We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had high expectations given the reviews and were disappointed on a number of fronts. First I must say the hosts are friendly, the room very clean and the breakfasts good. If you only want to stay for a night then this place is OK.

When we did arrive we found that the lady owner was quite ill with a cold and yet had contact with her guests. When you are travelling the last thing you want is to be exposed to sickness so directly with someone coughing badly in front of you.

The access time of 5 pm is quite restrictive and given we arrived in the town at 3pm we found ourselves having to fill in the time until the owners arrived at the house. Our room was quite small, the bed and pillows at their use-by time. Our biggest problem was that, unlike most B and Bs there is no sitting room for guests to use so when you are in the house you are competing for the one chair in the small bedroom. If you are travelling with friends and want to sit somewhere together then it would not be possible.

The house is situated on a main road and it is quite a walk to the main town and not really accessible by walking to the harbour where most of the restaurants are located.

Compared to the many B and Bs we have stayed in this one fall short and hence the average score.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Where to start?

Obviously something annoyed you on your visit to our humble B&B.

We do set a check-in time, as we could be waiting in all day, and we do enjoy going out for a walk, or to visit a Castle or to get some tea and scones in the various places we recommend to our guests.

As we work seven days a week, and have no relief staff, we have to grab whatever time we can between breakfasts,checkouts, cleaning and .laundry. These 2-3 hours in the afternoon, are the very few times when we can get out.

Of course if someone needs to check-in early, coming from a train or to drop lots of luggage we happy do this, I f you had requested this, we could have done this for you.

Filling in time in Stonehaven is not difficult, with the Castle, the Harbour, the Baywalk and numerous cafes, and indeed most of our visitors find they struggle to have enough time to see all of the town. We were surprised that you did not enjoy the town as the weather was great and you new well in advance the check-in time, and could anytime prior to this date have asked to check-in early.

Regarding the bedroom, we take issue with you. The bed is less than two years old and looks and feels like a new bed, and likewise the bedding is in perfect condition.

We were surprised that your 'biggest problem' was the lack of a sitting room. Had you wanted a B&B with a sitting room, you should have booked one. Regarding sitting rooms, most B&Bs do not have them, although more guest houses have them. Like many, our B&B is part of our house, we do not advertise having a sitting room, and with the internet and websites, anyone can see exactly what we have to offer. The room is clearly shown on our website, so the size of the room should not have been a surprise. Unfortunately, with a house which is over 110 years old, extending the bedroom is not an option.

However, we are pleased to say that some of our best reviews from our valued guests have been those who stayed in this ensuite room.

Your remarks regarding our situation also surprised us. We have three eating places within 5 minutes walk, and indeed even the Harbour you refer to is only 15 minutes by foot from Gleniffer. We find most guests are very pleased to go for this gentle stroll after being in the car all day.
Although we are on a road, it is not a main road, and many comment how quiet and peaceful it is.

Regarding my wife's cold, I suppose it might have been much more hygienic to have closed our B&B and put a sign on the door for you and our other guests to find alternative accommodation that night. However, thankfully it was not terminal and my wife, you and all our other guests survived unscathed.

We have to confess that we are pleased that we have so many other valued guests who do not find our B&B so full of the 'deficiencies' which so blighted your visit. We take some small comfort from the many positive comments from our many, many visitors from every corner of the world.

We shall of course try harder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
94
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived to Anne and Frank tired in the evening in the dark and took a peaceful rest. Their delicious breakfast in the next morning gave us full of energy to attack and occupy Dunnottar Castle in Stonehaven (.... just after they helped us where to look for it:). Stonehaven is a beautiful small city, I feel petty we have not organized more than 1 day to explore it and its vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Arnold,
Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed Gleniffer B&B and Stonehaven so much. We try to offer a good breakfast selection so that everyone can find something to start a busy day.

Hopefully you might be back again sometime.

Anne & Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elche, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Frank and Anne are a lovely couple who offer you an excellent hospitality and advice you with good knowledge what you have to visit during your stay in Stonehaven and surroundings.
The rooms and bathroom are very clean and they make you feel like at your own home.
Furthermore their breakfasts are delicious.
I will come back there to see the puffins! :)
Ruben Garcia (Spain).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Ruben,

Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you as a guest, and remember you and your friends with great affection.

Our job is very easy when we have such charming guests.

We hope to see you again some time in the future. We shall arrange the Puffins!!

Anne & Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We only stayed one night in Stonehaven, but we enjoyed it really. The B&B is very clean and very cosy. The breakfast was fine. Frank gave us a couple of tips for restaurants, pubs and what to see on a wonderful sundown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay..

We are always pleased to give tips to our guests to help enhance their visit, and its nice to hear it is appreciated.

Anne & Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The service was unparalleled and nothing was too much of a problem for them. Breakfast was very tasty and in a well decorated room. Frank explained us where to go for dining and made us feel at home.

Thank you Frank and Ann
We hope to be back soon

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We have been very busy, and noticed we had not responded to your lovely review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.

Your comments make our B&B a real pleasure for us.

We, too, hope to see you again.

Anne & Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed overnight in our east Scotland trip, it is a beautiful place, clean, friendly and with all the amenities! We loved it, made us want to come back spend a week! The proprietor was very helpful, and breakfast was good as ordered. Great full scottish breakfast. Very convenient location, just a few minutes from the harbor.

Room Tip: Quiet and beautiful rooms all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrojas1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Sorry for the delay in responding.
The season has been very busy. We thank you for your comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed Gleniffer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Due to a change in plans, I had to find last minute accommodation, and Frank was able to verify quickly that he had a room available.

At the time that I made the reservation, he suggested that I would need dinner reservations at a nearby restaurant, and he sent me 4 different links to check out.
After looking through the info, I sent an e-mail with my choice, and within short time, received confirmation from Anne that a reservation had been made with a window view. How nice was that? (The restaurant proved to be fabulous, by the way.)

Anne also went out of her way to get the information regarding Sunday Mass at the local church for us, which was a great help to us as well.

We were greeted by Anne and Frank upon arrival. Anne went through all of the details with us, and showed us our room.

Our room was on the second floor, the Morning Sun room. There are no numbers on any of the doors, so we were certain to make a mental note of the location so that we did not inadvertently attempt to open the wrong door upon our late return.

We were able to park our car in the back of the driveway and walk into town for dinner. We had no trouble with the walk into or back from town.

The room had a lovely hostess tray, complete with chocolates and complimentary tea and coffee.

There was a trouser press (which we did not use) and a hairdryer.
The shower was hot (very nice).
Towels were fluffy. Washcloths were included. (always a BIG plus for me).
The room was cozy warm, quite the opposite of where we had stayed the night prior in a different town.

I must admit that the mattress was quite hard. I appreciate a firm mattress, but this one was a bit extreme.

Also, if you do request this room, please note that the doorknob to the bathroom is very close to the edge of the door, and I actually caught my hand, twice, while closing the door. Ouch!

I did not notice any road noise, but the room is not in the front of the house.

The wi-fi was quite sporadic. This might normally not be an issue for most people, but my husband was in Scotland on business and he had difficulty with the wi-fi going on and off while attempting to access the internet on his work computer. I myself gave up on even trying to check or write e-mails as I did not have the patience to wait to see if the wi-fi would reconnect. Perhaps the connection would be better downstairs, but it was definitely not solid in the room.

Breakfast was adequate. We tend to steer away from the full Scottish breakfast. I had the continental breakfast, and my husband had the porridge with toast. Both were fine.
Frank made the breakfast and was very attentive to our needs.

One thing of note is that they only accept cash for payment.

The overall experience was terrific, and I feel that Frank and Anne went out of their way to assure that we would be comfortable while visiting Stonehaven, even though we were only there for one night.
I would definitely recommend the Glennifer B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
0.7 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 28 in Stonehaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Arduthie Road, Stonehaven AB39 2EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleniffer is a luxurious 4* B&B located 300 metres from the Railway Station and 500 metres from the Centre of Stonehaven. All rooms are centrally heated, have duvet quilts, colour TV with DVD/CD, hairdryers, radio alarms and tea and coffee making facilities. We also have WI-FI connectivity. For those requiring it, off-street parking should be available. For foreign guests Anne speaks French, German & Spanish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing