We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star accomodation at affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel DSF Grand Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Star accomodation at affordable price”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The reception is pleasant. Every day newspaper is provided. Breakfast is great. Buffet style included in room tariff. The room is spacious, neat and cleean with AC. The toilet was clean. The linen was neat and of good quality. Room service was prompt. Overall a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Ideal for both family and buiness stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonees71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
5
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kumbakonam, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed at the DSF Grand for a couple of nights in last month and found it generally okay. The rooms were tiny, but clean. Unfortunately, noise from the street just pours into the room, even when one is well up from the street level. Which no doubt has coloured my impressions of the place. The staffs were marginally helpful, but I did expect rather more from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kannan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed for 6 weeks in DSF Grand Plaza. The stay was very comfortable rooms are very spacious, appropriately furnished, clean does not smell at all and if you are lucky to get some rooms on 2 nd floor they have a nice covered balcony

Good breakfast - i stayed for 6 weeks hence felt lack of variety - but for shorter stays i don't think so it will be problem. South Indian and Asia specialties are best for lunch and dinner.

The hotel has an integrated mall - that offers food court, saloon, good stationary and grocery shops, all in all nice place to kill time

Top floor there is a kids play area and good view of the city. I saw couple of families staying with kids

Room Tip: some on second floor may have additional balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neeraj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Tuticorin does not have many options when it comes to hotel accommodation. I stayed at DSF Plaza as it was very near where I had my meetings. Unfortunately the hotel is located on one of the noisiest roads in town !

My guess is that it is a three star property and not quite what is usually described as a business hotel, my expectations ., therefore, were not very high. The basics were all there - clean and spacious room, clean sheets and towels, clean toilet etc. If one is on a business trip and uses the hotel mainly as a place to sleep, one can not complain too much.

The staff are friendly but the lack of training shows in the quality of service. Not all of them are fluent in English and, strangely, in the deep south of India, I found hotel staff who could not speak Tamil, which is the local language !

They offer you a limited breakfast buffet and the food is reasonably good though nothing to write home about. You can have a drink at the bar or in your room, but not at the restaurant.

Not the best of places but there are not many options in this town.

JP No 100028482

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This Hotel is good Initiative in Tuticorin... integrated with a Shopping mall looks great.. good service.. only problem is mission professional quality for a Business hotel..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolomonAshok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

This is a terrible place, although it is newly constructed it is in the middle of the city with horrible noises of vehicles around never lets u to sleep. The bar is a good one, but u will loose your patientce if u order anything from the kitchen and get dissappointed when the food comes cold and very less in quantity

  • Liked — The rooms are good
  • Disliked — Food, noise inside the room etc
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thivyan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go to the theme parks at all. In fact we didn't bother with Disney , having been before and just did a few trips to Universal. It was so hot and busy there, we couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel. and its very good experience........ there we can do shopping also .........two floors meant for specially shopping............

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel DSF Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DSF Grand Plaza

Property: Hotel DSF Grand Plaza
Address: 379 V.E. Road, Tuticorin 628 002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thoothukudi District > Tuticorin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel DSF Grand Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel DSF Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing