We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and awesome views”

EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Las Galeras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ONLY WITH RESERVATION !!! Restaurant opened from 6:00 p.m to 10:00 p.m from Thursday to Sunday included. WITH RESERVATION. CLOSED ON MONDAY, TUESDAY, WEDNESDAY. French food, Asian food, Panoramic view on Rincon's bay and Samana's Bay, Whales Mirador. By Car, Four wheels, Horse, Bike ... NOT RECOMMENDED WHEN IT'S RAINING!!! WE DON'T ACCEPT ANIMALS.
2 reviews
“Great food and awesome views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Several friends had recommended this restaurant for the food, the atmosphere, service and THE VIEW. We had steamed lion fish with a white wine sauce served with fantastic grilled potatoes. The good food, the friendly and gracious attention of Vanina, the 360 degree view and the company of our friends all added to a wonderful experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    35
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere is incredible. Food is delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you are staying in the Las Galeras area, you should absolutely make your way to the top of the Monte Azul to eat here. We had such a great evening here with our children (ages 9 & 7). The owners and staff are wonderful-- completely accommodating to our girls' fairly picky palates. My husband and I both had a special fish, recommended by the chef/ owner, Pierre. His preparation, which included shallots & ginger, was delicious. And the desserts are fantastic-- we had creme brulee, chocolate fondue, and Nutella crepes. The food is wonderful. But the atmosphere is unforgettable. The view is breathtaking and the restaurant and bar design maximizes it. We had a wonderful evening that we didn't want to end. Go early so you can enjoy the view before dark.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words are hard to describe it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I've been many places in this world;and have no problem spending money on fine restaurants. This place is almost indescribable.
Pierre and Vanina live closer to heaven,than a lot of people;and serve food that would be expected there. The atmosphere,views,quality of ingredients;and then there's the hospitality!
If you are actually the type to visit Las Galernas,and don't go there;you,my friend,are a fool!!
It's incredible!!

Gracias,mi amores,
Michael

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTK0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE BEST EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Please do yourself a favor treat yourself to the most relaxing place on earth . This place is amazing , the staff is great , the food is the best i ever had , and the views are to die for . dont forget when you go to Las Galeras Samana pay them a visit and you would never forget what heaven is like . love this little place of heaven

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luism_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Must Do Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Incredible experience....the food and drinks were fantastic and amazingly affordable. The views are incredible....the ride to the top of the mountain has you question what you're getting yourself into (steep incline)....then you arrive and are amazed at the view and the friendly greetings. This is a can't miss opportunity if you're in the area....I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina also viewed

Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing