We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms but bit noisy”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but bit noisy”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The view from our room was amazing - right out over the harbour. The room was small but very well appointed and well decorated, very comfortable bed - in fact, I loved the room! Sadly though, because the pub is so popular, there was a lot of noise from downstairs and even with the window shut I was not able to fall asleep until the pub had closed. (If you have mobility problems then I would not recommend it as there are several narrow staircases up to the rooms.) The food was good though and we would have really enjoyed our stay apart from the noise, but we did stay at the weekend, so perhaps a mid-week stay would be better for next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
48
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

What a fabulous place! My partner and I stayed in Judas which was a superb room, great view over the harbour and was well equipped with a Tassimo drinks machine, safe and very large LCD tv! The food is some of the best we've ever eaten- the seafood platter is to die for. The staff were very helpful and extremely hard working- made us tired just watching them. We had a superb time and we have already booked our return visit!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

the room (Lucifer) on the top floor, incredibly well-appointed, had everything and more. Breakfast (continental style - always a winner for me) and dinner absolutely incredible. Would definitely like to visit again - if only you could stop the youngsters screaming outside until 3 in the morning

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Read the small print, continental breakfast, small tray of fruit between guests, small tray of cheese, etc. Made to feel guilty for asking for a coffee refill. Stairs tricky for elderly guests room safe unusable, small rooms well decorated. Wi Fi not accessible in rooms. No draws in room, noisy with staff room next to bedrooms. Upside, nice view of harbour and free parking, Big LCD TV. If the its the view you want and a decent breakfast try the Ship Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oilandgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed only one night, but wished it could have been more.

The rooms are superb, very nicely decorated, furnished and finished. Our room was 'Lucifer' (they're all named after Belgian beers apparently) and was on the top floor.

There are some considered touches - the lighting is pleasant, the bed very comfortable and the bedding fresh, clean and cosy, there's a full-size room safe, a flash coffee maker, and a large flatscreen television.

The bathroom is clean, modern and smart, with a very deep full-size bath and separate walk-in shower. The loo runs on 'Saniflo' but worked fine. The soap and shower gel is provided as wall-fixed dispensers - but - they're filled with very good stuff, smelled lovely!

There's no phone in the room, but hopefully, like us, you've come to get away from it all - and to help with that, the view takes some beating: right on the quayside with the harbour and the head right out in front of you. If you do need to keep in touch, then wifi is free and there's a good 02 mobile signal.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and despite it being a busy 8.45 on a Saturday night, had no issues with the service or food. The Dunnottar Ale, their exclusive, was the best beer we had in Scotland. We enjoyed the food, and were quite full on just two courses! We can see why some find the pricing on the high side, but being used to London prices and service, we thought it was a good meal. The pub downstairs claims to offer 100 different (bottled) beers and 100 types of whisky.

Breakfast doesn't feature any cooked items, which is a little disappointing, but there was enough of a continental offering not to leave us hungry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Robert has really made an impressive job of this previoulsy down at heel pub. Yes, there is a pub downstairs AND a restaurant upstairs. I disagree that the prices are high - you get really good food at a good price here. The crab soup is WONDERFUL!

The rooms are FANTASTIC. We stayed in Delirium - full sized bath, separate shower, underfloor heating, Tassimo coffe machine, flat screen tv... but best of all, lie in that comfy bed with window open and fall asleep to the gentle sound of waves lapping into the harbour - the sea is just metres away from the Marine. Where else would you get that for £100?

If you want a more village feel - head to the Creel Inn in Catterline - I think he sells lobster caught in Catterline Bay - the Inn has stunning views out to the sea.

Do I sound like the owner? I'm not - I am ex Stonehavenite. I love the the Creel and the Marine is a welcome addition to the town which is in dire need of modern, boutique styled accommodation . well done Robert!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

My partner and I love this pub and the restaurant upstairs is excellent too. I'm astounded by the reviewer who gave The Marine a 1, they must have gone to a different pub! We are regular visitors and have never had a bad meal or poor service. Its a very busy pub and the food is always served in good time. Okay, it may take a bit longer to get served than your average motorway-restaurant who serve nothing but microwaved, pre-cooked yuck. But if its locally sourced, freshly prepared and freshly cooked food you want then the Marine is the place for you.

As for the comments about the use of the 'mate' word- you're kidding me right? The pub doesn't pretend to be anything other than it is -a pub that serves good, fresh food so, I suggest that if you want (and can afford silver-service) don't go to a pub. As for prices, okay, £12-ish may be more than you'd pay for your average pub-grub, but then the food is of a MUCH higher standard than average pub-grub.

We had our wedding meal upstairs in the restaurant and the staff couldn't have been more attentive or happier to serve us -what a great place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgewitchAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
0.0 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
476 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#16 of 27 in Stonehaven
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Twentyfourshorehead
Twentyfourshorehead
#7 of 27 in Stonehaven
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: 9-10 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing