We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schonwald Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was unable to get a hotel in Aberdeen where I had early morning meetings so looked a little further afield and found this wonderful B&B. Unlike others I tried I was charged the full rate for single occupancy of a double room so didn't feel ripped off - the tariff represented excellent value for money. The room I was offered had character was spotlessly clean, excellent shower and good quality TV. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was delicious, and kept me well fed for most of the day. Christine was very welcoming – the perfect host.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night through work .The room was great and the breakfast was super .Very clean and tidy well worth a look .Christine and Ron are very welcoming and you feel like part of there family .The garden area out the front of the house looks lovely with all the bonnie flowers .

Room Tip: Room 3 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were originally supposed to stay somewhere else, but there was a mix up at the other place and we ended up at Schonwald. I was so glad because it was my favorite of all the B&B's we stayed at in the UK. We only stayed one night, but Christine was so friendly and the room was so nice, comfortable, and large that I wanted to stay longer. My favorite thing was the European bird guide on the windowsill. She really does think of all the little things! Also, the included wifi was fast enough that I could Facetime my family back in the states.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Christine welcomed us as we arrived at the Schonwald B&B as we were part of her familiy. Our room was, as the whole house, beautifully decoratet. The breakfast was delicious... try the healthy option, you will not regret it. The bathroom had a wonderful rain-shower and was very clean. We only missed a little refrigerator to cool the cider. Nevertheless we would recommend the Schönwald (german spelling) to everybody, (who is mobile).
I think, Christine loves what she is doing and you will feel that if you stay at her B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvitobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a superb bed and breakfast, Christine is so welcoming , full range of healthy and not so healthly option for breakfast served in a lovely family kitchen whilst watching the pheasant strut his stuff outside th patio doors. Quality of accomodation is second to non, with the added extra of a very comfy guest lounge. There is also a very good pub just up the lane with excellent food. Perfect !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer. In a peaceful location, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Lovely breakfast, I had the healthy option. Christine was very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After 3 weeks of B&Bs this has to be the best. The place was well designed, maintained and spotless. It was an oasis after the rat race of Aberdeen. The bedroom was roomy and tastefully decorated. The healthy breakfast option was the best and a welcome change. Christine is the perfect host even when I almost forgot to pay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
31.9 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
197 reviews
32.1 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
496 reviews
31.7 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stonehaven
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
159 reviews
31.9 mi away
Executive Beach Apartments
Executive Beach Apartments
#19 of 27 in Stonehaven
13 reviews
31.1 mi away
Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schonwald Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schonwald Bed & Breakfast

Address: Netherley, Stonehaven AB39 3QL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range: $40 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schonwald Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed & breakfast. We hope you find in us a home-from-home atmosphere. Situated five miles from Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire and only 12 miles from the City of Aberdeen. Whether it's business or pleasure, a warm welcome awaits you. We have two newly developed and decorated double rooms with en-suite facilities, both furnished to a very high standard. King size beds, flat screen digital TV in each room as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The rooms have beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and are maintained to a very high standard. We have a large comfortable sitting room exclusively for guest use. Breakfast is served in the dining room with patio doors to the garden overlooking the pond. We have a choice of cereals and fruit juices or a Traditional Scottish Breakfast with tea/coffee and a selection of jams, marmalade and toast. A continental breakfast can also be catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Schonwald Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing