We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does las galeras justice!”
Review of Todo Blanco Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Todo Blanco Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Las Galeras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a lovely place. Perfect location, great feel of a b&b, amazing view...
Maurizio was so accommodating and welcoming. Would stay there again!
The only thing - wish the mosquito nets were a little more sturdy and closed better. There's nothing worse than being woken up by itchy skin and the sound of mosquitos inside your net in the middle of the night... Other than that - the sound of the ocean and insect night life around are perfect...

Room Tip: for dinner - la pirata has awesome thin crust pizza, cozy atmosphere and very reasonable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katyanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 127 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just spent a week at this hotel and would definitely go back for more. Mauricio and the entire staff is nothing but helpful, friendly and accommodating without being intrusive. We arrived to a spacious, airy, clean room with French doors opening onto a balcony overlooking the lush grounds and ocean. There are only 8 rooms in the entire hotel so it never becomes hectic and you always feel like it's your private place. The balconies are divided by latticework so there is never anyone walking by your room which means the French doors can remain open 24 hours a day. There is always hot water and they provide as much drinking water as you require with no charge. Mauricio allowed us to hang around after checkout time since our flight was late in the night and we were allowed to use an outdoor shower and community bathroom to clean up after spending the day on the beach. The only negative we could find was the fact that the beach in front of the hotel is a public spot and on weekends got rather noisy with the locals playing very loud music pretty much nonstop for much of Sunday. There is also a sand road running in front of the hotel which is a great walking trail to a resort about 1/2 mile down the road but allows for some noise from scooters which is the transport of choice for the natives of the area. The town is very small with just enough restaurants to keep it interesting but not much in the way of general shopping and with the exception of the pharmacia, not many options to get essentials. Hotel Todo Blanco is worth a trip to the area if you're looking for nothing but relaxation and quiet.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had a great ocean view with a constant breeze off the water. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janetlnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Todo Blanco is a beautiful, small hotel (8 rooms) right on the beach in Las Galeras, Samana, RD. As name of the hotel says, apart from some dashes of color here and there, the hotel is painted and decorated all in white which adds to spacious, breezy rooms, all equipped with ocean front terrasses overlooking a lush garden. We kept the windows and shutters open at night to hear the waves. No need for air-conditioning. We used the mosquito nets that were available in the rooms, but there weren't really any mosquitos around. The room also had a small fridge and a small safe (laptop did not fit, but all the other essentials, plus the owner reassured us that there had not been a theft for the seven years that he's been around). Wifi was working and free. Also important: drinking/filtered water was available at all times (free of additional charges). Maurizio, the owner, was very responsive by email before our arrival and the hotel kept our reservation despite our late arrival due to an overbooked flight from Haiti. I love dogs, so the fact that there were three of them roaming (well actually sleeping most of the time) around the premises, added positively to our stay.

The only slight drawback was that there was somewhat loud music coming from a bar at the small parking lot/boat launch near the hotel early in the evening, but the music stopped well before 9 pm. There were also cars and motor bikes driving by from time to time on the beach path in front of the hotel, so for lounging on the beach, it is probably better to go to nearby Playa Bonita or Fronton. Also, there was only soap in the room, no shampoo or shower gel - we had to buy some at the pharmacy in the village.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Todo Blanco. It's a beautiful place right on the beach, walking distance to everything (but there is not much to see in town). The room was huge and clean and there was always a slight breeze and the sound of the ocean. You don't need air conditioning here. The beds were a little hard but fine.

Las Galeras feels like the end of the earth in some ways because it is a long drive from most things. The Playa Rincon and the Playa Fronton are close by and it's possible to do a day trip to Cayo Levantado and the Parque Los Haitises. You see the same people at the beach and at dinner at night because the place is so small.

It also feels like the end of the earth because it's still off the beaten path so people ride motorcycles on the beach (there is actually a hard packed dirt road on the beach) and think it's OK to light up a cigar at breakfast. The breakfast here is great - eggs, coffee, fresh fruit and tropical jams with a spectacular view. The morning we arrived a group was doing yoga on the lawn of the hotel which was free for hotel guests.

The owner Maurizio is an ex diving instructor and has lived in the DR for a long time and was very friendly and helpful. All in all we had a great stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have good views on the beach (there are only 8 rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chabela94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Todo Blanco hotel in Las Galeras and loved it. There are only 8 rooms so it feels cozy and small, but still feels like a boutique hotel. The common areas, including the living room and dining areas have incredible views of the lawn and ocean beyond, and our second-floor room had a balcony that was to-die-for. The rooms are simple (in that there are no telephones, tvs, etc.) but they're spotless and feel very tropical. And you can't beat the location, a 5min walk from all the restaurants on the main drag and right on the beach. I'd go back in an instant!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have amazing views! All rooms have balconies too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It was just amazing. My husband and me, we went to Dominican Republic at the end of October and it was so warm!! It's a bed and breakfast style, but there are a lot of local restaurants around. The nature is amazing and it's placed just on a sea shore. Very romantic, beautiful and quite place. Staff is very friendly and relaxed. Also it's very close to fishermen's boats and they can bring you to gorgeous remote beaches (around $20 per round trip).

They only thing that disappointed us a little bit is that hotel doesn't have a transfer from airport, which means you would have to take a taxi and it's pretty expensive (around $100) and there are no buses.
Anyway, it was worth it!!!)) We have such a good memories:))

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agataEdmonton_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our first visit to Las Galeras. Been researching this area for quite awhile, when Jet Blue emailed me that they started direct flights to Samana I quickly booked my tickets. Then the task of finding a suitable hotel was next. I chose Todo Blanco as it was priced right, on the bay and near town.

They arranged for a driver to pick us up at El Catey ariport and take us to the hotel which is an hour from the airport. The driver was fun and we managed to converse even though my Spanish is not too good. I was glad I didn't rent a car. Although the main road is good, driving is a challenge there.

The hotel is clean, beautiful views, rooms and bathrooms are spacious, terrace overlooking bay, staff very friendly and grounds are stunning. Although the pool was not open it didn't matter. There are many beautiful beaches close by to visit and we saw them all. The beach in front of the hotel is nice for lounging on a beach chair (which is free) but not so great for swimming. The hotel has WiFi which kept us in touch with home as I had no cell service there.

I highly recommend this place, I will return next year with my daughter for a mother/daughter get away. Loved the area very peaceful and quiet, has a great brick oven pizza resturant a block away for the hotel. If you want fish for dinner the local little cocina cooks what is caught that day. Nothing like a fresh fish dinner and cold beer to end the day!

Thanks to the satff at Todo Blanco for a great time will definately return.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have views of the Bahia Ricon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artful99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Galeras hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel el Marinique
Hotel el Marinique
#3 of 4 in Las Galeras
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 21 in Las Galeras
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bungalows of Las Galeras
Bungalows of Las Galeras
#3 of 21 in Las Galeras
75 reviews
1.0 mi away
21 Palms B&B
21 Palms B&B
#2 of 21 in Las Galeras
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#2 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Todo Blanco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Todo Blanco Hotel

Address: Beachfront Boutique Hotel | Main Beach - Downtown, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Las Galeras
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Boutique Hotel Todo Blanco in Las Galeras, Samana Peninsula in Dominican Republic. One of the Best Rated Hotels in Las Galeras. Great location downtown right on the beach. Come spend an unforgettable vacation with us ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Todo Blanco Hotel Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing