We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Accommodating”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

First time in Stonehaven and the Royal Hotel. We were guiding a tour group around Scotland. Enjoyable experience. Staff were very helpful, rooms good but a little small, some with nice view of the North sea. First impression was a little disconcerting but the staff made up for any misconception. Would stay there again. group rate was a little high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srmopiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    29
    17
    10
See reviews for
16
55
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The outside appearance of this Hotel does not do it justice. Easy access to Aberdeen by train or road. We stayed in a lovely room, on the small side, but adequate, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was excellent, served in a large airy room on first floor . We ate evening meals in the bar area. The choice and quality of meals and beers was very good with excellent friendly service. We recommend the Fish & Chips! We could not fault our stay and would definitely recommend it others.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clitheroe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

just had the very best 4 days of fresh cooked food excellent service helpful staff clean comfy room massive bed and no complaints at all.very very good. and we will definatley stay again when in the area.well done

Room Tip: room 15 no complaints quite clean and just referbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice meal in the Royal tonight staff were very pleasant and service was good. We had booked and our table was not quite ready so waitress showed us to a booth where our drinks were brought to us

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had often passed by the Royal, but on this occasion we decided to drop in for lunch. They were very busy, but we found a comfy spot at the back of the bar with a couple of sofas. The table would have been a bit low had we ordered meals, but as we wanted sandwiches and pannini's so no problem. The staff were rushed off their feet, but the lady who served us was very pleasant and we soon got our food. The sandwiches and pannini's were excellent. A good stop for lunch and we will visit again when in Stonehaven.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My friend and I went here on Saturday for evening meal, was a big mistake!
All other tables became occupied after we had ordered, people were served and some finished and left, tables occupied a second time and served, while we waited for our food.
We had ordered fillet of pork and chicken stuffed with haggis.
No way was the pork from fillet, and the chicken was hard with part of it totally inedible, it sat on a circle of what I think might have been potato mixed with the haggis, little spoonful of spinach (I think) on top of this then the chicken.
Our veg. was 4 asparagus spears and 4 tiny cherry tomatoes each.
We had complained about waiting 50 minutes to be served, but the waitress was totally disinterested, unhelpful and rude.
The waiter was slightly more helpful and at least he apologised..
Even with the cost of our 2 soft drinks being deducted from the bill, it was certainly NOT worth the money.
This is definitely a restaurant to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stonehaven hotels

Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Service poor.. beer badly kept..and limited choice, goodness knows how the rooms are..in short, a mess! Has potential being in centre of town but a noisy place to be. Food average and dirty tables. Toilets could be cleaner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
0.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 44 Allardice Street, Stonehaven AB39 2BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's a trip for business or pleasure, a warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel. The Royal Hotel is located in the heart of the seaside town of Stonehaven, 15 minutes south of Aberdeen. With eighteen en-suite rooms available, it is the largest hotel in the Town, as well as being conveniently located in the town centre, the rear of the hotel is on the beach front and half of the rooms enjoy a sea view. Each room has a flat screen TV and tea & coffee making facilities as standard and also included in the room rate is a freshly cooked Scottish breakfast. The hotel has a well stocked bar with a cosy dining area which serves traditional pub food all day along with an ala carte alternative in the evening. The hotel is also a popular daytime venue for coffee and snacks due to its central location and is very popular with families. If you are going out and about nearby we have Dunnottar Castle, Story book glen and Aberdeen's world famous Winter Gardens along with numerous running and biking routes for the fit. If you like to head into the hills we are within easy reach of the Cairngorm National Park. The choice of golf courses are endless, we are also situated on the North East coastal trail which runs for 150 miles, with cliffs, coves beaches and bays making the location ideal when taking a walking, cycling, touring or golfing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing