We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Paridise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Paradise Samana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Paradise Samana
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand Paridise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were here March 17th for a week. It was beautiful-we were in building 6 which was great. The rooms were big & clean-nice T.V., lots of hot water & pressure-had no small towels the last 3 days though.Beautiful beach, 3 nice pools, lots of chairs,lots of bars. Food was plentiful,big bread & pastry table & fresh egg grill & fruit,many varities of meat & veggies also & freshly made juices, cannot see anyone going hungry. The speciality ones are alright but very slow. Barbecue was good but should be earlier. The place was CLEAN at ALL times & was being upgraded all the time. The staff was ALL helpful. It was always peaceful & plenty to do. We both had massages which were GREAT-He was very good.The minimarket had lots.It was an hour and a half from the airport-nice scenic drive in daylight. We flew canjet & the food should have been subs-not theirs.One thing really nice we got checked in on the bus could of went right to room-but got remote & safe keye. Porters were not around at check in. We booked through noli tours-the rep was not much help but We went to other ones. A few people were repeat customers which tells me something, I think We might be too. I would recommend this place if it stays kept up.

Room Tip: We were in # 6 which was nice & did not hear too many complaints about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewelcher2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    1,292
    513
    230
    157
See reviews for
1,136
1,190
190
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just got back from Grand Paradise had a great time the resort is very clean with a nice beach area.Called for a hot water problem in shower fixed within 10 mins.Only downfall for me were not serving coffee and waiting in line for food.Definitely understaffed but staff they do have are excellent .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

A resort were the people show you that they are here for you. Getting your room package and arm bands on the way to the resort saves so much confusion when arriving at the front desk, staff welcomes you and your porters take care of your luggage. The beach is clean and scenic,your chairs placed in the sand or up on the lawn just steps away, leaving your belongings clean,not full of sand.This resort is a definate for those who want comfort, value, cleaniness,and wonderful views. The assortment of rooms is a Two storey buildings, cabanas for three or apartment type buildings with multiple floors. The pools are warm clean and very well maintained. The snorkling is great right off the beach, the food is fresh with a great assortment for every pallet. To all the staff of this resort, Thank you, for your kindness and showing us your diamond , your hard work and dedication shows that you all care and your guests are the most important at every turn. We viewed the waterfall on horse back,Went 4 wheeling through the beautiful country side and stopped at an area were we paddled up a river were the fresh water falling from the mountains meets the salt water at the oceans edge, zip lining through the canopies of your amazing forests. Fanstastic time from beginning to end. Our thanks to Romano for all his help with set up of these trips through your country and to Noris Silverio for her dedication to this property in paradise. Big Thanks to our sunwing rep.Romano.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 483Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMST
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We just arrived from our trip to Samana. We had a bungalow which is much bigger space- there is 2 single beds upstairs, a queen bed downstairs and a sofa-bed downstairs too. Not too much privacy for the parents. bathrooms quite run down but functioned ok, sink faucets- will splash you if you open them quick, so watch out. We did not see any bags and mosquitoes. Food was OK but the same, same seafood stew in different degree of roughness, very very tough meat, so beware seniors!, you can have roast or fish fried for you. I did not like the business of the buffet - at times there was a line and between 7-9 in AM they run out of food, huge lines for pancakes and omelettes. The beach was nice for the kids- they would walk forever until it is deep. There is a constant shortage of beds (forgot proper english word, sorry)at the beach, prepare to hunt for it, The pools were clean, kids liked it.
We liked kayaks and there is a nice guy at sea station that teaches windsurfing *fee 30 USD a hr -one lesson and then you use the surf 1 hr a day.
!!! Important- take US cash with you, there is a huge difference with Canadian dollar- you can buy 4100 pesos per 100 USD and only 3200 with a 100 CAD.
Do NOT eat at their al-carte, the food was just awful, better have buffet. And the floor at the sea restaurant was slippery, my son fell 2 times, I told the waiter and he just ignored it all.
At the end of your stay you will get a card invitation to a restaurant, that you can go, it will be a BBq at the beach, pretty good food, and entertainment at the beach was Ok too.
There is super friendly staff and otherwise average resort, no major disappointments.
Also - they are crazy about the beach towels, charge you 15 USD if you lost one and demand them be presented at checkout.

Room Tip: request bungalow, only 50 dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalya_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Everything is beautiful, i fell in love with the place the first day. most of all the staff are so friendly. thank you pinky and viannely for taking care of my small one so i can enjoy the beach, youseff, eric, railyn, yonathan, , you guys are amazing performers. elvido from the buffet always make sure we have our drinks. they make sure you are entertained whole day and night. the food is amazing specially their dominican buffet.they have wide selection you can choose from and you will never get hungry. i would go back in a heartbeat to this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHERENE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Worth the time & money to escape from the Canadian winter for a week. Nolitours booked us with a well worth it Room with SeaView. Though the sea is quite a distance away from the grounds and the trees, it is the quiet pleasant side of the hotel complex away from the noisy public pool and bar areas. Rooms are clean and well serviced by the chambermaids who are always smiling and welcoming. The fixtures and furnishing are tired and need updating but not seedy. The pools are small for a hotel this size and really only suitable for kids and small number of adults. The beach is wide and pleasant though not spectacular as it is quite narrow but the grass laid grounds are spacious and pleasant. Nearby village and town is not v interesting.
The best under advertised and cheap excursion for all ages is Mr. Kai's snorkelling expedition from the beach. The wonderfully laid back Mr. Kai has nurtured a cordoned off area in the bay with living corals and he takes you out an guide you through snorkelling and big fish gather around him and us when he feeds them like feeding ducks in a garden park. Huge fun and safe and only charges $15 for an hour's safe adventure right on the beach.
Biggest problem we find is the food in the hotel. Low expectations but they are just always over cooked and hardly any variety during the whole week. The worst ones are the a la carte restaurants ,we noticed a lot of guests just did not bother to go again and went back to the boring old buffet restaurants. Drinks are plenty and service mostly friendly.
Best staff recommendation is Emilio Jose Fernanadez Rodriguez who is the concierge who is great with clear instructions, pleasant manner and calmness confronting a whole wildebeest crowd of tourists at the desk ! No credit for the Nolitour rep Diane who was not efficient and has a diffident manner. e.g. Having booked the whale tour upon our arrival, then four days later , five of us standing on the pavement at 745am in the morning for half an hour before a hotel rep came to tell us that it has been cancelled due to lack of numbers and said the rep could not reach us since last night !! Really ?! She never told us that a replacement tour the next day does not take credit cards either so some of us were really stuck.
Altogether a pleasant break, but don't hold high expectations.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are pleasant and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauchaklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The resort, the beaches, the palm trees, everything is beautiful, but what makes this place so amazing is the friendly staff. The people at the reception, at the bar, and the cleaning staff, everyone there is friendly and kind. In the evening there was always entertainment. All of the performers, Eric, Emanuel, Margarita, Railyn, Jonathan, I wish I could remember all their names, are really talented and they always put up a great show. They made sure that everyone is having fun. During the day they also organized games, such as beach volleyball and mini golf. I really enjoyed the aerobics and the step class conducted by Railyn. By the time the week was over, I was so in love with this place, that I just wanted to stay there forever.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.8 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
25.7 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
10.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
9.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#3 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Property: Grand Paradise Samana
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Reservation Counter so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing