We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food,Lovely Staff, Comfortable Room.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food,Lovely Staff, Comfortable Room.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed the night after a lovely family meal. The food was great, with 11 of us eating there was a variety of meals chosen and everybody commented on how good the food was. All the meals arrived hot and obviously freshly cooked. I can highly recommend the Cullen Skink, definitely one of the best I have tasted. Our main meals were just as good. Both fish and meat dishes were cooked to everyones requirements. The staff were also very efficient and friendly. Our room was modern, cosy and clean, with a nice ensuite. Very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good, served by a very friendly lady. If you are looking for a friendly, comfortable place to stay in the centre of Stonehaven which serves great food whilst providing good value for money then look no further!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueronhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    29
    17
    10
See reviews for
16
55
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice pub and good food. Staff were very helpful. Room was disappointing, far too small to be classed as a double and desperately in need of an upgrade. Would not have stayed for a second night, not even a mirror in the bedroom! En suite was clean but was like taking a step back in time and hot water took about 5minutes to arrive! Did have a nice view over the bay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlethen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter, her 4 children and myself went to the Royal Hotel for supper and we were very impressed. The meals were all really tasty and reasonably priced. This hotel has been totally redecorated since I was last in it and it looks really nice. Our waitress was very pleasant, and patient! I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: This was a restaurant review but going by the pictures of the bedrooms they look good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

we stayed for long weekend and have no complaints.well situated and easy walking distance to harbour or caravan site.hotel in middle of renovation but not a problem.on booking weeks before we requested a room with sea views,it was stunning,brilliant view from our room.very comfy bed,good power shower,room was fine.breakfast in the mornings was very good with plenty to eat and meals during the day excellent as well,was very busy that weekend but staff coped very well,very friendly and helpful.if we go back to stonehaven we will certainly be staying here again

Room Tip: ask for sea view room,you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckiepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a room online 7 days before arrival & paid in advance.
Arrived after 6 hour drive to be told that there were no rooms available.
I showed them the booking confirmation but was told that the receptionist had left & no-one had a clue what bookings had been made.
I had to get my money back and ring around to find somewhere to stay (many thanks Queens Hotel - very helpful).
I am very upset with the Royal Hotel and would not recommend that anybody stay there.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank garydobson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stonehaven hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

In a central location and easy to find, the hotel itself is undergoing refurbishment and boy does it need it! The newly decorated room that I had was filled with cheap furnishings and was not very sound proof. As I was staying on a day let basis, after working a nightshift, I felt that I was in the middle of piccadilly circus, really inconsiderate, cleaner came into my room, surely they must have known that I was just in the door? I'm sure they don't get many day let's. Breakfast was poor quality and tasted pretty bad, I had the fried option. There was never anyone in reception so you have to go into the bar to get someone. I wouldn't stay again, I will see my employer and ask them to book me elsewhere next time. Although the room was ok, outside was a piggery.

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the front of the hotel at the weekend, you will not get a good sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of town on the High Street and is approx. 10 mins walk from the harbour area. There is some free limited hotel parking on request, but if this is full, there is a "Pay and Display" directly opposite with reasonable charges. The hotel and some of the rooms were midway through renovations when we stayed, but this was not detrimental to our enjoyment. The rooms have comfortable beds and nice finishing touches such as bath essence / shower gels and a cafetiere. The shower cubicle is quite small but the power shower is wonderful. The quality and variety at breakfast was superb and the service provided by the lovely lady there was very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzyt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
0.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
458 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stonehaven
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 44 Allardice Street, Stonehaven AB39 2BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's a trip for business or pleasure, a warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel. The Royal Hotel is located in the heart of the seaside town of Stonehaven, 15 minutes south of Aberdeen. With eighteen en-suite rooms available, it is the largest hotel in the Town, as well as being conveniently located in the town centre, the rear of the hotel is on the beach front and half of the rooms enjoy a sea view. Each room has a flat screen TV and tea & coffee making facilities as standard and also included in the room rate is a freshly cooked Scottish breakfast. The hotel has a well stocked bar with a cosy dining area which serves traditional pub food all day along with an ala carte alternative in the evening. The hotel is also a popular daytime venue for coffee and snacks due to its central location and is very popular with families. If you are going out and about nearby we have Dunnottar Castle, Story book glen and Aberdeen's world famous Winter Gardens along with numerous running and biking routes for the fit. If you like to head into the hills we are within easy reach of the Cairngorm National Park. The choice of golf courses are endless, we are also situated on the North East coastal trail which runs for 150 miles, with cliffs, coves beaches and bays making the location ideal when taking a walking, cycling, touring or golfing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing