We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely peaceful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Great Hotel very quiet, beautiful gardens.

You need a car as its in the back of beyond but there are quite a few restaurants nearby - had a great meal at 'the art gallery'.

We stayed only one night as we had an early flight from Pisa and it was only 15 mins by car away.

  • Liked — Peaceful location
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    49
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
40
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

I booked this hotel for its proximity to Pisa Airport as the following morning I had a 6AM departure. It worked out well. The hotel is charming and the staff very pleasant. The room was well appointed and warm. On the down side, it's a little off the beaten track, therefore not very easy to find, especially with fog, there is no elevator and the reception is closed during the night. Nevertheless I would recommend this hotel except to those who have problems and require an elevator

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank lexii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

This hidden gem(difficult to find,too) is between Pisa and Florence. The staff was very helpful in assisting two gringo's on their first trip to N. Italy. The Villa is beautiful and the rooms very private and nicely decorated. The gardens and breakfast buildings were lovely.

A great way to be introduced to other vacationers from all parts of Europe. I think we were the only US.

  • Liked — Quiet and private
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a map from Yahoo or Google before you arrive in Italy
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JB&Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

We arrived at the Villa Maya late one night in November - our first time in Italy and had found driving from the Airport a challenge!! Hard enough to find on a dark foggy night, so we were really glad when we got there..no food anywhere to be found, however we did manage to order a bottle of wine which we drank in our room and thoroughly enjoyed!!
We felt the breakfast wasn't up to much, but the rooms and surroundings made up for it - we thought it was good value for money, but then coming from Ireland most places things seem like a bargain!

J & D

  • Liked — old style, charm. lovel surroundings, quiet location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — travel during daylight hours
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aaerhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

What does this hotel have in its favour.. well, the rooms are simple but OKAY, it has a nice garden, and it's close to Pisa airport.

I booked it because I had read some reasonable reviews, and indeed there were positive reviews in the visitors book, however,

The service was non-existent. (Neither good, nor bad, just not there!) At breakfast we were shown to our table where everything was do-it-yourself (including one of those automatic drinks dispensers that dispenses everything from coffee, teak, hot milk, hot chocolate etc) .. in Italy.. the home of good coffee?

Upon arrival we were handed the remote controls to the TVs (who steals a remote from a hotel these days?) and read the clauses ( to avoid nasty suprises, we remind you that eating in the common areas is forbidden, .. you are asked to cehck out by 11::00, failure to do so will incurr a penalty of 10 euros per half hour... etc) This is real, not an exageration!

A huge dissapointment, and not cheap either given the hotel we had just left in Venice. I felt more like the place was a youth hostel than a hotel.

Helpful?
6 Thank StuartJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

You can tell I never was a boy scout, could not find this place in the fog! Basically in the middle of nowhere, rooms very dark, moved from one room in what seemed to be a converted stable the the main block, not much better. No restaurant, The nearest place to eat is @ 25 mins away! Breakfast really no good, tried it only once on our three night stay. The coffee is like dish water. Bread like rubber !

One of the most depressing hotels I have ever stayed in.

Don't do it Chuck!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jeeperscreepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

Our stay at Hotel Villa Maya was a last minute
decision and we picked it because it was close to the
airport. The rooms on our floor were very strange;
the ceilings were very high and above the door and
bathroom there was a clear sheet of glass separating
our room from the hallway. Initially, this seemed like
an oddity. However in the middle of the night - it
became a huge pain. The hallway light was on motion
detection. Anytime another guest went through the
hall, we had bright light streaming into our room. In
the middle of the night there was much rowdiness in
the hall which we could hear everything (probably
because of the glass again).
The breakfast setting was cafeteria style. We were
asssigned seats, even though not everyone was there
at the same time. The breads were stale. A cat
wandered into the breakfast hall, which started up my allergies.

Overall, the grounds were beautiful and location
quite accessible to the airport and Pisa city
central, but the hotel did not meet our other needs.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chicagoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascina
1.2 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cascina
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
4.6 mi away
Calamidoro Hotel
Calamidoro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Calcinaia
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
#2 of 6 in Pontedera
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sextum
Hotel Sextum
#1 of 1 in Bientina
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
4.5 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Property: Hotel Villa Maya
Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021, Cascina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing