We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Las Galeras, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rasta1002
Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Mel, the resident host was a fountain of knowledge. Not only did he provide info about restaurants and activities but he helped with public transportation.
Visit Ruby's for a great dinner. We found that most restaurants provided a good to excellent meal and great service. Visit playa Colorado. You may want to hire a local guide. Ask the locals at playita for Johnnie. He is reliable and trustworthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion P
Nantes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is appart from all the massives tourists clubs. This is a peace of heaven. The garden is nice, the barbecue awesome, the unit was perfect as well and fully equipped. Thank you so much Mel for your help. Mel is such a great owner, he helped us organising tour , organising the way back by bus. He is not intrusive at all but he is here as soon as you need anything. The unit is clean and Mel even bought an extra bed for us as we were 3 ! This was a perfect stay and we regretted that we had to leave ☺
We would definitely recommend him to anyone going to samana !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N and G
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Engagingly Magical!”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you, Mel! Mel and his beautiful property Garden Villa literally transformed our slightly bumpy initial intro to Las Galeras into a perfect and magical stay. We had reserved to stay at the Bungalows of Las Galeras (we actually would have booked at Mel's had we even seen it as an option, but we were traveling Christmas week and everything, including Mel's two currently available units, were fully booked). At the last minute, the Bungalows let us know they had overbooked and would not have room for us. We scrambled given a paucity of last-minute options, and reserved at a place that once we arrived was extremely uncomfortable with an unpleasant owner :( Through a series of beautiful Universal synchronicities (initiated by Diane, the awesome owner of the End of the Road Cafe), we were introduced to Mel, who had what he called an "emergency" apartment at Garden Villas. He said it was unfinished, and while it's true that the downstairs unit was not yet polished to the condition of the two upstairs units (which are even more fabulous), for us, it was literally perfect. We really really loved staying here. The units are open and airy, have a nice porch/balcony area overlooking a lush tropical garden with fruits and vegetables, are in a great location just off the main strip (which substantially reduced the December music transmission from the main strip), a perfect walking distance to Playita beach, and even come with (if you like!) the most sweet and well-behaved dog in the world. (We enjoyed Dani greatly, so she spent some time with us, but she is so well-behaved that she wouldn't bother you at all if you don't call her over). There is wifi, hot water, a fully equipped kitchen, and ceiling fan over the bed to keep the temperature nice during the evening. And Mel is just an awesome laid back guy. He is not at all intrusive, yet totally available for anything you need during your stay. We actually ended up getting engaged on the patio on Christmas morning, and we both honestly couldn't have asked for anything more magical than this place, the people, and all the days and events that surrounded it. We have beautiful forever memories, are eternally appreciative of Mel and recommend Garden Villa without hesitation. Thank you so much, Mel. May you always have lots of wonderful clients who appreciate you as we do :)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L
Biot, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alonsooj
Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: que esta bien dotada la habitación con todo lo básico necesario
Liked least: la calle de acceso, pero no fue problema
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiuna2016
Naples, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing