We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best time at Ship Inn”
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best time at Ship Inn”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed two gifts at Ship Inn.

I had driven all day through pre gale weather and was happy to find Ship Inn conveniently located on the bay at Stonehaven. People were friendly, rooms nicely done- large comfy beds, modern bath, large windows, clean and very quiet.

My room overlooked the bay and I was thrilled to watch the storm and violent waves crash into the bay breakers from my room. I slept like a baby during the storm. The Ship's Inn staff are friendly and helpful. It was great to spend evenings in the pub.

Location so was great....not a big city, away from the madness but convenient. Would definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay....it's breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    163
    69
    14
    7
See reviews for
74
181
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I lived in Stonehaven for many years, then moved down south. The Ship Inn was always part of the history of the harbour although I had never stayed there, but on my return I decided to book a room. Wonderful view of the harbour (ask for a harbour view). Room was clean and fresh. Only drawback was layout of the bar...which hasn't changed in 40 years! It is like a ships galley and getting served when busy is a bit of a lottery. Having said that the beers are well kept and a great selection of ales and whiskies!
We dined in the restaurant at night. Food was pretty good, although I have eaten better prepared venison. Breakfast was such a huge choice. All in all worth every penny of my stay.

Room Tip: To make the most of your stay ask for a room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barticus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Still retains its pub character post the fantastic upgrade to all the rooms
the hotel overlooks Stonehaven Harbour and couldnt be better placed
Good choice of beer and a good atmosphere makes it a very pleasent stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatdaddydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the Ship Inn whilst working in the North East mainly to avoid the horrors of Aberdeen! Best decision in a long while - the Ship Inn is a haven and if you have a room with harbour views I defy you to get any work done in the evening. I took a glass of wine from the bar to my room and was mesmerised by harbour activity till a late, deep pink dusk.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good, staff were pleasant and helpful and the price represented value for money.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: harbour view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannyb138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It`s a beautiful view of the harbour that greets you in front of the Ship Inn. Stop at the Troupers bar and they will carry your bags up to your room with a view. Very clean,spacious room has a great bed and modern wash room were a great comfort and restful night after a long drive. Dinner and breakfast where both a great dining experience, service and conversation with our server and host. We left feeling we where leaving friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would disagree with the contributor who called the room pricey. In Aberdeen a room on considerably lower quality would cost you anything up to £60 a night dearer. The Ship Inn is situated just by the harbour, the rooms are spotless and to a high standard. Stayed twice in the last few weeks. On complaint during first staff was room was cold. No such problem the second time. The staff are friendly and the food in the restaurant is very good. Never did get round to` trying the king Prawn linguine. Would certainly staff here rather than the over priced and mediocre hotels in Aberdeen. Bar has a good selection of beers and a very good selection of malt whiskeys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Took a harbour view room for two nights and was blessed with good(ish) weather. Room and hotel are good but pricey compared with many other similar standard. However the location on the actual harbour which is quaint rather than working. Will be back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_McQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
10.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twentyfourshorehead
Twentyfourshorehead
#5 of 27 in Stonehaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Property: Ship Inn
Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing