We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Cabito is a "must"”
Review of El Cabito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cabito
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“El Cabito is a "must"”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

El Cabito is a must if you visit Las Galeras, the view and atmosphere are extraordinarily and the food is also good, big portions and well done. All in all a nice experience. You must have a car / taxi for going there as it is quit far from the town and they charge 150 RD per person going there and back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

El Cabito was one of the highlights of an altogether amazing trip. No need to be wordy: the food was delicious, the drinks were delightful, strong and cheap, the view was unbelievable and the owners were a pleasure to speak with. Give yourself at least a few hours here: eat, drink, play some checkers and take in the amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Where to start?? El Cabito is a phenomenal unplugged getaway. The setting is pristine and stunning. The accomodations are made to complement the environment, not to shelter you from it. If you want max pampering and creature comforts, this is not your kind of place. There's no TV, no A/C but the breeze off the ocean keeps you cool - which all make for a very relaxing stay. My wife and I would start off our day by heading to the Restaurant that is right on the cliff, we would read our books there for a few hours and had breakfast when we were ready. They have a hamock there also if you really want to relax and listen to the ocean hit the cliff side. The one morning we even saw whales in the distance.

The staff vibe is "laid back professional". Helpful, courteous, and friendly, they deliver top-notch service with a genuine smile. From the check in, to the bar and restaurant, I could not offer a single point of improvement. This is the Dominican where you get away to relax and not rush. If you have to wait a few extra minutes for something big deal you could be back at home working, enjoy the moment and the the views from El Cabito.

Excellent food, all made from scratch. The breakfast is to die for and dinner menu is very reasonable and tasty. Be sure to call ahead and reserve if you want to stay for supper as they can get very busy. They also have a great variety of drinks to choose from and are all made in a blender, not a frozen drink machine.

We stayed in the Cabana, it is very comfortable and has a upper deck you can sit on and see the ocean. The bed was comfortable and the place was clean. Again this is not a five star but for the price and views you cant go wrong. This is a place to stay if you want to get away from everything and recharge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went there for a romantic dinner and to watch sunrise. We were so bored from the all inclusive resort and this was just amazing experience! Location of this restaurant is very special - on a cliff above the ocean! The atmosphere is really breath taking, I loved the views, music, restaurant owners, everything! The food is a bit expensive but is worth it. I had very a fresh prawns with coco sauce and a lot of tasty pina coladas and red wine. Do not expect fancy gastronomy but just fresh, tasty and normal cousine. I would love to come back one day, it is the most romantic place I have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciegelna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

El Cabito is a little piece of heaven right here on earth! The location is idyllic, perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The views are simply breathtaking! We even saw humpback whales playing while we were there. We came for a sunset dinner and it was truly magnificent. The food was fresh and delicious and the service was accommodating and very friendly. John, the owner and Lela, the manager were especially lovely. We spent 2 nights in the hammocks which were, surprisingly comfortable and very affordable. Our 5 year old daughter had a blast! It's a little far from town without a car but if you're not traveling with children, it's totally doable. We hiked to Playa Madama, which is a stunning beach nearby but a tough hike with a little one. My husband ended up carrying my daughter a good deal of the way. (Bring food and water, there are no provisions at the beach.) We had a fantastic time and I HIGHLY recommend El Cabito both for dinner and as a place to stay.

Room Tip: The hammocks are cheap and cheerful and SUPRISINGLY comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talienyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just returned from a week in the DR, and landed at El Cabito twice... it was a highlight.
Food was amazing, but the atmosphere is what really made it become one of our favorite spots. We didn't stay here, but after hiking all day, we landed here for some cold beer, and made reservations for dinner for the following night. There are only a few tables, so it's low key.
Can't wait to go again...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trieuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margreid
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a really nice place, beautiful location, great food, and very gentle and cool owners. The center of Las Galeras is a 35/40 minutes walk (a nice walk) away. The view is spectacular from the restaurant. I've stayed in the cabana. It's a really nice place to stay there, open, without windows in the upper floor, it's nice to sit there and chill. El cabito is neer the jungle, so frogs and spiders can very possibly pass a night in the cabana, but there is nothing you should be afraid of. In the night you are proceted also by a moskito net.

El cabito gets its energy from a generator. If you are tired and want to go sleeping early, maybe the generator can disturb you, because it's neer the cabanas. But i slept anyway, even with the generator on. When all clients are at bed, and no energy is needed, the generator is turned off. So, if you want to go downstairs to the toilet at night, better you take a torch with you in the bed, so you can make your own light and see where you go. Because of this i took away a star. But in fact i felt here a five star nature and human experience, and the generator noise at night is surely better than the noise of the discos in town, wich you cannot switch off!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
1.8 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#5 of 5 in Las Galeras
3,620 reviews
0.6 mi away
21 Palms B&B
21 Palms B&B
#2 of 20 in Las Galeras
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
400 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Samana
Sunset Samana
#9 of 20 in Las Galeras
20 reviews
11.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cabito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cabito

Property: El Cabito
Address: La Caleta, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Las Galeras
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cabito is an eco-friendly business, perched on the cliffs of Cabo Cabron, overlooking the spectacular Rincon Bay. It is a place where nature speaks for itself, and where one can feel a natural radiation of energy. Our vision for El Cabito is to create a place of tranquility and serenity, where people can unwind from a hectic lifestyle and connect with nature. Our strategically located restaurant and accommodations contribute to this unique experience. We have designed a number of flexible accommodation options to meet everyone's budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cabito Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing