We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if I can fit all the good things in on this page... will try!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Hacienda Hostel Ranch
brooklyn
1 review
“Not sure if I can fit all the good things in on this page... will try!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Karin, Ronald and Mii are the most gracious hosts I have ever met and I have traveled all over the world! I was alone with my daughter and a bit nervous about being in the Dominican Republic with her and with out my husband and no car. The 3 hosts of La Hacienda, La Rancheta and Villa Coloniales were so nice and helpful that we immediately felt more like family than customers. The villa at Villa Coloniales was bright with an open air feeling and a big wrap around porch! Mii the owner and also Architect goes to great lengths to keep them pretty and clean. You can see and feel his love for his property and houses in everything he does! The grounds are also very well cared for. He lives there with his family who are sweet but the villas are situated far enough away from each other so that everyone has privacy and peace and quiet. The spot is great because you are 5 minutes to a beautiful beach, 15 to town-walking! Karin is up the hill and she will take you on amazing horseback riding trips. Her knowledge of history there and nature make the trips even more interesting! Ronald at La Rancheta can cook like a real Belgian chef and I recommend the Langosta! Bravo !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sorry made a mistake-there is no fitness center at all so the rating should be "does not apply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    4
    0
    9
See reviews for
13
17
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juan Dolio, San Pedro De Macoris, Dominican Republic
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was the place that you can't find everywhere! I hate those five stars 110% hygienic white all-inclusive hotels, where you are just one of the visitors who brings the money to the company.
If you want to avoid everything like that, La Hacienda is an excellent choice! The place is unique, rooms are unique and you as a visitor are unique. You can live in the middle of wonderful nature and the place operates eco friendly principles which is very important for me. You can feel the lifestyle that we have forgot long time ago: eating from your own garden, spending peaceful time with other visitors...
Also the horseback riding trip was awesome! The views are amazing and Karin is a great guide.
I highly recommend this place! But don't go if you require all the modern facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuuli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Myself and two friends shared a bungalow at La Rancheta for five nights in March (without advance reservations). Our bungalow could have easily slept six, and we had a nice spacious bathroom, a big front porch with hammock and dining area, and a simply outfitted, open kitchen.

The setting perfectly enabled our vacation escape: we could walk to town easily, but weren't so close that we were ever bothered by "local traffic"; we felt safe, and at the same time isolated; we chatted with interesting guests, but never felt pressure to be social while at home. The bungalow's kitchen was well-equipped for cooking meals, and Ronald shared with us whatever we needed from his kitchen. Ronald was available to give us rides to town if we needed, and to help us make plans (borrowing his mobile phone).

If you're convinced of Las Galeras already, La Rancheta is a perfect fit. The digs go hand-in-hand with this town fit for a chill vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were looking for 'off the beaten track' and found it at LaHacienda, a couple of kilometres outside of the small fishing/tourist town of Las Galeras. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean, and the communal kitchen overlooks a prodigious garden - the fruits and vegetables of which are yours for the picking! The environment is what makes La Hacienda so special - perched high up on a hill overlooking the mountains which ring the bay below, there is nature in all directions. No busy roads, no commericalism - there is utter silence at night, and a canopy of endless stars. This is Karin's retreat, a place she shares with independent travellers, where they can meet together and hike and horseback ride to the many hidden beaches on this beautiful peninsula. It's inexpensive, but priceless.

Room Tip: Ask about the rear corner room with the outside porch, or the 'Gaudi Tower'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

i stayed at La Hacienda for a week in February, and I recommend it highly to anyone looking for an escape from the fake, over-groomed atmosphere of a resort. Staying here gives guests the unique advantage of being a 10 minute walk from the beach, but also having a wilderness playground right outside the door.
This is a place for travellers who love authenticity, nature, the tranquility of being in the country, hiking, and freedom. The town is about a half hour walk or 5 minute motoconcho ride, so it's easy to get groceries or have a nice meal out. The big resort beach is just down the hill, but there are several more spectucular (and totally empty) beaches to hike to - through jungle or countryside.
The house is rustic and simple, but very clean and comfortable. There is a big, open, shared kitchen/sitting area, which serves as a lovely communal area for guests to get to know each other and enjoy the fresh air and countryside views. It's a big property, covered in lime trees, papayas, squash, bananas, sweet potatoes, etc, and guests are invited to help themselves to anything growing on the land. The owner, Karin is a sweetheart - sincere, caring and considerate, and her love of the land and her animals is very apparent. (Just to clarify - because it's confusing on the website - La Hacienda is a separate property from La Rancheta. They were at one time run by the same people, but they are now each owned and operated individually.)
Beautiful horses, chickens, dogs and cats live on the property and yes, you might find a frog in your shower or be awakened by a crowing rooster.... but this is the country and what else would you expect?! If you need a hot shower, starched sheets, wifi and flashy entertainment, go stay in a resort - but don't expect to get an authentic taste of the Dominican.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed in La Hacienda, the place is a hole - NO hot water - NO locks on the doors (anybody can get into your room and steal your belongings)

Karin (the owner has 8 cats, 2 dogs and several horses) the small garden is full of poop... the smell is nauseous.

The water pump is extremely noisy (wakes you up at night)

Please do not trust web pictures.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diegojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at La Rancheta for 11 days, including 4 days of pouring rain in the winter season. Amenities are basic but clean. My travelling companion was able to whip up some fabulous meals despite the "camp" kitchen--we even invited friends for dinner one night! The 2 bedroom loft cabana was cleaned daily, and linens and towels were changed regularly. It's important to keep the kitchen area spotless to avoid attracting fire ants who converge on the tiniest crumb. Just like camping, we hung our garbage outside. There's no hot water, but with the warm temperatures, it's unnecessary. Our roof leaked a bit during the torrential downpours during the night, but everything dried quickly as soon as we put it out in the sun. Sitting on our outdoor veranda we encountered a flying frog and a tropical cucaracha (gigantic cockroach), which is to be expected. But we also had birds of paradise and hibiscus flowers growing outside our door. The proprieters Ronald and Gracie are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. This is a unique place to stay but probably not everybody's cup of tea.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cabana has a nice sitting area and would be suitable for a family with older children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Galeras hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Caleta
Villa La Caleta
#11 of 20 in Las Galeras
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungalows of Las Galeras
Bungalows of Las Galeras
#3 of 20 in Las Galeras
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa la Plantacion
Villa la Plantacion
#10 of 20 in Las Galeras
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hacienda Hostel Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hacienda Hostel Ranch

Property: La Hacienda Hostel Ranch
Address: Calle al Faro, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly La Rancheta & La Hacienda Hostel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Hacienda Hostel Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hacienda Hostel Ranch Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing