We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Was staying for one night at Ship Inn

Was staying overnight on business with my partner. Immaculate spacious room. and a great night sleeps. Stunning views from room looking on to harbour. Highly recommended. Thanks again to all the staff.

Room Tip: Luxury double room wirh lovely harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionCStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    163
    68
    14
    7
See reviews for
72
178
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a very pleasant 2 night stay... the rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and the breakfast in the morning was superb - all freshly cooked and very generous portions. Would go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location, appearance and presentation of the room, cant be faulted but thats where it started to fall apart. Staff did not come across as very welcoming, parking restricted to double parking on the street outside. Little or no sound insulation in the room, despite being a relatively new addition to the building, no idea how it passed even basic building requirements. Impossible to move in the room without being serenaded by squeaking floorboards, which were also clearly audible from neighbouring rooms. Impossible to sleep through early moring activity from neighbouring rooms due to lack of soundproofing, with the noise further enhanced by kitchen extractor kicking in at 0630. The spectacular setting of the restaurant where breakfast was served could not compensate for what was ultimately a disappointing breakfast with what tasted like reheated bacon. I can only assume staff have not actually tried staying in the property or they might not have such an aloof attitude. All appearance no substance, certainly not value for money in current condition.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you are hard of hearing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pleasant stay. Room small for a four poster bed though. Accommodation is not part of the pub / restaurant and it is a bit of a hassle having to go outside and around the back for access. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

stayed 2 nights recently whilst up on buisness in the aberdeen area , staff very pleasant and helpful food terrific and the location at the harbour beautiful . I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel excellent value for the money and i will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in the Ship Inn for one night, expecting to spend most of our time there but ended up else where. The staff were quite unfriendly and ignorant, one young guy in particular had an attitude problem. Food was ok not as great as made out to be. I woudnt stay here again as there seemed B and Bs along the harbour cheaper, much better facilities and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having been booked through work to be in Aberdeen I looked in vain for a decent affordable hotel.
Broadening my search I came across the Ship Inn. I have now stayed three times and will continue to visit. The staff are great, the food is delicious and the beers are excellent. I look forward to sitting outside in the summer.
The free wi-fi is a great bonus (I often have to pay £10-£15for wi-fi)

Room Tip: All rooms are great, you don't need a sea view in the winter, it'll be dark when you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdog1858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
10.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twentyfourshorehead
Twentyfourshorehead
#5 of 28 in Stonehaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Property: Ship Inn
Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing