We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The B&B is very nice.
The room are large and have every kind of optional.
The bath was a little bit small but the shower was new and large.

Ann & Frank are very kind and friendly, and available to give you any help you need.

The quality / price ratio is very good.

TO BE SUGGESTED IF YOU'LL PASS FOR STONEHAVEN

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terzoverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
94
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We spent 2 nights at Gleniffer on a short tour of the highlands. We stayed in the Northern Lights room which was very clean and comfortable. The house is very elegant, in a quiet location and furnished to a high standard. Anne and Frank were very welcoming hosts and went out of their way to arrange a personal visit to our old family home, plus making dinner reservations and asking if there was anything special we would like to have for breakfast on the second morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed at the Gleniffer in 2006 and had a such a pleasant experience that we decided to book there again. We were not disappointed. Anne and Frank are thoughtful and knowledgeable hosts, the room was comfy, the food excellent. Could not ask for better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knittermobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We're french visitors,travelling across Scotland for the first time. Our first night was at Gleniffer B&B and we were very impressed by the house (very nice) the cleanliness (i even wonder if my room was a brand new room, never used before) the breakfast (Franck is very good in the kitchen)
Anne has been a precious help for us to find a good restaurant and many useful informations about what to see during our trip.
We would like to thank again Franck and Anne for their welcome.
If we come back in Scotland, we could not sleep in an other place than there :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscille_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We rented 2 rooms at Glennifer to use as a base of exploration of the coast and highlands. It was a very good decision - Anne and frank could not have been more kind or helpful, giving us suggestions on what to see, and even calling ahead to be sure the places were open. The rooms were most comfortable, and the bath facilities were good. Breakfast was amazing! Good-sized portions of fruit, yogurt, toast, eggs/bacon/sausage cooked to order, and coffee or tea. Even butteries and haggis! In summary, a wonderful experience for our family - we would love to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphie_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed at Glennifer in April 2010 and have never had such a warm welcome from anywhere we have stayed before. I have read the review before and am astonished as to what the negative reviewer had to say!
The breakfast was fantastic and BOTH Frank and Anne were extremely pleasant, I am unsure what the person who commented before had experienced but when we stayed there, Frank and Anne were interested in where we were from, where we had visited and where we were going and showed genuine interest in all their guests... Spanish and Italian couple
Would fully revcommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhantomFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

After one full day of driving and multiple unsuccessful attempts to get a B&B in Stonehaven (many were not open yet), we arrived here, where the host proudly announced us that they are number one on trip advisor....I have to say that the accommodation was very clean, with lots of attention to details, breakfast was very good and Frank in the morning was very pleasant and attentive…What we didn’t like it was Anne’s attitude and moments of rudeness (see her putting us in our place when we dared not closing the room’s door which was not the outside door-what was the big deal??- we understand the heat issue but that could have been done without scoffing!!; her being patronizing and bordering racism towards my accent- this is how I interpret it anyway!!).Anne, you should be aware that your strong Scottish accent is very difficult to understand even for English-speaking persons like my wife …in my humble opinion you should adjust your attitude as you came across that way! That was not appropriate at all… Thank God she didn’t show up in the morning!! Anyway, otherwise a pleasant experience but the incident left us with a very bad taste in our mouth!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owners at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Hi,
We were very sad to read your comments in this Trip Advisor report.
The comments about Anne are very disappointing as she welcomes the guests warmly, giving advice in regard to where to eat, what to see and do, and answers any questions eagerly when asked, and normally spending a lot of time with them.
This winter was particularly cold and we try to keep the house as warm as possible for our guests by closing all the doors to keep the heat in. We can only apologise most sincerely if Anne’s actions caused any offence by closing the door. As to the allegation of racism we are dumbfounded as we are not racist in any way and welcome visitors from every corner of the world warmly.
We are a little confused about the comments regarding Anne’s accent and her implied rudeness, as she has met hundreds of foreign visitors who have come to Gleniffer over the years and your comments have upset Anne greatly.
Once more Anne and Frank apologise for any perceived offence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
0.7 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 28 in Stonehaven
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Stonehaven
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 28 in Stonehaven
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stonehaven
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 28 in Stonehaven
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Arduthie Road, Stonehaven AB39 2EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleniffer is a luxurious 4* B&B located 300 metres from the Railway Station and 500 metres from the Centre of Stonehaven. All rooms are centrally heated, have duvet quilts, colour TV with DVD/CD, hairdryers, radio alarms and tea and coffee making facilities. We also have WI-FI connectivity. For those requiring it, off-street parking should be available. For foreign guests Anne speaks French, German & Spanish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing