We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautifully located restaurant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cabito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cabito
Save
You added El Cabito to your Saves list
La Caleta, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most beautifully located restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you’re in Las Galeras you must visit El Cabito!! Located on a cliff it’s the most beautifully located restaurant and the food is excellent. If your lucky you may even see people jump from the cliff....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoltan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went to El Cabito for a short 3 day honeymoon and it was simply amazing, talk about romantic. First of all the view from the bed was insane, I could literally wake up and see the ocean from bed, a billion dollar view, this is probably what stands out the most to me from this place. But coming in at a close second is the amazing food, the only thing I can say is that I dream of the food here, I mean even the simple breakfast was somehow delicious. It's the kind of food that you never forget and always want more of.

I loved the creative decoration of this place, a mix of rustic, modern, art and literature (there were some great pieces of reading material in my room).

I love the fact that it is very, very small and hard to get to (I'm kind of an exclusive type of person). The price definitely too cheap for what you get. The service is also excellent. Great, attentive, fun hosts with a great variety of good music at the bar/restaurant.

I will be going back to this place, I suspect a couple of times a year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyenkaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Long dirt road to get there sets the tone right away. The locals said don't try to walk it, but it's not that bad to walk there from town. Although, El Cabito has no beach we did lots of hikes on mysterious jungle paths to secluded beaches that appeared to be from a pirate movie. Beautiful views across the open ocean from the bar/restaurant deck far above the waves crashing into the rocks. I would recommend making reservations if you want a table. We saw plenty of unprepared people turned away because it's a small place.
After 4 days we walked back to town where we saw a wonderful contrast in the experience that the other tourists in the Las Galeras area were having in their all inclusive resort stay.
A few photos here: http://www.fretwater.net/2012/03/dr.html

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeykreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenaa, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

El Cabito is a must if you visit Las Galeras, the view and atmosphere are extraordinarily and the food is also good, big portions and well done. All in all a nice experience. You must have a car / taxi for going there as it is quit far from the town and they charge 150 RD per person going there and back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

El Cabito was one of the highlights of an altogether amazing trip. No need to be wordy: the food was delicious, the drinks were delightful, strong and cheap, the view was unbelievable and the owners were a pleasure to speak with. Give yourself at least a few hours here: eat, drink, play some checkers and take in the amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Where to start?? El Cabito is a phenomenal unplugged getaway. The setting is pristine and stunning. The accomodations are made to complement the environment, not to shelter you from it. If you want max pampering and creature comforts, this is not your kind of place. There's no TV, no A/C but the breeze off the ocean keeps you cool - which all make for a very relaxing stay. My wife and I would start off our day by heading to the Restaurant that is right on the cliff, we would read our books there for a few hours and had breakfast when we were ready. They have a hamock there also if you really want to relax and listen to the ocean hit the cliff side. The one morning we even saw whales in the distance.

The staff vibe is "laid back professional". Helpful, courteous, and friendly, they deliver top-notch service with a genuine smile. From the check in, to the bar and restaurant, I could not offer a single point of improvement. This is the Dominican where you get away to relax and not rush. If you have to wait a few extra minutes for something big deal you could be back at home working, enjoy the moment and the the views from El Cabito.

Excellent food, all made from scratch. The breakfast is to die for and dinner menu is very reasonable and tasty. Be sure to call ahead and reserve if you want to stay for supper as they can get very busy. They also have a great variety of drinks to choose from and are all made in a blender, not a frozen drink machine.

We stayed in the Cabana, it is very comfortable and has a upper deck you can sit on and see the ocean. The bed was comfortable and the place was clean. Again this is not a five star but for the price and views you cant go wrong. This is a place to stay if you want to get away from everything and recharge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went there for a romantic dinner and to watch sunrise. We were so bored from the all inclusive resort and this was just amazing experience! Location of this restaurant is very special - on a cliff above the ocean! The atmosphere is really breath taking, I loved the views, music, restaurant owners, everything! The food is a bit expensive but is worth it. I had very a fresh prawns with coco sauce and a lot of tasty pina coladas and red wine. Do not expect fancy gastronomy but just fresh, tasty and normal cousine. I would love to come back one day, it is the most romantic place I have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luciegelna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
1.8 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
26.6 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Plaza Lusitania
Plaza Lusitania
#3 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.0 of 5 stars 3,048 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Isleta Apartment Hotel
La Isleta Apartment Hotel
#1 of 17 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
11.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cabito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cabito

Property: El Cabito
Address: La Caleta, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Las Galeras
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cabito is an eco-friendly business, perched on the cliffs of Cabo Cabron, overlooking the spectacular Rincon Bay. It is a place where nature speaks for itself, and where one can feel a natural radiation of energy. Our vision for El Cabito is to create a place of tranquility and serenity, where people can unwind from a hectic lifestyle and connect with nature. Our strategically located restaurant and accommodations contribute to this unique experience. We have designed a number of flexible accommodation options to meet everyone's budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cabito Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing