We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice country hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Maya to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021, Cascina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Certificate of Excellence
pisa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice country hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

20 minutes from pisa nice country hotel.
old 4 stories villa. small rooms and with old fornitures. old tv's. very nice garden.
good restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aerogiobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guests,
sorry to answer late. We are glad you liked our restaurant. We infrom you and the future guests that rooms are now equipped with new TVs. The furniture just conforms to the Tuscan style that charcterises this old Villa dating back to the XX century.
We hope to welcome you again to our hotel so that you can appreciate the little changes we made to the building to satisfy all the customers' needs.
Kind regards
Yuri Dioaliti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    47
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
37
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

This is a small, lovely Villa in the country about 15 minutes drive from Pisa airport. The room and common areas were clean and the grounds and gardens were beautifully manicured. They have a restaurant on site that is highly recommended for price, presentation and quality. The staff was friendly and helpful. I believe they will pick you up at the airport but I don't know if a fee is charged. The management's attention to detail was noticeable. A Continental breakfast was included in the room charge. About the only complaint I can come up with was the occasional smell of manure from the adjacent farms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

What we liked:
Location - wonderfully quiet
Bathroom - very clean
Bed - comfortable
Complimentary guide to Pisa

What we didn't like:
Room was well furnished but very dark and the lighting was extremely poor, but most of all we disliked the written warnings to prevent bad behaviour of 'guests'. It starts in your room, where you are informed in the leaflet that if you overstay your welcome in the breakfast room you get fined the cost of another breakfast on your bill. Then when you get to the breakfast room there's a notice on the drinks counter that you are allowed ONE coffee/tea only. We don't usually have more than one anyway but how much would it cost them to give a guest the occasional extra? Also that you are not allowed to take food away - not much of a temptation because it's not a brilliant breakfast anyway, but that's par for the course in Italy. The Italians aren't great at breakfasts, but the two other hotels we stayed at in Tuscany were much better at breakfast than this one.

Then on the wall in the breakfast room there's another notice telling guests "to avoid any nasty misunderstanding" (!) that they are not allowed to eat food brought in from outside (there's no restaurant) anywhere except their rooms, that they can hire a corkscrew but if they break it they will have to pay for it.

The girl who served breakfast was delightfully friendly but this didn't make up for the bad atmosphere created by the notices.

All in all what comes across loud and clear is that you as the guest are there on sufferance to pay them money. They expect guests to behave badly and are not concerned about whether they have a nice relaxing stay, but rather that they pay up and leave without wrecking the place.

Perhaps they've had bad experiences in the past but that's no excuse for expecting the worst of future guests. If there was somewhere on the hotel website to leave comments I would have done that before 'going public' on Tripadvisor, but there isn't. Perhaps they're not interested in what we think anyway!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked this hotel because we needed to make an early getaway to Pisa Airport on the following morning and for that purpose it was fine. Based on our experience, though, I would not recommend a longer stay. I cannot comment on the breakfast as it was not available at the time we had to leave. The room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. There seemed to be just one member of staff who acted as receptionist and who would also get you a drink on request. Maybe it was slightly out of season when we went, but it did not really feel like a hotel somehow - just somewhere to sleep. That said, I would select it again in preference to a soulless chain hotel nearer the airport. The journey to the airport took 10-15 minutes.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Did not feel very welcoming
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUMPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We landed in Pisa at 8.00pm and it was already dark! However with the help of google maps it was very easy to reach the Hotel!
The Staff was very helpful and being that we were hungry we ordered a bottle of wine, a cheese platter and meat platter !! it was great ! We stayed at the hotel for five nights ! the room was nicly furnshed and the bed sheets were changes every 2 days ! It was also equipped with an aircondition/central heating. Breakfast was great too! the Italian Style ! We also asked the reception to suggest us some places to eat in Cascina! we found a really great pizzeria ! in the town centre ! Nonno Umberto ( on mondays it is colosed) the was also a small restaurant ! we had a really good 'Bistecca Fiorentia' Bocca del Bocco is also a great restaurant ! If you intend to go relaxing it's the ideal locations! Latigniano is a small village and you will hear the village church's bell form the hotel! is amazing ! Well done to all at the Hotel !

  • Liked — It was very quite in the open air
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

We had to scramble after getting kicked out of somewhere else. Expedia found this place on 4 hours' notice. US$113 for two twin beds; hard to complain.
I'd have been angry if I'd planned a long-distance trip for multiple nights or paid more! Our room reeked of vinegar - a cleaning solution i last remember from a Saskatchewan nursing home in 1988. tv tiny and mounted high on the wall, fuzzy and basically impossible to see. Very interesting property with huge garden and high ceilings in the main old villa.. underused potential. Generally the place feels like it's being run on the cheap. Maybe the surrounding area is so unpicturesque that they can't charge more...

Breakfast was amongst the most ghetto i've experienced in italy, with nasty processed ham and cheese slices worthy of a Seven Eleven. Dont let the free breakfast influence your decision to stay there. Hard to find, on an obscure back road outside the humdrum industrial town of Cascina. The restaurant was closed in the Villa Maya and they specifically recommended something called L'Apostoleta in Cascina and made us a booking. The utter lack of enthusiasm or commitment in the desk woman's voice should have tipped us off but we were too Canadian not to honour the reservation. The restaurant was empty and forced us into a smelly plastic canopy.

Most memorable thing was in the hotel's guest book a child wrote in big shaky letters `THE BEDS WERE VERY NICE BUT YOUR CATS NEED FEEDING.' It was true and they were starving and wandering the place! Creepy. other reviewers have also mentioned all the DONT DO THIS. Dont do that. This is closed. There will be a fine if you show up late.. etc etc.. Hostile attitude in some ways!

From the pics on here, looks like some of the other rooms are a lot nicer than ours and probably more expensive too.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank kdawg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Great Hotel very quiet, beautiful gardens.

You need a car as its in the back of beyond but there are quite a few restaurants nearby - had a great meal at 'the art gallery'.

We stayed only one night as we had an early flight from Pisa and it was only 15 mins by car away.

  • Liked — Peaceful location
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascina
1.2 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cascina
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
4.6 mi away
Calamidoro Hotel
Calamidoro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Calcinaia
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sextum
Hotel Sextum
#1 of 1 in Bientina
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
4.4 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Property: Hotel Villa Maya
Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021, Cascina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing