We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful eco lodge in Samana, Dominican Republic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Samana Ocean View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
14 Bedrooms, 16 Bathrooms, Sleeps 29
Las Galeras, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
HobieKeno...
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful eco lodge in Samana, Dominican Republic”
Reviewed April 17, 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

I just stayed here during a week-long yoga retreat, and this was one of the best vacations I've ever taken. The resort is a 3 hour drive from Santo Domingo airport, or 5+ hours from Punta Cana. You are definitely not in the super-touristy resort areas, which was a plus for me. The views are amazing, the rooms are clean, and the food was terrific (most food grown locally). The staff is wonderful, and definitely helped to make it a great experience. All of the rooms are separate buildings, and there are enough stairs/space/trees/plants separating you that you don't necessarily see your neighbors! There is also a beautiful infinity pool to lounge by. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 7, 2019 for a stay in December 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I just spent 9 days at the Samana Ocean View in a New Years retreat. Rooms were like small cottages; cozy, clean, private with tremendous views. The yoga studio was like none I'd ever practiced in; it looked out over the bay. The food was good; they mixed local with some food my group had asked for (vegan and vegetarian requests). The people were accommodating, friendly and really made sure that we were always comfortable and happy.
There were several day trips organised to the Waterfall, nearby beaches...those were interesting and added to the positive experience of the trip
Larissa is a superstar - she manages the hotel with real style!

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftdive...
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 776 helpful votes
“Shangri-La”
Reviewed March 16, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This 14 unit complex is primarily designed for groups but during our five day stay we had the place to ourselves. The pictures accurately reflect the beauty and tranquility of this place. A car is needed as SOV is isolated, but the charming village of Las Galeras is a short drive away. If you get the opportunity to stay at SOV, I would highly recommend staying here! The river tubing excursion is fun, wonderfully relaxing, and not to be missed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAM660
Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
1 review
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Samana Ocean View is absolutely amazing - the view from the huge swimming pool and from each bungalow is spectacular! It was a perfect spot for a weekend getaway. Our group of friends had a lot of fun. Michael (one of the owners) was very helpful giving us great excursion recommendations. We'll visit again!

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janellyjr
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2019 for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YudeimaSi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisettewy...
Altendorf, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing