We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make no mistake - This is one place you must stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make no mistake - This is one place you must stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The service was unparalleled and nothing was too much of a problem for them. Breakfast was very tasty and in a well decorated room. Frank explained us where to go for dining and made us feel at home.

Thank you Frank and Ann
We hope to be back soon

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We have been very busy, and noticed we had not responded to your lovely review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.

Your comments make our B&B a real pleasure for us.

We, too, hope to see you again.

Anne & Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant View
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed overnight in our east Scotland trip, it is a beautiful place, clean, friendly and with all the amenities! We loved it, made us want to come back spend a week! The proprietor was very helpful, and breakfast was good as ordered. Great full scottish breakfast. Very convenient location, just a few minutes from the harbor.

Room Tip: Quiet and beautiful rooms all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrojas1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Sorry for the delay in responding.
The season has been very busy. We thank you for your comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed Gleniffer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Due to a change in plans, I had to find last minute accommodation, and Frank was able to verify quickly that he had a room available.

At the time that I made the reservation, he suggested that I would need dinner reservations at a nearby restaurant, and he sent me 4 different links to check out.
After looking through the info, I sent an e-mail with my choice, and within short time, received confirmation from Anne that a reservation had been made with a window view. How nice was that? (The restaurant proved to be fabulous, by the way.)

Anne also went out of her way to get the information regarding Sunday Mass at the local church for us, which was a great help to us as well.

We were greeted by Anne and Frank upon arrival. Anne went through all of the details with us, and showed us our room.

Our room was on the second floor, the Morning Sun room. There are no numbers on any of the doors, so we were certain to make a mental note of the location so that we did not inadvertently attempt to open the wrong door upon our late return.

We were able to park our car in the back of the driveway and walk into town for dinner. We had no trouble with the walk into or back from town.

The room had a lovely hostess tray, complete with chocolates and complimentary tea and coffee.

There was a trouser press (which we did not use) and a hairdryer.
The shower was hot (very nice).
Towels were fluffy. Washcloths were included. (always a BIG plus for me).
The room was cozy warm, quite the opposite of where we had stayed the night prior in a different town.

I must admit that the mattress was quite hard. I appreciate a firm mattress, but this one was a bit extreme.

Also, if you do request this room, please note that the doorknob to the bathroom is very close to the edge of the door, and I actually caught my hand, twice, while closing the door. Ouch!

I did not notice any road noise, but the room is not in the front of the house.

The wi-fi was quite sporadic. This might normally not be an issue for most people, but my husband was in Scotland on business and he had difficulty with the wi-fi going on and off while attempting to access the internet on his work computer. I myself gave up on even trying to check or write e-mails as I did not have the patience to wait to see if the wi-fi would reconnect. Perhaps the connection would be better downstairs, but it was definitely not solid in the room.

Breakfast was adequate. We tend to steer away from the full Scottish breakfast. I had the continental breakfast, and my husband had the porridge with toast. Both were fine.
Frank made the breakfast and was very attentive to our needs.

One thing of note is that they only accept cash for payment.

The overall experience was terrific, and I feel that Frank and Anne went out of their way to assure that we would be comfortable while visiting Stonehaven, even though we were only there for one night.
I would definitely recommend the Glennifer B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hosts couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived at 7.30 in the morning off the sleeper train. The hosts very kindly took in our luggage, gave us tea and toast and arranged for our room to be ready early. The room was very clean, neat and well equipped. I did find the bed a little hard and could have done with an extra pillow but it was otherwise perfect. I suffer with irritable bowel and quite often find it hard to eat which can be embarrassing but once again the hosts for fine about uneaten breakfast and a request for just toast. A really friendly, warm, welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Glad we could help when the sleeper arrived at 7.30am.
Stonehaven doesnt quite wake up until 9 o'clock.
Sorry about the very rainy days of your visit, and hope that the next time you come Stonehaven, the sun will be shining. If you remind us we will give you a third pillow.
Hope to see you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good location (a 10 minute walk to the harbor), neat old house, lots of parking, excellent breakfast. The room was small, but quiet, clean and comfortable. The proprietor was very helpful. A very nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments, and the title of 'Perfect B&B'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place. The owners are lovely and treat customers as real guests. I could only recommend this place. The rooms are clean and comfy with exquisite accomodations.
And we had french baguette and croissant for breakfast !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!
We try not to serve only 'standard Scottish fare' and like to provide our big fruit selection and hot bahuettes and croissantes as an option.
We do enjoy our visitors and get pleasure in welcoming so many nationalities.
As we say in Scotland
'Haste ye back'!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lovely house and nice bedrooms ! Anne and Frank are the perfect hosts to make you feel at home at once. The house is located in a quiet street, but still very close to the city center and harbour of Stonehaven. Don't hesitate to choose this B&B when in Stonehaven !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania-Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annea, Owner at Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you Tania, we are very pleased you enjoyed our B&B. August is a very busy time of year, very hectic, but a time we enjoy with all our visitors from abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
0.7 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
474 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#17 of 27 in Stonehaven
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House
0.3 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Arduthie Road, Stonehaven AB39 2EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleniffer is a luxurious 4* B&B located 300 metres from the Railway Station and 500 metres from the Centre of Stonehaven. All rooms are centrally heated, have duvet quilts, colour TV with DVD/CD, hairdryers, radio alarms and tea and coffee making facilities. We also have WI-FI connectivity. For those requiring it, off-street parking should be available. For foreign guests Anne speaks French, German & Spanish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gleniffer Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing