We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Evening of Tuscany Tour”
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We picked this place without having any recommendations or knowledge of the area outside of Pisa. We just wanted a B&B for one evening, which marked the start of a week-long trip around Tuscany. We were very happy with the service and the room. The room is very simple and basic, but we have our own bathroom, and everything was clean. It is a quiet area, so we could relax easily. We did a short walk around the grounds and it was lovely and well kept. We enjoyed the included breakfast the following morning, which had an assortment of toast, cheese, meats, tarts/cakes, yogurt, fruit and drinks. The BEST part of the stay was at the end, we were given a bottle of wine from the area. It was a very hospitable gesture, which we appreciated and brought back to London with us. We'd recommend this B&B to anyone who has a car and is staying looking to stay around Pisa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Hotel Villa Maya and for recommending our hotel. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location and our buffet breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from Pisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Hotel Villa Maya for 5days with my wife. It was the best decission ever we have made. It was a beautiful place with friendly english speaker stuff. Only the breakfast was poor and the same 5day long. For dinner choose another place, but if you want to visit the real Toscane this will be your Hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Vivien,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay here in Hotel Villa Maya and that you appreciated the place and the friendliness of the staff. On the contrary, we are really sorry to read you did not like our breakfast as many guests appreciate the home-made cakes and marmelades and fresh fruit. It is a buffet breakfast and we both offer sweet and salted food, like eggs, ham and cheese. We also have a restaurant so next time you will come you will just need to ask and we will be ready to prepare for you anything you would like to have for breakfast even if it is not on the buffet table. As for the restaurant, We cannot understand the reason why you advised other guests to choose some other places; It will be a pleasure if you come to visit us again and have dinner at our nice restaurant so to taste our Traditional Tuscan dishes.
We thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't expect any luxury or things you don't need when going to Tuscany (swimming pool, sauna, ...), as Tuscany is all about exploring the beautiful region.
What to expect is a young and very friendly couple running this charming hotel like it should. The reception service is great. We had a small problem with the shower and after I reported this in the morning, all worked well when we got back in the evening. We used a small fridge in the car as it might get hot during the day, and the receptionists putted our freeze-elements in the fridge every day with a smile.
Breakfast is at Italian standards : the elementary things and nothing special. But this is Italy.
Almost all staff is very friendly and speaks fluently English, except for a grumpy short haired lady. Maybe it wasn't her week.
Location is perfect to explore nothern Tuscny as Pisa, Luca, Livorno, Firenze, Pistoia, ... are only 15 to 50 minutes away. We also visited Siena, which is only a drive of 1h20 through great landscapes.
Price / quality is perfect.
If we ever go back to Tuscany, we will choose this hotel again.

Henk Debal, Belgium

Room Tip: Seems to me all rooms are ok. And there seems to be 1 room as well for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCarpenter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dr Mr Debal,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your holiday at Hotel Villa Maya and for your kind comments about our hotel.

As for the lady, it seems strange she looked grumpy to you because, as you can read from old comments, many guests appreciated her nice and polite manners.
As regards breakfast, we think we offer more than standard Italian breakfast as you can find a buffet with homemade cakes, plumcakes, muffins and biscuits; but also salted food. Next time you will come to our hotel, please just ask us and we will be glad to satisfy your needs.
Anyway, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and look forward to having you back here as it .
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Could not have asked for more from this hotel - clean, well appointed, fantastic service, great food and a brilliant location. The building has undergone renovation over the past 10 years, and there is an amazing photo album in the lobby with before and after photographs.

The room was lovely - high ceilings, clean bathroom and air conditioning. There's plenty of parking and a great restaurant. It's a small hotel, but run by a service-orientated team who are passionate about their business, their beautiful building and Tuscany.

I loved it here, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in the area, and looking for good value accommodation outside of Pisa centre. The location is great, far enough from the highway so not to hear the noise, but close enough to make this an excellent location to explore Tuscany from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdk2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guests,
it is so nice to read such beautiful words about us. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maya and we hope to have you back one day.
Kind regards
Yuri Diolaiti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited Villa Maya a couple of years ago. Nice setting, friendly environment and wonderful food.
Conveniently located to visit Florence, Siena, Lucca, Pisa and the beautiful Tuscan hills. The Cinque Terre and other locations by the sea can be visited on day trips. The owner Yuri can organise visits to wine estates and provide travel tips. During the evenings we spent time at the Villa sipping a drink and enjoying the quiet surroundings. I would recommend this hotel to families, young and older couples.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guests,
it is a real pleasure to receive your comments.
We are glad you appreciated our place and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Yuri Diolaiti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was Fantastic! Old charm feel in the rooms with exposed wood beams, bright orange and yellow painted walls. Nice small quiet resturant in hotel. All staff spoke English and they explained to me a lot of people from the UK get married on site in their gardens and they will rent the entire hotel as part of a wedding package. When we checked out they gave us a free bottle of Tuscan wine made at a near by winery. This hotel is about 15 min from the airport and about 20 min from the leaning tower. Would highly recommend for couples but also nice for families. Very romantic hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinggirl3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear customers, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maya and we hope to have you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

20 minutes from pisa nice country hotel.
old 4 stories villa. small rooms and with old fornitures. old tv's. very nice garden.
good restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aerogiobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guests,
sorry to answer late. We are glad you liked our restaurant. We infrom you and the future guests that rooms are now equipped with new TVs. The furniture just conforms to the Tuscan style that charcterises this old Villa dating back to the XX century.
We hope to welcome you again to our hotel so that you can appreciate the little changes we made to the building to satisfy all the customers' needs.
Kind regards
Yuri Dioaliti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascina
1.2 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cascina
112 reviews
6.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Pisa
B&B Hotel Pisa
#15 of 68 in Pisa
656 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
#2 of 6 in Pontedera
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
128 reviews
6.7 mi away
B&B Casa Formica
B&B Casa Formica
#2 of 21 in Cascina
107 reviews
3.4 mi away
Il Giardino della Pieve
Il Giardino della Pieve
#1 of 21 in Cascina
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021, Cascina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range: $79 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing