edge of the bed but a laptop was available for guest use in the dining room at no extra charge. The breakfast was really tasty and always served with a smile and a "Good Morning" and set us up for the day as we went visiting the area.
The view was stunning and we were lucky enough to be able to sit on the balcony during the evening, the sun rising directly into the room woke me up, maybe thicker curtains?

All in all the stay was brilliant and would love to visit again if we were going to Scotland again...have recommended it to all our friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at BayView for 2 nights in July 2012. It didn't meet our expectations. To start with, the parking space is ridiculously small and difficult to reach because of a very narrow alley. It was also difficult to find (look for Beach gate lane). We had a ground level room which was small at the end of a narrow corridor right next to the tiny windowless dining room. But we must admit that the view from our room was really spectacular! There is a public footpath right between the room and the sea so you can hear people using this path at night. That was disturbing.

The two breakfasts that we were served were really disappointing. The first morning my wife got a spoonful of scrambled eggs! On the second morning, we ordered the continental breakfast which consisted of a slice of cold bread, a few small pieces of cheese, a paper thin slice of ham and about 10 grapes...

BayView is nicely located to visit Dunnotar castle, the Dee valley and Stonehaven. There are good restaurants in the harbor but you need to book in advance to get a table, especially on weekend nights.

We were also asked to pay in cash. All in all we found that this B&B was more a three star than a four star and it felt more like a motel than a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayyviewstonehaven, Owner at BayView Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We were genuinely disappointed that you only felt that you had an
"average" stay at Bayview. In our six years we have only ever had
excellent or very good reviews. We were really surprised about your
comments about our breakfasts as we pride ourselves on their quality
and quantity - free range, fair trade and local produce.

Perhaps a little further information might be useful with regard to
your breakfasts on the second day. You ordered cooked breakfasts but changed your mind at
the last moment to continental. Our manageress, who was making
breakfast, did her best to change your order at this short notice with what she
had spare and available. And in these circumstances it obviously did
not meet your expectations. For continental breakfasts we shop the
night before for the next day's ingredients to ensure that they are of the freshest and highest quality e.g. croissants need to be super fresh.

With regard to the rooms we can only comment that they are as per the
pictures on our site and many people comment, when they see them, that
they fully live up to the size and quality indicated on those pictures -
king sized beds, a settee, wall mounted TV, a desk/dressing table and a
full length balcony overlooking the bay of Stonehaven.

yours sincerely David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stonehaven is a little fishing village just South of the city of Aberdeen. The BayView has large rooms with an exceptional view of the water. The king size bed was a nice break from the usual double or twin accommodations. Friendly staff - provided a great recommendation for dinner over by the harbor. We forgot one thing; being that far North the sun set around 11 PM but rose again in the East (the view facing the water) around 2 AM. We forgot to draw the curtains and had a surprise awakening earlier than expected. Very nice place to stay. We even got to see the Olympic Torch as it came through town.

Room Tip: Don't forget to close the curtains when you retire for the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay at Bayview, which we thoroughly enjoyed, and will definitely return to. Everyone we had any dealings with from point of booking to departure could not have been more friendly or welcoming. Along with the fact that it is spotlessly clean, offered a very comfortable bed, and a fabulous breakfast (which is always top of my personal priority list) I'm very happy to recommend to any visitor to Stonehaven. Some of the little personal touches were also delightful, and much appreciated.

My only (minor) gripes, (and perhaps slightly trivial things that stopped me from giving it a 5 star rating) were that the Wifi facility advertised didn't work for the duration of our stay. The small sized bath towels are just a pain, if like me you're 6'4. (For the extra 50p rental charge from your linen supplier, a decent sized bath towel would be very welcome!) And finally, as has already been mentioned, those curtains and blinds just don't shut out sufficient light, and at this time of year dawn breaks at 4.30am. After this weekend, I know this for a fact.........LOL

The bottom line however is this is a very well run establishment, and we shall definitely return, (although possibly to one of the larger apartments) and recommend to others, so please take the minor gripes in the spirit they were given.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighlandTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for just one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The view from our ground floor room (no.1) was just marvelous and we even managed to sit out on our balcony first thing in the morning and enjoy the sunshine. All the rooms are decorated in a different theme. Ours was India which was very nicely done with throw pillows and pictures on the wall. Breakfast was also very good and the design detailing on the breakfast tables was also very nicely done by Janice. The tip for a good Fish&Chips place that David gave us was spot on as well. The Bay, 7 minutes walk along the beach from B&B, take away only.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea68167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed for an overnight. Thought room charming and stylish. Owners friendly. Breakfast great. Views absolutely wonderful - right on the sea front. Private balcony a nice touch. Only slight downside was room being next to breakfast room so was woken up earlier than would have liked. Thought checkout was far too early - especially for a weekend morning - was slightly disappointed given cost of room per evening.

Room Tip: Ask for one that isnt right next to breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We "took over" Bay View for my sister's wedding. My husband & I stayed in one of the downstairs rooms with French windows opening virtually onto the beach. Being so close to the sea was absolutely marvellous. Bay View has been well thought out and the rooms are cheerful, pleasant and spotless. Our bed was very comfortable. Normally we would prefer to have a bath but the shower room (although very small) was fine. Everything was provided including two different sorts of hanger, generous toiletries, an extra heater, lovely fresh flowers, wifi, and an eclectic selection of books in the hallway. The tea & coffee tray is basic (instant coffee, UHT milk) but there was a good selection of teas in the kitchen and I'm sure Emilia would have provided fresh milk if we'd asked. Emilia made a huge effort to make us feel welcome and cooked super breakfasts. The breakfast was generally of a very high standard, including decent bread, coffee and orange juice, things that let down a lot of places. If I was going to be picky I would say that I'd prefer a better quality marmalade. One other thing to bear in mind is that the blinds and curtains are not blackout types, so anyone who doesn't want to be woken up early in the morning (and the sun comes up pretty early during the summer in the north of Scotland!) might want to bring a sleep mask. Overall a great place, and should I ever be staying in Stonehaven again I wouldn't hesitate to book the Bay View.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
0.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stonehaven
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
156 reviews
0 mi away
Executive Beach Apartments
Executive Beach Apartments
#22 of 27 in Stonehaven
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twentyfourshorehead
Twentyfourshorehead
#7 of 27 in Stonehaven
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayView Bed & Breakfast

Address: Beachgate, Stonehaven AB39 2BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range: $66 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BayView Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BayView Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing