We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ship Inn(Stonehaven)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$66
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$66
$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cults Hotel(Aberdeen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
47
34
14
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
34
14
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodreal pubsalmonfresh foodthe east coastbar restaurantpeasthird floorgreat barwell worth a visitsecond to nonefirst classyogurtluciferbeersskinkharbour
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 105 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Slept in the room called Lucifer, right up the top of the hotel, parking was on the sea front, got my bags in after driving up from near milton keynes and working in the area.
Food was Steamed Shetland mussels in white wine sauce for starter, never tried them and really great, came with some bread and butter, the butter was soft and not the usual frozen brick you get at most restaurants. Main course was Hot Smoked Salmon, looked nice but could have done with more potatoes, sweet was Panna Cotta. Washed down with a local real ale and a pint of hoegaarden. Cost was £32. Went back upstairs, had the power shower which was a great pressure, nice wide shower bit, could have done with a soap dispenser within the shower...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just had bar supper . Nice starters I had prawn skewers £6.95 very nice . My wife had mussels also very good. This is where is goes pear shaped . I had smoked haddock wrapped in bacon with creamy mash £12.95 full of bones awful . My wife had battered haddock £11.45 also full of bones with no veg or salad just a wedge of lemon . Complained to waiter he said he will speak to chef said he will take drinks of the bill 3 diet cokes big deal don't see why you should pay for terrible food . Will never be back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here with our sons (aged 12 and 13) on Sunday night (5th August). The room was modern with all the facilities we needed. It was a family room but the sofa bed really was too small for both boys to share...so they provided us with a travel bed. No fuss, just brought it in and made it up. The views over the harbour are spectacular and we found a spot right in front of the hotel to park...on a Sunday lunchtime. We ate lunch there which was really special. The chef is Australian and clearly loves his job. There wasn't a fault in any of the courses he produced. For starters, we chose smoked salmon, prawn and lobster terrine which was served with perfect oatcakes. Our son had the woodpigeon which was tender and tasty. Beautifully presented. For our main course, we had a venison steak - cooked to perfection, Twice cooked belly pork - not a scrap of fat on it and really yummy. Our other son chose seatrout which he described as 'amazing'. Again, perfectly cooked. We had panacotta for dessert which was also fantastic. Bread was brought with the starters and tapwater supplied in a jug without any fuss. The service was efficient and friendly and I only wish more restaurants were like this...and I live in Brighton (not exactly a backwater!) One teeny, tiny criticism. The side plates and bowls were a tad greasy and needed a bit of a wipe with a napkin before I felt like using them. They were clean but just needed a bit of a polish. We ate dinner in the bar. Same menu but they were happy to provide just a bowl of chips and simple bar nibbles for the children with no fuss. Breakfast was indeed served by a chap in a t-shirt but what a nice chap! He couldn't have been more helpful. The boys didn't want to get up for breakfast (8 til 9am) so he allowed us to fill two plates with rolls, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, whatever we wanted, and take it up to them. Everyone there was cheerful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would return in a heartbeat. Value for money? Not the cheapest place to stay or eat but worth every single penny.

Room Tip: Unless your children are really young, a family room could be rather cramped. Two rooms would be more comfortable if kids are old enough.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

we are familiar with Stonehaven, and we wanted a hotel at the harbour, when we arrived, not sure about where reciepion was, half way up the stars. our room right at the top of the hotel was fine, lovely view over the harbour as expected, rather dusty though and the shower was poor, no pressure, looks are not everything.. NOW BREAKFAST! did'nt know it was only continental, not only that, no waiter, just a man in casual shirt and trousers said help yourself, made a cup of tea and coffee for us, and the yougurts were on the table, warm, should have been in a bowl of ice, no mention of a cooked option, the hotel was not busy so more of an effort could have been made, would have been happy with the price if a cooked breakfast had been offered, and the shower was better, would we stay here again? don't think so unless these points are seen to

Room Tip: you do not get a cooked breakfast for this price, and the cold option is warm.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great location, great views...

Hotel is old looking on the outside in keeping with the area but super modern and nice in the rooms.

Fantastic for and the same goes for the service!

Will come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xraymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews