We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Paradise Samana
Nearby Hotels
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas(Santa Barbara de Samana)(Great Value!)
$62
$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cotubanama Samana(Santa Barbara de Samana)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nuevo Amanecer(Santa Barbara de Samana)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel el Marinique(Las Galeras)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,986)
Filter reviews
3,986 results
Traveler rating
1,503
1,468
579
255
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,503
1,468
579
255
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand paradiseanimation teammain buffetsports bara la carte restaurantsmikiki johnsonother resortspalm treesrecommend this resortsamana airportfishmain poolping pongwater aerobicsselect clubgreat vacationbeach restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,210 - 1,215 of 3,986 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is NOT a 4 star resort but is a nice place to just kick back and enjoy a relaxing vacation. The grounds are quite picturesque however, the beach has a lot of seaweed and is quite eroded in many places. For the most part the staff is friendly and efficient. The maid service is somewhat unreliable however, towels removed and not replaced, bathroom not cleaned in 7 days, soap not replaced, etc. The food is pretty good although the buffet lacks variety, different themes each day but pretty much the same food every day. If you plan on visiting this resort make sure your carrier flies into the Samana airport which is only a 90 minute drive away. If you fly into Puerto Plata be ready for a minimum 4 hour drive. Beware of the excursions some of them are quite treacherous, particularly the horse ride to the falls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rchrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Travelled Feb 26/13 to Mar 5/13 as a family.

The resort itself is dated and in need of much refurbishment. The rooms are very old and our toilet backed up the second day. The maintenance personnell do not speak English at all. Tips to bartenders do not matter if you are a young girl as all they want to do is to 'bed' you. The disco fills up on Sunday when the locals leave. The alcohol is generic but they do make the drinks strong.

The beach is full of seaweed. I would reccomend if you like to snorkel to go with the natural Acquarium on the beach for 15$ you get almost 2 hours. We saw tons of fish and other sea creatures.

Overall, I believe the brand Amhsa Marina who manages the Grand Paradise brand needs to retire as it is the same thing no matter if you go to Samana or Puerto Plata.

A tip for those travelling with teens and young people, you will not go off the resort to go clubbing nor will the animation team take you off the resort at night. Your only entertainment past the night time show which ends at 10:30 pm is to get drunk with your new found friends by the beach bar.

Room Tip: Block 1000 is close to buffet and far away from disco.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xbarbiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff and the animation make the hotel. In particular, Leocalina Trinidad at the buffet restaurant, and the sweet girl at the kids club were just amazing...the cleaning staff was also very kind. The hotel is not a 4 star. The beach is eroding. Sad to see. The a la carte restaurants are not worth it. The seafood is not fresh and you are better off sticking to the buffet. All in all, the weather was great, the vacation was pleasant, and we enjoyed our stay. The shows at night are hillarious! Great job animators! The kids had a blast. Avoid the drive from Puerto Plata if you can. If you find a great price, then it is worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms. Buildings 5 to 7. 2nd floors have better working toilets.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DayTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thank-you to the all the staff at Grand Paradise Samana for a wonderful vacation over March break. This resort may not be a 5 star resort but has everything you would expect and more at an all inclusive resort. We travelled with kids age 7 and 9 they loved the kids club, mini disco and games room.The main buffet was always hot,fresh and tasty. Like any buffet at any resort I've travelled after day 4 or 5 it gets a little repetitive. The beach buffet could use a little improvement, dishes were not kept hot but served fries at lunch time. The beach was not as nice as ones in Punta Cana or Cuba little beach front and lots of plant life in the water. From the front desk staff to the bar staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful. The pools were clean and chairs plentiful. The resort was close to capacity when we were there but you would not know it this resort is small, the perfect size for a little R&R. The rooms were adequate, linens could use updating and not being allowed to flush toilet paper bothered our 9 year old. We were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the previous reviews. Over all a great vacation and a great resort price vs value.

Room Tip: We were in a building on the third floor close to the disco, we had no problem with noise at night.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bou2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for a wonderful holiday at the Grand Paradise Samana 28.2.-11.3.2013! I was here last year before and had to return here! Was a beautiful moment and a lot of wonderful experiences! Beautiful place! Very friendly and welcoming staff! A lot of dancing! Everything was perfect! I'd go back now!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michaela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews