We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Molly's Cafe Bar

Molly's Cafe Bar
Ranked #15 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Brechin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stumbled upon this cafe whilst visiting Aunty Betty's. Very nice view out to the sea from the cafe but unfortunately the cafe doesn't have much else going for it. The cafe was busy so we expected it was good. When entering we were pointed to where we could sit, unfortunately there was no menu in the window and when we looked at the menu we realised why! The prices, I felt, were very high for what you got. I ordered a baked potato with tuna and this was £8.00! The potato was very large but it was only a potato! It had tuna on it (no mayo) and a side salad. My hubby ordered a burger and chips £10.95. He asked for bacon on the burger, which was £1 extra and asked if it came with coleslaw, to which the waiters reply was "yes". The meal arrived and it was just a burger in a bun with bacon on it! No salad inside or relish, it was very bland and dry. There were chips and a small side salad but NO coleslaw. In all we paid £30 for the meals and drinks each. I feel this was excessive for a lunch time meal, I wouldn't of minded paying that if the food was good but that was not the case and if there had been a menu in the window we would not of gone in. A nice spot for a cafe but food and prices let it down. Will not be visiting again or recommending.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    69
    42
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I am not impressed”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went to Molly's cafe today and what a let down, took my Grandchildren for lunch to Molly's , the kids ordered pancake us I did, they got there and I had to wait nearly 20 minutes. Sorry but not good enough, if I did not have the Grand children there I would have walked. It will be a long time before I will got to Molly's again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Stopping Off Point”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We found this gem about 4 years ago when we were on our way to a long weekend in Aberdeen and were looking for a snack lunch. Molly's provides this (and lots more) in a lovely buzzy atmosphere, with very friendly staff. On our most recent visit, I enjoyed my usual soup and toastie while my wife had an enormous portion of pate. She'd actually also ordered a main course, but was allowed to cancel this when she saw the size of the starter !!! Excellent, homely food, great value for money. The only disappointment last Friday was the presence of a haar which meant we couldn't really see the sea ! We'll be back next time we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel_duthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHIEBASH, General Manager at Molly's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Sorry we could not improve the view for you. Thank you for your feedback, We're pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. it's always good to hear from our customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have visited this place before and it was good, but it has certainly gone down hill. When we entered on a Sunday afternoon we were immediately told they were only serving the, coffee and cakes. However the staff seemed more interested in serving their teenage friends than other customers. The general attitude pervaded from the manageress down. It looked as if she couldn't be bothered to be there, and we soon felt the same!

We asked if there were any gluten free cakes but were told that as the baker went there they didn't know. The place now has a slightly shabby feel, together with the poor atmosphere we won't be back !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunoon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHIEBASH, General Manager at Molly's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Mollys serves food from10 am until 330 daily then coffee, teas and homebaking from 330 until 5 pm when we resume food service for evening. This has been the case at Mollys for many years now. As the Manager, I was disappointed that you felt my staff were uninterested, and as I was not on duty that afternoon, I can assure you that the staff present are keen to help and friendly to all. I'm sure that their attitude to work doesn't change when I am not present, although peoples perceptions differ greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erith
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just been to this restaurant and what a find the food is amazing. We suggest give it a go you won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank big-aj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHIEBASH, General Manager at Molly's Cafe Bar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, so glad that you enjoyed your Smoked Haddock Risotto! Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly's Cafe Bar also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Molly's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing