We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise at the end of the world”
Review of El Cabito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cabito
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I just wanted to thank Catrin & John for having the vision to create the uniquely beautiful El Cabito B&B and restaurant at the edge of a cliff overlooking Rincon Bay. Visions of our endless luxurious breakfasts and delicious grilled seafood dinners on the outstanding terrace - with wonderful ambience and warm-hearted hosts - will remain with us for a long time.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank lailamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 86 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

I have stayed at El Cabito numerous times over the course of my 3 years in the Dominican Republic. I wish it was closer to the town I lived in so I could have gone more often. It is absolutely beautiful, peaceful, and fun. The restaurant serves excellent food. It is a little pricey, but you are paying for an extraordinary view and the experience of El Cabito. Overall, the money you pay to stay and eat at El Cabito works out because of how cheap it is to camp/stay on their property. I know that John and Katrin have had some bad reviews, but that is because people don't know what to expect. El Cabito is a somewhat rustic experience, perfect for the adventurer. I always stayed in the grass hut, which is equipped with 4 hammocks and an upper level for sleeping pads/bags. It only cost the $7 US/250 RD to stay there! However, I rarely slept in the grass hut. I slept in the hammock at the restaurant (after all the customers are gone, of course). The restaurant is a gazebo built over the ocean. It is absolutely gorgeous. I went to sleep with the sounds of the ocean. They also have a tree house with electricity (no electricity in the grass hut) and a tent with sleeping pads. Looked like a great place for an adventurous family. John and Catrin also have 2 rooms in an a-frame cabin. There is a small sitting area and bathroom downstairs, and a bed upstairs with an open wall (or lack thereof) facing the ocean. Gorgeous. The cabins cost $40 a night.

For the truly adventurous, near the gazebo there is a 50 foot cliff for the thrill seekers to jump off of into the ocean. John has built a ladder to let down into the ocean to climb back out. I survived, so you should most definitely try this as well! Other things to do while in Las Galeras are Playa Madam and Fronton. You can hire a boat to take you to these mostly private beaches. There is a path to Playa Madam from El Cabito, but it is pretty hard to follow without a guide. Also, Playa Rincon is one of my favorite beaches in the Dominican. It is a little bit of a drive, but worth it. If you have transportation, take the hour drive to El Limon, the prettiest waterfall in the Dominican Republic.

El Cabito is very much a place to go to relax and explore on your own. John and Katrin are extremely helpful, but the experience is not meant to be one of being waited on hand and foot. Come with the right expectations, and you will be blown away by this place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I loved El Cabito. It was a little difficult getting there but it was worth it. It was very rustic and beautiful. I recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxy2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights here, and had a great experience. At first we were almost scared off by the rough road, but once at the top of the hill we found it was well worth it. I would definitely recommend a 4x4, but our rented Fiat Panda made it just fine! The location is amazing, high on a cliff overlooking Rincon bay, and surrounded by lush jungle. The cabanas are rustic but adequate, and made for a much more authentic experience than a standard hotel. Just be prepared for a cold shower and alot of bugs at night, although the mosquito net kept us protected. Our bedroom was upstairs and open air, with a wonderful view of the ocean, and very peaceful at night, except for a generator that runs for a few hours. The restaurant had to be the highlight of our stay, with amazing food, friendly staff and a breathtaking view over the bay. Every meal here was incredible, and we did not eat anywhere else while in Las Galeras. The owners, Catrin and John are gracious hosts and have alot of valuable advice on the area. They can even set up trips for you to nearby beaches, either reached by boat or by hiking with a guide. Unforunately we were not able to visit Playa Madama or Fronton, the beaches closest to El Cabito. We did visit Playa Rincon, and La Playita, our favorite, which is only a short drive away. The town beach is not as scenic as the others, but it is quite close by, and the starting point for most water taxi trips to the surrounding beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rradelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This is a great place, but you need to do some homework before you set off. The samana peninsula generally has very poor roads, and the road up to el Cabito is extremely rocky, so make sure to get a 4*4. We took a saloon and (2 flats later) regretted it intensely.

Otherwise, the hotel itself is lovely, in a very back-to-nature way. We stayed in a cabana, more or less open to the elements, and it was great - the breeze blows through from the bay, clearing out the bugs that we found in other apartments. The view was magnificent -- whales frolic in the bay -- and the food and drink on the terrace were lovely. The owners were also extremely helpful. Definite recommend, but, as I said, get a 4*4

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matching_model
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

After traveling all day from Santo Domingo to Las Galeras, it was such a pleasant surprise to end up at El Cabito. We had read some nice reviews about the unique experience of staying on the cliffs at this peaceful spot, so we called on a whim and made reservations for a cabana. We had no solid plans and thought we might travel around a bit to various towns through the coming week. We were picked up on the beach by our fantastic hosts and next thing you know we found ourselves with a breathtaking view of the ocean and a nice breeze. The cabana was clean and simple with all the necessary amenities and some nice touches, including ocean view from the bed loft and lush vegetation all around. We walked down to the romantic restaurant overlooking the gorgeous teal water and had an amazing dinner down to the last detail. By the next morning, we knew there would be no reason to look around for another place to stay. Within a short walk (or even shorter moto ride if your brave enough to traverse the roads with one :) we had access to beaches of every variety (from calm waters and white sand to snorkeling in the coral reefs to nice sized waves; always beautiful and never crowded). We went whale watching, snorkeling, cave exploring, cliff jumping, swimming, moto riding, dining, and sight-seeing. There was so much beauty and diversity, we never felt the need to leave and explore other terrain. After realizing there is also the option to camp and cook your own food in the kitchen at El Cabito, we decided we could afford to come back soon and stay even longer. The friendly staff and family feel made it hard to leave! If your looking for a resort stay, you might want to check out other options, but if what your looking for a unique experience, great ambiance, beautiful nature, and a chill vibe, then this is the place you should be! Highly recommended whether your looking for a cabana rental, camping, or just dining. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We booked only 2 nights for a side trip from Boca Chica. The roads were all torn up on the way to El Cabito and we were very glad to arrive after a detour through a resort and the jungle.Cartin and John are perfect hosts. We loved Bernado, an incredible cook and Emilio a sweet accommodating help. This was a very unique experience. The views from the Restaurant are fantastic and yes we saw whales in the bay. Our friend John stayed in a Tiki hut one night in a loft on a mattress.My husband and I stayed in a duplex stucco 2 story building. Our suite was very simple but nice ( could have been cleaner). The sleeping loft was open to the elements for views and star gazing (and rain).
I am very happy that we met these nice people and that I had this experience. If you're looking for luxury it would not be for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronkendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
1.7 mi away
Hotel el Marinique
Hotel el Marinique
#3 of 4 in Las Galeras
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
208 reviews
94.1 mi away
Rancho Ecologico El Campeche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Aventura Rincon Ecolodge
Aventura Rincon Ecolodge
#8 of 24 in Las Galeras
36 reviews
2 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 24 in Las Galeras
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Isleta Apartment Hotel
La Isleta Apartment Hotel
#2 of 24 in Las Galeras
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cabito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cabito

Address: La Caleta, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Las Galeras
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cabito is an eco-friendly business, perched on the cliffs of Cabo Cabron, overlooking the spectacular Rincon Bay. It is a place where nature speaks for itself, and where one can feel a natural radiation of energy. Our vision for El Cabito is to create a place of tranquility and serenity, where people can unwind from a hectic lifestyle and connect with nature. Our strategically located restaurant and accommodations contribute to this unique experience. We have designed a number of flexible accommodation options to meet everyone's budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cabito Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing