We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Could not have asked for more from this hotel - clean, well appointed, fantastic service, great food and a brilliant location. The building has undergone renovation over the past 10 years, and there is an amazing photo album in the lobby with before and after photographs.

The room was lovely - high ceilings, clean bathroom and air conditioning. There's plenty of parking and a great restaurant. It's a small hotel, but run by a service-orientated team who are passionate about their business, their beautiful building and Tuscany.

I loved it here, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in the area, and looking for good value accommodation outside of Pisa centre. The location is great, far enough from the highway so not to hear the noise, but close enough to make this an excellent location to explore Tuscany from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdk2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guests,
it is so nice to read such beautiful words about us. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maya and we hope to have you back one day.
Kind regards
Yuri Diolaiti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    50
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
31
43
3
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited Villa Maya a couple of years ago. Nice setting, friendly environment and wonderful food.
Conveniently located to visit Florence, Siena, Lucca, Pisa and the beautiful Tuscan hills. The Cinque Terre and other locations by the sea can be visited on day trips. The owner Yuri can organise visits to wine estates and provide travel tips. During the evenings we spent time at the Villa sipping a drink and enjoying the quiet surroundings. I would recommend this hotel to families, young and older couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guests,
it is a real pleasure to receive your comments.
We are glad you appreciated our place and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Yuri Diolaiti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was Fantastic! Old charm feel in the rooms with exposed wood beams, bright orange and yellow painted walls. Nice small quiet resturant in hotel. All staff spoke English and they explained to me a lot of people from the UK get married on site in their gardens and they will rent the entire hotel as part of a wedding package. When we checked out they gave us a free bottle of Tuscan wine made at a near by winery. This hotel is about 15 min from the airport and about 20 min from the leaning tower. Would highly recommend for couples but also nice for families. Very romantic hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggirl3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear customers, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maya and we hope to have you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pisa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

20 minutes from pisa nice country hotel.
old 4 stories villa. small rooms and with old fornitures. old tv's. very nice garden.
good restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aerogiobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guests,
sorry to answer late. We are glad you liked our restaurant. We infrom you and the future guests that rooms are now equipped with new TVs. The furniture just conforms to the Tuscan style that charcterises this old Villa dating back to the XX century.
We hope to welcome you again to our hotel so that you can appreciate the little changes we made to the building to satisfy all the customers' needs.
Kind regards
Yuri Dioaliti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

This is a small, lovely Villa in the country about 15 minutes drive from Pisa airport. The room and common areas were clean and the grounds and gardens were beautifully manicured. They have a restaurant on site that is highly recommended for price, presentation and quality. The staff was friendly and helpful. I believe they will pick you up at the airport but I don't know if a fee is charged. The management's attention to detail was noticeable. A Continental breakfast was included in the room charge. About the only complaint I can come up with was the occasional smell of manure from the adjacent farms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

What we liked:
Location - wonderfully quiet
Bathroom - very clean
Bed - comfortable
Complimentary guide to Pisa

What we didn't like:
Room was well furnished but very dark and the lighting was extremely poor, but most of all we disliked the written warnings to prevent bad behaviour of 'guests'. It starts in your room, where you are informed in the leaflet that if you overstay your welcome in the breakfast room you get fined the cost of another breakfast on your bill. Then when you get to the breakfast room there's a notice on the drinks counter that you are allowed ONE coffee/tea only. We don't usually have more than one anyway but how much would it cost them to give a guest the occasional extra? Also that you are not allowed to take food away - not much of a temptation because it's not a brilliant breakfast anyway, but that's par for the course in Italy. The Italians aren't great at breakfasts, but the two other hotels we stayed at in Tuscany were much better at breakfast than this one.

Then on the wall in the breakfast room there's another notice telling guests "to avoid any nasty misunderstanding" (!) that they are not allowed to eat food brought in from outside (there's no restaurant) anywhere except their rooms, that they can hire a corkscrew but if they break it they will have to pay for it.

The girl who served breakfast was delightfully friendly but this didn't make up for the bad atmosphere created by the notices.

All in all what comes across loud and clear is that you as the guest are there on sufferance to pay them money. They expect guests to behave badly and are not concerned about whether they have a nice relaxing stay, but rather that they pay up and leave without wrecking the place.

Perhaps they've had bad experiences in the past but that's no excuse for expecting the worst of future guests. If there was somewhere on the hotel website to leave comments I would have done that before 'going public' on Tripadvisor, but there isn't. Perhaps they're not interested in what we think anyway!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked this hotel because we needed to make an early getaway to Pisa Airport on the following morning and for that purpose it was fine. Based on our experience, though, I would not recommend a longer stay. I cannot comment on the breakfast as it was not available at the time we had to leave. The room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. There seemed to be just one member of staff who acted as receptionist and who would also get you a drink on request. Maybe it was slightly out of season when we went, but it did not really feel like a hotel somehow - just somewhere to sleep. That said, I would select it again in preference to a soulless chain hotel nearer the airport. The journey to the airport took 10-15 minutes.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Did not feel very welcoming
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUMPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascina
1.2 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cascina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
#2 of 6 in Pontedera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
4.6 mi away
Calamidoro Hotel
Calamidoro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Calcinaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Property: Hotel Villa Maya
Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021, Cascina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing