We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, friendly villa”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Las Galeras, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DakotaRed...
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly villa”
Reviewed December 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is fantastic. The rooms are quiet, super large and the beds truly comfortable. Everything is very clean. Everything works (including the wifi)! Everything is close by, including restaurants, beaches, bars, and country hikes.
But what makes this place super special is Mel, the manager of the place. He is fantastic, kind and generous. Super helpful, he goes out of his way to make you comfortable, relaxed and have fun.
I can't recommend this place (or Mel) enough. Also, we loved the town - a sleepy-ish fishing village with tourist amendities, great hikes and fantastic beaches. What is not to like? We are coming back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iago P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Las Galeras”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wonderful place to stay. Mel, the owner, is a very kind man. He offered us fresh fruit from the garden and really good advise about the places to eat, drink and visit around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Garden Villa and want to thank you for taking time for a review. Best regards, Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbpeck
Tallapoosa, Georgia
1 review
“Relax, restore, recharge your soul at Garden Villas Las Galeras”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We found the perfect time-out at Garden Villas. What a great location! When we stepped outside the front gate we had the choice of going right or left and taking a short stroll to one of two beautiful beaches. Owners Bill and Gina could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Our upstairs room was airy and inviting with a balcony over- looking the gardens. A great place for morning coffee and an evening cocktail. While we enjoyed the nearby local restaraunts, we cooked a few memorable meals with locally sourced ingredients from the produce truck which comes to town on Thursday and Saturday mornings. Basically we unplugged and restored our souls. We are leaving, but look forward to our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvrlybest
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Garden Villas. Mel was a dream--and makes great fish and chips. The apartment was spacious and clean. We loved having the porch.
Thanks for the tomatoes Mel, they were so good.
A really good beach was right down the road.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2017
Hi Beverly,
Thanks for choosing Garden Villa and thank you especially for taking time to review us. We hope to see you again one day.
Cheers, Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaydeebak...
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed February 10, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Comfortable is the one word that keeps coming to mind when I think of our recent two week stay at Garden Villa. The apartment was "as described" and comfortable. The location was a comfortable walking distance from the village centre and both Playa Grande and Playa Playita and most importantly, the property manager (Mel) made us feel comfortable and relaxed from the moment we arrived. He has a wealth of local information and while always ready to be of assistance, he never intruded on our privacy. The ability to pick fresh tomatoes, kale and bananas whenever we felt like preparing our own meals was an added bonus. For anyone wishing to bypass the "all-inclusive" option and get a feel for the real Dominican Republic, I would highly recommend considering a stay at Garden Villa.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasta1002
Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Mel, the resident host was a fountain of knowledge. Not only did he provide info about restaurants and activities but he helped with public transportation.
Visit Ruby's for a great dinner. We found that most restaurants provided a good to excellent meal and great service. Visit playa Colorado. You may want to hire a local guide. Ask the locals at playita for Johnnie. He is reliable and trustworthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion P
Nantes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is appart from all the massives tourists clubs. This is a peace of heaven. The garden is nice, the barbecue awesome, the unit was perfect as well and fully equipped. Thank you so much Mel for your help. Mel is such a great owner, he helped us organising tour , organising the way back by bus. He is not intrusive at all but he is here as soon as you need anything. The unit is clean and Mel even bought an extra bed for us as we were 3 ! This was a perfect stay and we regretted that we had to leave ☺
We would definitely recommend him to anyone going to samana !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing