We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream”
Review of Villa Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Las Galeras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Arriving to Las Galleras, i thought that i am going to be bored to death, but this fantastic hotel, great stuff, wonderful cocktails, relaxing pool and the laid back village bring you into a very relax mood. The gardens were great, the guests were nice and relax and the beaches all around are among the best we saw. It is true that they publish that they have bikes, which are a joke and yoga classes which are organize for groups, but the breakfast is tasty, and the rocking chairs in the balcony leave you with one choice to stair at the beach and smile (especially with pina colada)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaniBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Villa Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 189 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely the most stunning hotel I have ever stayed in: the endless ocean view, the generous and thoughtfully decorated rooms, the expansive private decks with hammocks or loungers, the beautifully cultivated garden, the vaulted European architecture of the main "lobby" spilling out onto the terra cotta patio. Every artistic, refined detail of VS is a testament to the care taken by the management here.

Service was excellent with crisp white towels and linens generously replenished, fresh-cut flowers adorning every surface, delicious food and drink readily available. The hotel was absolutely sparkling-CLEAN and well-maintained. I'll concede that the staff is not overly "friendly" (but always pleasant!) but I'm not sure that should really bother anyone, assuming you bring your own friends/ family on vacation with you.

Other thoughts:

-Men: if you need to light (or reignite) the spark of romance, this is the place to do it!! Your woman will absolutely swoon when she sees/ experiences this place.

-We actually preferred the lawn to the beach. The ocean is totally swimmable right in front of VS -- just down a couple stairs. You don't have to worry about getting sand in every crack and crevice and it's almost completely private. Besides, big white-sand beaches are a short walk/ boat ride away if you want to change it up.

-This is an EXCELLENT value for the money -- this place would easily cost $400-500/ night in Europe or US.

-The location is excellent. 5 minute walk into "downtown" Cabarete and yet totally remote and serene. 10 minute walk to Playita beach.

-Lastly, if you want a party scene with loud music and crazy-fun or the latest big-screen TV with a million channels or a high-tech hot tub with jets, this place is definitely NOT for you. Stay away. If you loved "A Room with a View" then you will love this place!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure you can really go wrong, but we had Room #1 and loved it. Huge deck with hammock a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hopskipandajump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Villas Serena has wonderful architecture and landscape gardening. The whole setting is so nice sometimes you would want to stay and relax, looking at the sea and the hummingbirds flying around the flowers there, and not bother go to all the wonderful beaches around. Of course you should because there are many really exceptional to which you can go usually better by boat. The food in the beautiful dining room is good and the management and staff very professional and willing to help in everyway possible. I have been thre more than once and will do so again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a terrace at the ground floor I prefer, so as to sit and watch the garden and sea fro...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjtarqad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed four night in Villa Serena with our two daughters and shared two connecting rooms. The rooms were very large with decent, although not luxurious bathrooms and big balconies. The beach is not swimmable, but it's fun to play in the waves as well as jump off the dock. The breakfast is limited and pretty small and the restaurant staff does not speak any English. The reception staff is very friendly and willing to accommodate all your needs. I wish the internet was actually working in the rooms. There was almost no connectivity except right in front of the main desk. Nice grassy area with beach loungers and small, but very clean pool. We had a great stay and would love to be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankakalpazanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent the first week of our honeymoon there and loved it! We had room 17 and highly recommend that suite in particular. The hotel was quiet, very well taken care of, a nice tranquil getaway. The service was EXCELLENT and breakfast was great every morning. It was a great value at only $150 USD per night during peak season and compared to other beachfront hotels, it was great. You feel removed from the rest of the world here and get an excellent vacation.
A word of advice: brush up on your Spanish if you're rusty; it is super helpful, and don't take out the kayak at low tide. There is a lot of sharp rock/coral on the back of the island off the beach and we got caught up in it. Not a bad reflection on the property, just be wise :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A marvellous place to stay, really nice rooms, fantastic views, immaculate gardens and a nice pool! Really good breakfast as well (great service!), but at USD 140 PLUS tax per night, it is also the most expensive place in Las Galeras, by a long stretch...so, in terms of value for money, you are likely to find a somewhat better deal elsewhere. But the place itself is great, and very, very romantic -- a picture-perfect honeymoon place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kreuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just got back from Villa Serena. It's in a quaint town of Las Galeras, Samana. From the moment we step into the hotel, overlooking a beautiful island, we felt the tranquaility they offered. The staff, our beautiful room and furnishings were unsurpassed. The restaraunt served an amazing breakfast and our waitress was very attentive. Highly recommend Villa Serena!

Room Tip: We were in the President Suite. I asked Fernandez or Obama?
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
24.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
455 reviews
24.0 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
146 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
563 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Serena Hotel

Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range: $119 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Serena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Serena Hotel Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing