We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine meal”

The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Historic inn (1771) on the edge of Stonehaven's picturesque harbour. Stylish glass-fronted restaurant (38 covers) with extensive and varied menu. Seafood a speciality and daily specials board. Meals also served in cosy bar which offers a good range of draught (including real Ales)and bottled beers and ciders. Wine available by the glass or from wine list. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wide selection of soft drinks and excellent freshly ground coffee.We also have an outside terrace overlooking the harbour where we serve meals (weather permitting).11 luxurious ensuite bedrooms (7 with harbour views).
Benalla
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine meal”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was recommended we try here if we can get a table. We can see why. The menu selection was varied even though my tastes are quite narrow when travelling. The prices were on the high end but overall with the service, general ambience and responses of people to their meals we would have to add our voice to the recommendation list. Just make sure you book in advance, not always easy to do when you are travelling around ad hoc. Also watch the parking there is not much nearby and walking from your hotel on a wet evening is not an attractive end to a pleasant night. The food was well cooked and generous in its serving, staff were courteous and obliging.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    297
    73
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but a little over-priced”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Lunch with my mum. Menu: plenty to please all tastes, View from window seat lovely, service average, pleasant but a little slow at times, Had the Steak and Guinness Pie, generous portion, good selection of veg. Mum had 2 starters, both fine and again generous portion of Salmon.

Overall a good enough resaurant but a little pricey for what is essentially pub food, e.g my pie was £12:50 and the risotto on the menu was £16:50. Service wasn't what I'd expect at those prices, I tried 3 times to attract a passing waitresses attention to get the bill but had to go the the counter myself in the end.

It is on street level so is easy access for those who don't want to navigate any stairs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Beltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant place for food and drink.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Popped in for a quick beer the other night. This is a lovely place right on the harbour. (Parking could be a problem in high season though). The menu looked good but we only had a beer. Looks popular so must be OK.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Evening meal at The Ship Inn”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Four of us had an evening meal here in the bar and it was very good indeed. Pleasant and helpful staff and nice surroundings. Between the four of us we has a curry, the fish and chips, and two specials - chicken supreme. Food was excellent and with drinks it cost us 75 pounds. We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onebrawlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had lunch here in the pub bit on a Saturday recently and although it was busy the staff where friendly and helpful. Had the fish and chips and the fish was delicious fresh and chunky just how fish should be and in a lovely breadcrumb. Great little place would go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn also viewed

 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing