We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B superb value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Azul
Ranked #7 of 20 Las Galeras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great B&B superb value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Also stayed in 2010 and had a wonderful time. Room was lovely, stayed with my girlfriend and privacy not a problem, Esther & Piere helped with trips - easy and incredible, a horseback ride to the the waterfalls, beaches (Playa Rincon) were amazing, fresh fish every day, keep in mind it's Quiet here, not a big tourist spot, a bit hard to get to, but worth it !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimteaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm very glad we opted to stay at Sol Azul. What was supposed to be 1 day turned to 3, as we couldn't bring ourselves to leave.

The hosts were wonderful and gave us a lot of advice on what to do in the area. The bungalows were specious and comfortable, with a nice pool and lots of places to relax outside. Sol Azul is also located in a perfect spot - one block away from the beach and the "main drag" of Las Galeras, but also on the road that leads you up into the mountains and to places like El Cabito or Karin's horseback tours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Solazur immensely. The bungalows are on impeccably manicured grounds with tropical fruit and flowers growing all around them. Esther and Pierre are friendly folks that take great pride in their place as the live on site. The rooms are un-conditioned bungalows. This was not an issue in October when we stayed there as the temperature was quite comfortable. Mosquitos are viscous in the DR, so we prepared by bringing repellent wipes. Additionally the Esther provides mosquito netting and mosquito coils. Together, we had no issue with mosquitos. We were the only guests during our stay so I can't comment on the noise level as other guests have done. We highly recommend Solazur.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this property for three nights in March. The hosts and location were lovely, the property is within very easy walking distance of the "downtown" beach. Breakfast each day was nice and we really enjoyed our room. The pool looked nice but we never found the time to take a swim.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoshibest08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent 4 days in Las Galeras, and this was by far my favorite spot. SolAzul has impeccable grounds with swinging bed-chairs under thatched roofs. The location is excellent as you can walk to the center of town in about one minute. Esther has great advice to help you plan the day's adventures. She helped arrange a boat trip for us, and she has an abundance of resources on the area. She also makes the best banana jam I have ever tasted. So much more wonderful than an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Family of 5, kids ages 8, 14 & 16 on a 10 day long trip to Dominican Republic from long island New York, we spent 1/2 of the time in Samana / Las Galeras and the 2 nd half in Punta Cana,
A. B&B like this place is by far a better choice to the all inclusive huge places that charges hundreds of dollars per night and stuff you with low quality food all day, and you get to get out and explore the area, see amazing places, talk to the locals and eat local food - in many cases fresh tasty and healthy.
B. Esther and Pierre are great hosts in their lovely place, walking distance to everything but than beautiful rustic cabins , amazing grounds and a pool for the kids.
C. Playa rincon is the reason we went to Samana, discovered it few years ago when on a cruise - we speak spanish so asked the locals for the best looking beach in the area, 25 minutes drive on a dirt road or 5 minutes on a boat taxi from Las Galeras beach - one of the best looking beach in the carribeans, and we have been to almost every island other than Cuba over the years .......
D. Should have skipped Punta Cana, friends we traveled with never been there and wanted to see ...... They agreed, nothing to compair, crowded, dirty, expensive.........

Room Tip: Face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ror Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We spent 4 nights here and Esther and Pierre, the owners, were wonderful host...very welcoming and helpful with our questions about sites, beaches, restaurants, etc., to visit around Las Galeras. The bungalows are very charming and clean, though they are a bit close to each of the neighboring bungalows, so various noise can occasionally be a problem. But we would still highly recommend this place and would love to return again. The room rate includes breakfast, and it was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zengirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Galeras hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Marinique
Hotel el Marinique
#4 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa la Plantacion
Villa la Plantacion
#10 of 20 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isleta Apartment Hotel
La Isleta Apartment Hotel
#2 of 20 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Azul

Property: Sol Azul
Address: Calle Principale, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Las Galeras
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sol Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sol Azul Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing