We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serious mismanagement spoils the day” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Spa Montana
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Karpenisi
Patras
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Serious mismanagement spoils the day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although the hotel offers the complete 5* package (including indoor parking - a rarity for Greek standards) it is unfortunately presented in a 3* manner. You may overlook the fact that furniture and decorations are 80's style but when it comes to management and service you expect something more up to date.

My suggestions: Change the head cook (if there is one in the first place...), offer free wifi throughout the lobby level (not only in front of the reception desk), offer free sauna, hamam & jacuzzi treatments (charge only for personal spa treatments), heat the indoor pool at all times and above all TRAIN the staff to say YES instead of NO.

Finaly do not charge 4€ for a glass of fresh orange juice for breakfast (it makes you think what the free orange stuff on the buffet is made from...). Thank you Montana, but not again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mariosdarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    66
    53
    34
    21
See reviews for
97
45
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had visited this hotel 15 years ago, and let me tell you not much has changed here. This time we got an "offer" for 4 nights which included HB and the "Christmas gala", and we found out it was not an offer at all. Here's why...
It is still a nice and cozy settlement, but it's furniture is dated and the staff is definitely NOT trained. Especially the restaurant people (many of which work as porters or general duty staff) cannot serve the way they should... For example, I've never seen a waiter serving people while answering his cellphone!!! Also, I asked them to change our table cloth because it was used and stained, and I got the following answer: "It is not dirty, it is just old and worn out." Naturally, I was stunned. In addition, the restaurant is not organized properly, as they constantly ran out of tableware and cutlery.
Now, if you're thinking of getting a Half Board, DON'T!!!! I'm serious! The food is NOT good, there is no variety at all, and the wine list is very expensive (starts from 20 euros for a red wine of 5 euros). You can have such delicious meals in the taverns of the villages close to Karpenissi, in very reasonable prices (45-55 euros for 4 persons) that is really not worth taking the HB. Actually, we feel kind of stupid we did. Also, the "Christmas gala" was absolutely ridiculous!!!! They were supposed to host it in the "reception hall" which turned out that was a basketball court with a dirty carpet taped down, some christmas lights, and a christmas tree. The most miserable set up I've ever seen, a large room full of tables, with some waiters running around like crazy (along with soooo many children that their parents couldn't care less for what they did), and noise that you'd rather be home alone!!!!
Last comment is about the bed. It is small, the mattress is hard, the pillows are old and dirty and they really need to be changed! This is unacceptable for a "5 star" hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EL_Theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karpenisi hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice location and traditionally decorated. Clean rooms and spaces, lots of lobbies with fireplaces and a restaurant with a small but delicious menu. The spa area is good enough but not something extraordinary. Overall a very good stay but not a 5 star as claimed. Still lots of works to be done but it's fair enough at least for the family package we had

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights during the Christmas break. The location is amazing, among the Pine trees at the hill top overlooking the town. The personnel were very helpful and warm. The rooms very clean and traditionally decorated as the public spaces. Four lobbies equipped with fireplaces kept the hotel warm and cosy. The spa facilities were nice and clean although they could do much better for a spa resort. The food was plenty and the dishes well cooked. Not a great variety though but everything was delicious. Overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YanniPp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights end of October stayed in suite 316 which was extremely spacious and well equipted Very clean and whole place well maintained. My only problem was the bed unfortunately it was rock hard no give in it whatsoever. A special thanks to Marieola for looking after us so well as there was a problem with the booking agent and to santi at the bar who always had a smile on his face which is great to see. Thanks again for a great few days

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank VincentODalaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerini, Greece
Level Contributor
188 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was waiting more for a 5 star hotel!!! The hotel needs redecoration!!! It is very old fasioned and not in a very good contition! The restaurant was cold and the other places of the hotel also!!! The food is good but not something special. The owners have to do something as soon as possible!!!! It is in a very good position and i think that they still can save it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeKape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chios
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a disappointment!This was a great disappointment for me,because i had the best memories of this place when i have stayed ,23(!)years ago,when it opened.It was 1990,now is 2013 and this hotel is the example of a decay through time.No renovation,old and dirty.Tired staff(it`s the same persons all these years),rooms with no shampoo or soaps(we had to call reception to bring them),non-digital safe at the rooms with missing key(we had also to go down to the reception to take it),with(?) Wi-Fi who no-one could be connected,and the evening bouffet (with opening hours from 20.00 to 23.00) with empty plates at 21.40, noone cared to bring new ones,noisy restaurant and breakfast the morning after for a 2 1/2 * star hotel at the most.If you read the official site of the hotel,it writes for 2 fully equipment gyms.Well this is a LIE.In this gym you can`t run,you can`t do aerobic exersice.Too expensive,crownded,dirty,overpriced.Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miltoschios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karpenisi hotels
0.0 mi away
Oniropetra
Oniropetra
#1 of 15 in Karpenisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Suites
Forest Suites
#1 of 1 in Megalo Chorio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lecadin Hotel
Lecadin Hotel
#8 of 15 in Karpenisi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ninemia Bungalows Resort
Ninemia Bungalows Resort
#6 of 15 in Karpenisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elvetia Hotel
Elvetia Hotel
#13 of 15 in Karpenisi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastanea
Kastanea
#2 of 2 in Agios Nikolaos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Montana

Property: Hotel Spa Montana
Address: Suila Street, Karpenisi 361 00, Greece (Formerly Hotel Club Montana)
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Evrytania Region > Karpenisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Karpenisi
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Spa Montana 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the city, the air pollution, the nerve-racking noise and the daily routine, and close to the beautiful picturesque and hospitable Karpenissi, you will find the HOTEL SPA MONTANA. This modern luxurious 5-star complex is built at an altitude of 1.250m, on a lovely slope covered with fir trees. It enjoys a magnificent view and is just 10 minutes away from the ski resort at Velouchi. MONTANA boasts a traditional, yet functional décor, which includes relief wooden beams that adorn the ceilings, stone, hand-made light fixtures and large windows that overlook the lush green valley. Montana, offers 105 rooms and 23 suites with every comfort you may require. Each room and suite comprises an autonomous, hospitable space for our visitors to enjoy... Comfort and luxury combined. The MONTANA SPA applies both traditional Eastern techniques, as well as every modern method that can be used to offer you satisfaction and boost your self-confidence. In its specially built relaxation area, the SPA offers a fitness center, heated pool, sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi, face and body treatments. We invite you to organize your wedding receptions, christenings, dinners in a luxurious environment that is perfectly organized, in order to satsfy all your guests. The conference halls at the MONTANA, have lla the audiovisual and technological equipment that is required to host conferences of a very high level. In an environment which is characterized by its top aesthetic guality and is in perfect harmony with Greek nature, visitors at MONTANA can enjoy unique moments of beauty and relaxation. Day and night... Every season of the year... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Spa Montana Karpenisi, Greece - Evrytania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing