We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub / restaurant with great accommodation”
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly pub / restaurant with great accommodation”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

When we arrived in Stonehaven, it was difficult to spot places with accommodation when driving thru. We parked the car in the town centre and went for a walk about the town. We ended up by the local harbour and spotted The Ship Inn really by chance. To our luck they had vacancies and we booked a lovely room with King size bed and a fantastic harbour view. The room had been refurbished two years ago and it felt really luxurious. We have visited GB on many occasions and this was in fact the nicest room with the best view we have ever experienced. On the evening of our arrival we enjoyed a lovely meal in The Ship Inn's restaurant. A very friendly staff provided great service and good food. The atmosphere was very relaxed. It started pouring down with rain outside, but it soon stopped and a perfect rainbow was displayed across the entire harbour. It lasted for over 10 minutes, so we got many photo opportunities both outside and from our room. The next day we enjoyed a lovely breakfast at The Ship Inn before continuing our trip up to Aberdeen. We had a lovely experience at The Ship Inn and we will definitely return on our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiseglade_sandnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    163
    69
    14
    7
See reviews for
74
180
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at the Ship Inn on vacation in May 2011 and it was a wonderful experience. We made the reservation on short notice and the weather cooperated enough to allow us a glass of wine outside before dining at the restaurant.

Our room overlooked the harbour and the sunrise view from our open window was breathtaking. A walk to Dunottar Castle after breakfast completed a memorable visit. The friendliness of both the staff and owner ensured a comfortable, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Staff friendly; chatty and helpful. Room was of a very high standard; both cleanliness and quality of furniture and fittings. Shower excellent; good water power and plenty of room!
Location overlooking the harbour; lovely views; popular and busy area. Could be a little noisy for a short time late at night in the harbour view rooms. Restaurant overlooking the harbour; great food and service. Has a few little gift shops in harbour area. Lovely 3 mile round coastal walk to Dunottar Castle. Also beautiful walks in Dunottar Wood on the outskirts of town. We loved the Inn and the area. Only one down side is that there is no Hotel car parking; although parking area across from Hotel if you could get in there.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvvies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We were so lucky to stay in this lovely little inn. We stayed in the family room overlooking the harbor. The room was perfect, the beds comfortable and the tub a treat! We had a beautiful evening walk on the beach and to the cliffs overlooking Dunatar Castle. We ended the visit with a hot shower and a pint in the pub. I hope we can come back one day!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I have stayed in Stonehaven on five previous occassions in the past three years, at local hotels and B&B's. But the Ship Inn has been the best accommodations yet! Charming, clean, friendly, and excellent food. Plus the wireless internet connection is FAST and FREE! Need I say more? BOOK IT!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcaseopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the Ship Inn after having some great food in their restaurant. Originally we were only going to stay for one night, but ended up staying two as it was so peacefull and a lovelly place to stay.

The price was a little high considering the room we stayed in was reasonably small, so not the very best value for money, but I guess they can charge a little more due to the location which is fabulous.

The bathroom was new and modern and it had all the things you need when travelling. did I mention the food was great!

Room Tip: Ask for room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bertstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I have always enjoyed staying at the Ship, down by the harbour in Stonehaven. the hospitality has always been very good. However, they have invested a lot in the rooms and I must say the accomodation is of a very high standard.

The restaurant food is excellent and the menu is extensive. Breakfast are very full and hearty.

Room Tip: Phone them up. Whoever answers is very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuarts1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
10.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twentyfourshorehead
Twentyfourshorehead
#5 of 27 in Stonehaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Property: Ship Inn
Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing