We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cults Hotel(Aberdeen)
$87
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$58
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$63
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ship Inn(Stonehaven)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
25
52
34
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
52
34
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall departmentsfull marksshower cubiclefolk festivaltea and coffeefirst floornight stayno liftfish and chipsfull scottish breakfastgregorseadraughtleather
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 142 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The first stay was in early January 2012, I booked 3 rooms for my family visit to Stonehaven to see our Grand son and his family.
The hotel was redecorating and upgrading the rooms, although some of the rooms were newly completed, irrespective of decorating taking place the staff did their upmost to ensure we were suitably accommodated.
The 2nd stay involved my wife and I on Sunday night the 11th of March 2012, this time the redecoration program was completed, although there are a few finer points to be be done which the management are presently attending to, again the Staff were really nice and helped in every way,
The hotel is excellently situated for all events and visits, the rooms are adequately decorated and furnished although not too large.
The rooms at the rear command the finest views of the sea and coastline, the dining room compliments the name "Royal" and is Regally decorated.
We dined in the bar area for our evening meal, the choice menu is very good and priced accordingly.
We have stayed in many hotels including the more expensive type where breakfast is self service, it was a welcome change to sit relaxed, be served our meals and to be able to chat to the staff.
I met one of the partner owners and found him to be very friendly and he took time to chat with his customers.
We will definitely revisit.
Frank Wm Sutherland

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms at the rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pierre3841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Room 11 is the best view. Bit dated i.e. corridor carpets needed replaced, furniture was needing replaced and bed uncomfy. Door gripper was needing sorted - when you entered the bathroom, but management said they would look into this. Breakfast was great and staff were attentive. For £30 2 nights b and b, the charge was suitable. Would revisit, but only stay 2 nights, as the bed was hugely uncomfy. Marine Hotel at the Harbour is great for food.

Room Tip: Sea view, room 11. Rooms to the back are v quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyS646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We attended a wedding nearby and booked ourselves into this hotel due to the reviews and very good price.
The hotel is made of 2 parts, the newer rooms at the front and older part at the back. Even though our room furnishings were dated and in need to a refurb i.e. bed, carpets and cupboards the view was unbelievable, I had to attach pictures of the sunrise so you get an idea. Ask and see if you can get room 11!
The breakfast is served from 8.30am and is a full scottish breakfast, well made and tasty ingredients. A walk along the beach is really refreshing (mid-winter!) after the huge breakfast.
The only downside was the noise of people returning to their rooms at 3am from the pub downstairs, which could be helped by some sturdier doors and insulated carpeting.

Room Tip: Room 11 at the very back for the view and rooms at the front of the hotel for modern comfort .
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed in a twin room on 31th Dec for the fireball, because we didn't book any hotels or B&B in advance, we had no choice but to stay there, 100 pounds for the poor facilities, and loud noise from the nightclub downstairs till 3 am...would not recommend it at all.

The other night we stayed in a B&B, it was much much better, plz book a B&B in advance, if you want to go for a hogmanay holiday.

Room Tip: Not twin room definitely I stayed in Room 19, terrible...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kop_Titian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have stayed in many Hotels in the UK and can say that this is the best we have ever stayed in.
The staff are second to none so friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble for them, this made our stay even better.
Food excellent, good bar.
Can't wait to stay there again, would recommend this hotel to anyone without any hesitation.
Thankyou so much to staff for making our stay so wonderful.
WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: I'm not telling !!!! They might all go for the room we stayed in, although all rooms looked nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews